Marine Science and Conservation Major Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Van Dover, Cindy L

Harvey Smith Professor of Biological Oceanography,
Director, Duke University Marine Laboratory

c.vandover@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Schultz, Thomas F

Director, Marine Conservation Molecular Facility

tom.schultz@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Barber, Richard T.

Harvey W. Smith Professor Emeritus of Biological Oceanography

rbarber@duke.edu

Basurto, Xavier

Assistant Professor of Sustainability Science

xavier.basurto@duke.edu

Bonaventura, Celia J

Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology

bona@duke.edu

Bonaventura, Joseph

Research Professor of Cell Biology

joeb@duke.edu

Boustany, Andre M

Research Scientist

andre.boustany@duke.edu

Campbell, Lisa M.

Rachel Carson Associate Professor of Marine Affairs and Policy, Director of Graduate Studies MSC Division

lcampbe@duke.edu

Carlsson, Jens A.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

jens.carlsson@duke.edu

Crowder, Larry B.

Adjunct Professor of Marine Biology

lcrowder@stanford.edu

Diaz, Humberto J.

Adjunct Professor

humberto.diaz@duke.edu

Forward, Richard B.

Research Professor and Bass Fellow

rforward@duke.edu

Friedlaender, Ari S.

Research Scientist

asf7@duke.edu

Fujioka, Ei

Research Scientist

efujioka@duke.edu

Gerbeth-Jones, Susan

Asst. Dean of Information Technology

sgjones@duke.edu

Hain, Victoria L.

FDS Contractor

vicki.hain@duke.edu

Halpin, Patrick N.

Associate Professor of Marine Geospatial Ecology

phalpin@duke.edu

Hazen, Elliott L.

Research Adjunct Professor

elliott.hazen@duke.edu

Hench, James L.

Assistant Professor of Oceanography

jim.hench@duke.edu

Hunt, Dana E.

Assistant Professor - Microbial Ecology

dana.hunt@duke.edu

Hyrenbach, K. David

Adjunct Assistant Professor

khyrenba@duke.edu

Johnson, Zackary

Assistant Professor of Biological Oceanography and Marine Biotechnology

zackary.johnson@duke.edu

Johnston, David W.

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Marine Conservation & Ecology

david.johnston@duke.edu

Kirby-Smith, William W.

Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Marine Ecology

wwks@duke.edu

Kraska, James

Mary Derrickson McCurdy Visiting Scholar

james.kraska@duke.edu

Martinek, Stephanie

stepht@duke.edu

McClay, David R.

Professor of Biology

dmcclay@duke.edu

Nowacek, Douglas P.

Repass-Rodgers University Associate Professor of Conservation Technology

doug.nowacek@duke.edu

Oliver, James D.

Adjunct Professor

jdoliver@uncc.edu

Orbach, Michael K.

Professor of the Practice of Marine Affairs and Policy

mko@duke.edu

Palkovacs, Eric P.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

epalkova@ucsc.edu

Penaloza, Carmelita C

Laboratory Technologist II

carmelita.penaloza@duke.edu

Pendleton, Linwood

Adjunct Professor

linwood.pendleton@duke.edu

Ramus, Joseph S.

Professor Emeritus of Biological Oceanography

jramus@duke.edu

Read, Andrew J.

Stephen Toth Professor of Marine Biology

aread@duke.edu

Rittschof, Daniel

Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Ecology

ritt@duke.edu

Schultz, Thomas F

Director, Marine Conservation Molecular Facility

tom.schultz@duke.edu

Silliman, Brian R.

Rachel Carson Associate Professor of Marine Conservation Biology

brian.silliman@duke.edu

Sturdivant, S. Kersey

McCurdy Visiting Scholar

kersey.sturdivant@duke.edu

Van Dover, Cindy L

Harvey Smith Professor of Biological Oceanography,
Director, Duke University Marine Laboratory

c.vandover@duke.edu

Wallace, Bryan P

Adjunct Associate Professor

bryan.wallace@duke.edu

Wells, Randall

Adjunct Professor

rwells@mote.org