Asian & Middle Eastern Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Kim, Hae-Young

Professor of the Practice

haeyoung@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Rojas, Carlos

Professor

c.rojas@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Richmond, Olga B

Staff & DUS Assistant

richm021@duke.edu

Business Contact

Marcus, Melinda (Mindy) R

Business Manager

mmarcus@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Adel, Shahla

Visiting Lecturer

shahla.adel@duke.edu

Ben Tarif, Abdelrazzaq

Instructor

ben.tarif@duke.edu

Benmamoun, Elabbas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Linguistics

abbas.benmamoun@duke.edu

Boumaaza, Amal

Lecturing Fellow*

amal.boumaaza@duke.edu

Buell, Seiko N

Japanese Program Staff

seiko.buell@duke.edu

Ching, Leo

Associate Professor

lching@duke.edu

Chow, Eileen C

Visiting Associate Professor

eileen.chow@duke.edu

Endo, Hitomi

Associate Professor of the Practice

hendo@duke.edu

Frankl-Rotem, Hemda

Instructional Staff

hemda.franklrotem@duke.edu

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Göknar, Erdag

Associate Professor

goknar@duke.edu

Havlioglu, Didem Z

Instructor

didem.havli@duke.edu

He, Tianshu

Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern S

tianshu.he@duke.edu

Hirtz, Jenny

Staff Specialist

jenny.hirtz@duke.edu

Hong, Guo-Juin

Associate Professor

gjhong@duke.edu

Houssami, Maha

Lecturer of Arabic Language

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Hsieh, Chi -Ju

Lecturing Fellow

cjhsieh@duke.edu

Hsu, Shu-ting

Instructor B

shuting.hsu@duke.edu

Khanna, Satendra

Associate Professor of the Practice

skhanna@duke.edu

Kim, Eunyoung

Lecturer

eunyoung.kim@duke.edu

Kim, Hae-Young

Professor of the Practice

haeyoung@duke.edu

Knapczyk, Kusum

Lecturer of Hindi Language

kusum.knapczyk@duke.edu

Kramer, Jonathan

Instructor

jonathan_kramer@ncsu.edu

Kurokawa, Naoko

Senior Lecturer

kurokawa@duke.edu

Kwon, Nayoung A.

Associate Professor of Korean and Japanese Cultural Studies

na.kwon@duke.edu

Lee, Kun S.

Professor of the Practice

kslee@duke.edu

Liu, Kang

Professor of Asian and African Languages and Literature

liukang@duke.edu

Liu, Yan

Chinese Lecturer

yl286@duke.edu

Lo, Mbaye

Associate Professor of the Practice

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Marcus, Melinda (Mindy) R

Business Manager

mmarcus@duke.edu

McLarney, Ellen

Associate Professor

ellenmc@duke.edu

Mottahedeh, Negar

Associate Professor

negar@duke.edu

Odagiri, Takushi

Research Scientist

takushi.odagiri@duke.edu

Plesser, Shelli

Lecturer

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Richmond, Olga B

Staff & DUS Assistant

richm021@duke.edu

Rojas, Carlos

Professor

c.rojas@duke.edu

Safi, Omid

Professor

omid.safi@duke.edu

Saito, Azusa

Lecturing Fellow

azu@duke.edu

Shakhly, Abdul Sattar

Instructor

sattar.jawad@duke.edu

Tucker, John

Instructor

tuckerja@duke.edu

Ye, Yujia

Instructor

yujia.ye@duke.edu

Zhang, Qiang

Instructor

cathryn.zhang@duke.edu

Zheng, Tianlin

Instructional Staff

tianlin.zheng@duke.edu

cooke, miriam

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

mcw@duke.edu