Environmental Sciences and Policy Major Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Urban, Dean L.

Professor of Landscape Ecology, Division Chair

deanu@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Reid, Chantal D.

Assistant Professor of the Practice

chantal@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Blanchard, Emily J.

Program Coordinator

emily.blanchard@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Albertson, John D.

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

john.albertson@duke.edu

Albright, Elizabeth A.

Assistant Professor of the Practice of

elizabeth.albright@duke.edu

Anderson, Steven

Adjunct Professor of Forestry

steven.anderson@duke.edu

Bennear, Lori S.

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

lori.bennear@duke.edu

Bernhardt, Emily S.

Associate Professor of Biogeochemistry

emily.bernhardt@duke.edu

Blanchard, Emily J.

Program Coordinator

emily.blanchard@duke.edu

Bynum, Nora

Adjunct Associate Professor

nora.bynum@duke.edu

Cagle, Nicolette L

Visiting Lecturer in Environmental Sciences & Policy

nicolette.cagle@duke.edu

Christensen, Norman L.

Research Professor and Founding Dean of the Nicholas School

normc@duke.edu

Clark, Charlotte

Lecturer in Sustainability Education
Director of Undergraduate Programs

cclark@duke.edu

Clark, James S.

H.L. Blomquist Professor of Environment, Professor of Biology, Professor of Statistics

jimclark@duke.edu

Di Giulio, Richard T.

Professor of Environmental Toxicology

richd@duke.edu

Doyle, Martin W.

Professor of River Science and Policy

martin.doyle@duke.edu

Drexler, Marianne M

Program Coordinator

mmd19@duke.edu

Fay, John P.

Instructor, Geospatial Analysis Program

john.fay@duke.edu

Ferguson, P. Lee

Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

lee.ferguson@duke.edu

Gallagher, Deborah Rigling

Associate Professor of the Practice of Resource and Environmental Policy

deb.gallagher@duke.edu

Gelfand, Alan E.

James B. Duke Professor of Statistics and Decision Sciences

alan@stat.duke.edu

George, Pamela G.

Adjunct Professor

pamela.george@duke.edu

Gerbeth-Jones, Susan

Asst. Dean of Information Technology

sgjones@duke.edu

Hain, Victoria L.

FDS Contractor

vicki.hain@duke.edu

Harrell, Peter

Instructor and Research Associate, Geospatial Analysis Program

pharrel@duke.edu

Healy, Robert G.

Professor Emeritus of Environmental Policy

healy@duke.edu

Heffernan, Jim

Assistant Professor, Ecosystem Ecology and Ecohydrology

james.heffernan@duke.edu

Hinton, David E.

Nicholas Professor of Environmental Quality

dhinton@duke.edu

Karanth, Krithi K.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

krithi.karanth@gmail.com

Kasibhatla, Prasad S.

Associate Professor of Environmental Chemistry

psk9@duke.edu

Katul, Gabriel G.

Theodore S. Coile Professor of Hydrology and Micrometeorology

gaby@duke.edu

Kramer, Randall

Professor of Environmental Economics & Global Health

kramer@duke.edu

Kumar, Mukesh

Assistant Professor of Watershed Hydrology

mukesh.kumar@duke.edu

Kwok, Richard K.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

kwok@duke.edu

Longest, Ryke

Senior Lecturing Fellow, Duke School of Law

longest@law.duke.edu

Losos, Elizabeth C.

Adjunct Professor

elizabeth.losos@duke.edu

Maguire, Lynn A.

Professor of the Practice of Environmental Decision Analysis

lmaguire@duke.edu

Martinek, Stephanie

stepht@duke.edu

Meyer, Joel N.

Assistant Professor of Environmental Toxicology

joel.meyer@duke.edu

Mihaich, Ellen M.

Adjunct Professor of Environmental Science

emihaich@nc.rr.com

Miranda, Marie Lynn

Adjunct Professor of Environmental Sciences & Policy

mmiranda@duke.edu

Murray, Brian C.

Research Professor

bcmurray@duke.edu

Myers, Norman

Adjunct Professor of Environmental Science

myers1n@aol.com

Newell, Richard G.

Gendell Professor of Energy and Environmental Economics

richard.newell@duke.edu

Nowlin, Michelle

Clinical Professor

nowlin@law.duke.edu

Oren, Ram

Nicholas Professor of Earth System Science

ramoren@duke.edu

Palmroth, Sari

Assoicate Research Professor

sari.palmroth@duke.edu

Pan, William K.

Assistant Professor of Global Environmental Health

william.pan@duke.edu

Patino-Echeverri, Dalia

Gendell Assistant Professor of Energy Systems and Public Policy

dalia.patino@duke.edu

Pattanayak, Subhrendu K.

Professor of Public Policy and Environmental Economics

subhrendu.pattanayak@duke.edu

Pfaff, Alexander

Associate Professor of Public Policy, Economics and Environment

alex.pfaff@duke.edu

Pimm, Stuart L.

Doris Duke Professor of Conservation Ecology

stuart.pimm@duke.edu

Pippen, Jeffrey S.

Instructor, Associate in Research

jspippen@duke.edu

Porporato, Amilcare

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

amilcare.porporato@duke.edu

Poulsen, John R.

Assistant Professor of Tropical Ecology

john.poulsen@duke.edu

Reckhow, Kenneth H.

Professor Emeritus of Water Resources

reckhow@duke.edu

Reid, Chantal D.

Assistant Professor of the Practice

chantal@duke.edu

Reynolds, James F.

Professor of Environmental Science & Biology

james.f.reynolds@duke.edu

Richardson, Curtis J.

Professor of Resource Ecology

curtr@duke.edu

Richter, Daniel

Professor of Soils and Forest Ecology

drichter@duke.edu

Roady, Stephen E.

Adjunct Professor

sroady@duke.edu

Salzman, Jim E.

Samuel F. Mordecai Professor of Law and
Nicholas Institute Professor of Environmental Policy

salzman@law.duke.edu

Sasser, Erika N.

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy

erika.sasser@duke.edu

Saterson, Kathryn A.

Adjunct Associate Professor

saterson@duke.edu

Shapiro - Garza, Elizabeth

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Environmental Policy & Management

elizabeth.shapiro@duke.edu

Smith, Martin D.

The Dan and Bunny Gabel Associate Professor of Environmental Economics

martin.smith@duke.edu

Stapleton, Heather M.

Associate Professor of Environmental Chemistry

heather.stapleton@duke.edu

Swenson, Jennifer J.

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Geospatial Analysis and Director of Professional Studies

jswenson@duke.edu

Terborgh, John W.

Research Professor Emeritus

manu@duke.edu

Timmins, Christopher D.

Associate Professor of Economics

christopher.timmins@duke.edu

Urban, Dean L.

Professor of Landscape Ecology, Division Chair

deanu@duke.edu

Van Houtan, Kyle S.

Adjunct Associate Professor

kyle.vanhoutan@duke.edu

Vandenberg, John J.

Adjunct Professor of Environmental Science

john.vandenberg@duke.edu

Vidra, Rebecca L.

Lecturer

environment-DUS@duke.edu

Vincent, Jeffrey R.

Clarence F. Korstian Professor of Forest Economics and Management

jeff.vincent@duke.edu

Way, Danielle

Adjunct Assistant Professor

dw68@duke.edu

Wedding, Christopher

Lecturing Fellow

chris.wedding@duke.edu

Weinthal, Erika S.

Associate Professor of Environmental Policy

erika.weinthal@duke.edu

Wernegreen, Jennifer J.

Associate Professor of Environmental and Evolutionary Genomics

j.wernegreen@duke.edu

Wiener, Jonathan B.

Perkins Professor of Law and Professor of Environmental Policy

wiener@law.duke.edu

Wirzba, Norman

Professor of Theology and Ecology

norman.wirzba@duke.edu

Wolpert, Robert L.

Professor of Statistical Science and Professor of Environmental Sciences & Policy

wolpert@stat.duke.edu

Wright, Justin P.

Associate Professor

justin.wright@duke.edu

Zhang, Junfeng (Jim)

Professor of Global and Environmental Health

junfeng.zhang@duke.edu

von Windheim, Jesko

Professor of the Practice of Environmental Innovation and Entrepreneurship

jesko@duke.edu