Department Chairs

Aerospace Studies: Air Force ROTC

Chair

Hunt, Jesse W.

Chair and Visiting Professor of Aerospace Studies

ltcol.hunt@duke.edu

African & African American Studies

Chair

DeFrantz, Thomas F

Professor of African and African American Studies and Theater Studies

t.defrantz@duke.edu

Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

Chair

Kim, Hae-Young

Professor of the Practice

haeyoung@duke.edu

Biology

Chair

Noor, Mohamed A.

Earl D. McLean Professor

noor@duke.edu

Chemistry

Chair

Craig, Stephen L.

William T. Miller Professor and Department Chair

stephen.craig@duke.edu

Classical Studies

Chair

Boatwright, Mary T.

Professor

tboat@duke.edu

Computer Science

Chair

Parr, Ronald

Professor

parr@cs.duke.edu

Cultural Anthropology

Chair

Piot, Charles D.

Professor

charles.piot@duke.edu

Dance

Chair

Shah, Purnima

Associate Professor of the Practice

purnima.shah@duke.edu

Documentary Studies Certificate

Chair

Hogan, Wesley C

Research Professor in the Franklin Humanities Institute

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Earth and Ocean Sciences Major

Chair

McGlynn, Brian L.

Professor of Watershed Hydrology and Biogeosciences

brian.mcglynn@duke.edu

Economics

Chair

Burnside, A. Craig

Professor

craig.burnside@duke.edu

Education

Chair

Wynn, Susan

Associate Professor of the Practice

susan.wynn@duke.edu

English

Chair

Beckwith, Sarah

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor

ott@duke.edu

Environmental Sciences and Policy Major

Chair

Urban, Dean L.

Professor of Landscape Ecology, Division Chair

deanu@duke.edu

Evolutionary Anthropology

Chair

Alberts, Susan C.

Professor

alberts@duke.edu

Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

Chair

Wald, Priscilla

Director of Program in Women Studies

pwald@duke.edu

Health, Physical Education, & Recreation

Chair

Yakola, Scott

Associate Professor of the Practice of Health, Wellness and Physical Education

sdy@duke.edu

History

Chair

Martin, John J.

Professor

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Linguistics

Chair

Andrews, Edna

Professor of Linguistics and Cultural Anthropology

eda@duke.edu

Literature

Chair

Chow, Rey

Anne Firor Scott Professor

rey.chow@duke.edu

Marine Science and Conservation Major

Chair

Van Dover, Cindy L

Harvey Smith Professor of Biological Oceanography,
Director, Duke University Marine Laboratory

c.vandover@duke.edu

Mathematics

Chair

Mattingly, Jonathan C.

Professor

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Chair

Woods, Jennifer C.

Associate Professor

jcwoods@duke.edu

Military Science: Army ROTC

Chair

Langkamp, Lieutenant Colonel Keirya R.

Professor of Military Science

keirya.langkamp@duke.edu

Music

Chair

Rupprecht, Philip

Professor

philip.rupprecht@duke.edu

Philosophy

Chair

Janiak, Andrew

Creed C. Black Professor

janiak@duke.edu

Physics

Chair

Warren, Warren S.

Professor

warren.warren@duke.edu

Political Science

Chair

Vanberg, Georg

Professor

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Psychology and Neuroscience

Chair

Huettel, Scott

Jerry G. and Patricia Crawford Hubbard Professor

scott.huettel@duke.edu

Religious Studies

Chair

Morgan, David A

Professor

david.morgan@duke.edu

Romance Studies

Chair

Davis, N. Gregson

Interim Chair

gdav@duke.edu

Sociology

Chair

Ruef, Martin

The Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Statistical Science

Chair

Clyde, Merlise

Professor

clyde@duke.edu

Theater Studies

Chair

Storer, Jeff M.

Professor of the Practice

bear@duke.edu