Department Chairs

Aerospace Studies: Air Force ROTC

Chair

Hunt, Jesse W.

Chair and Visiting Professor of Aerospace Studies

ltcol.hunt@duke.edu

Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

Chair

Ching, Leo

Associate Professor

lching@duke.edu

Biology

Chair

Manos, Paul S.

Jack H. Neely Professor

pmanos@duke.edu

Chemistry

Chair

Franz, Katherine J.

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Classical Studies

Chair

Johnson, William A

Professor

william.johnson@duke.edu

Computer Science

Chair

Parr, Ronald

Professor

parr@cs.duke.edu

Cultural Anthropology

Chair

Baker, Lee D.

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor

ldbaker@duke.edu

Dance

Chair

Shah, Purnima

Associate Professor of the Practice

purnima.shah@duke.edu

Documentary Studies Certificate

Chair

Hogan, Wesley C

Research Professor in the Franklin Humanities Institute

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Economics

Chair

Burnside, A. Craig

Professor

craig.burnside@duke.edu

Education

Chair

Wynn, Susan

Associate Professor of the Practice

susan.wynn@duke.edu

English

Chair

Beckwith, Sarah

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor

ott@duke.edu

Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

Chair

Wald, Priscilla

Director of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

pwald@duke.edu

Germanic Languages & Literature

Chair

Engelstein, Stefani

Associate Professor

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Health, Physical Education, & Recreation

Chair

Yakola, Scott

Associate Professor of the Practice of Health, Wellness and Physical Education

sdy@duke.edu

History

Chair

Martin, John J.

Professor

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Linguistics

Chair

Andrews, Edna

Professor of Linguistics and Cultural Anthropology

eda@duke.edu

Literature

Chair

Hardt, Michael

Professor

hardt@duke.edu

Mathematics

Chair

Mattingly, Jonathan C.

Professor

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Chair

Aers, David

James B. Duke Professor

aers@duke.edu

Military Science: Army ROTC

Chair

Macon, Major Rachelle ("Chelley") M.

Professor of Military Science

rachelle.macon@duke.edu

Music

Chair

Jaffe, Stephen

Mary D. B. T. and James H. Semans Professor

sjaffe@duke.edu

Philosophy

Chair

Janiak, Andrew

Creed C. Black Professor

janiak@duke.edu

Physics

Chair

Warren, Warren S.

Chair

warren.warren@duke.edu

Political Science

Chair

Vanberg, Georg

Professor

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Religious Studies

Chair

Morgan, David A

Professor

david.morgan@duke.edu

Romance Studies

Chair

Rosa, Richard

Associate Professor

richard.rosa@duke.edu

Sociology

Chair

Ruef, Martin

The Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Statistical Science

Chair

Clyde, Merlise

Professor

clyde@duke.edu

Theater Studies

Chair

Storer, Jeff M.

Professor of the Practice

bear@duke.edu