African & African American Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Neal, Mark A.

Professor

dr-yogi@att.net

Associate Chair

Smith, Stephen

Professor of the Practice

ssmith9@duke.edu

Assistant

Robinson, StacyNicole

Department Administrator

stacynicole.robinson@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

DeFrantz, Thomas F

Professor of African and African American Studies and Theater Studies

t.defrantz@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Harris, Kenya C

Staff Assistant

kenya.harris@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Smith, Stephen

Professor of the Practice

ssmith9@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Robinson, StacyNicole

Department Administrator

stacynicole.robinson@duke.edu

Business Contact

Robinson, StacyNicole

Department Administrator

stacynicole.robinson@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Aidoo, Lamonte

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

lamonte.aidoo@duke.edu

Baker, Lee D.

Professor

ldbaker@duke.edu

Bonilla-Silva, Eduardo

Professor

eb48@duke.edu

Burton, Linda

James B. Duke Professor

linda.burton@duke.edu

Chapman, Dasha

Postdoctoral Associate

dasha.chapman@duke.edu

Cobb, Jasmine N.

Bacca Foundation Associate Professor

jasmine.cobb@duke.edu

Crichlow, Michaeline A.

Professor

crichlow@duke.edu

Daly, Samuel F

Assistant Professor

samuel.furychilds.daly@duke.edu

Darity, William A.

Professor of African and African American Studies and Economics

william.darity@duke.edu

DeFrantz, Thomas F

Professor of African and African American Studies and Theater Studies

t.defrantz@duke.edu

Douthit, Patrick

Artist in Residence of African & African American Studies

patrick.douthit@duke.edu

DuBois, Laurent

Professor

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

French, John D.

Professor

jdfrench@duke.edu

Glymph, Thavolia

Professor

thavolia@duke.edu

Hall, Bruce S.

Associate Professor of History

bh71@duke.edu

Harris, Kenya C

Staff Assistant

kenya.harris@duke.edu

Haynie, Kerry L.

Associate Professor

klhaynie@duke.edu

Holloway, Karla

James B. Duke Professor Emerita

karla.holloway@duke.edu

Jaji, Tsitsi E.

Associate Professor of African & African American Studies

tsitsi.jaji@duke.edu

Lentz-Smith, Adriane D.

Associate Professor

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

Lubiano, Wahneema H.

Associate Professor

wah@duke.edu

Makhulu, Anne-Maria B.

Associate Professor

amakhulu@duke.edu

Matory, J. Lorand

Professor

jm217@duke.edu

Neal, Mark A.

Professor

dr-yogi@att.net

Piot, Charles D.

Professor

charles.piot@duke.edu

Powell, Richard J.

Professor

richard.powell@duke.edu

Robinson, StacyNicole

Department Administrator

stacynicole.robinson@duke.edu

Royal, Charmaine D.

Associate Professor of African and African American Studies and Biology

charmaine.royal@duke.edu

Shapiro, Karin

Associate Professor of the Practice

kshapiro@duke.edu

Smith, Stephen

Professor of the Practice

ssmith9@duke.edu

Whitfield, Keith E.

Research Professor

keith.whitfield@duke.edu

Winters II, Joseph R.

Assistant Professor of African & African American Studies

joseph.winters@duke.edu