Asian & Middle Eastern Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Kim, Hae-Young

Professor of the Practice

haeyoung@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Rojas, Carlos

Professor

c.rojas@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Richmond, Olga B

Staff & DUS Assistant

richm021@duke.edu

Business Contact

Marcus, Melinda (Mindy) R

Business Manager

mmarcus@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Ben Tarif, Abdelrazzaq

Arabic Instructor

ben.tarif@duke.edu

Boumaaza, Amal

Arabic Instructor

amal.boumaaza@duke.edu

Buell, Seiko N

Japanese Program Staff

seiko.buell@duke.edu

Cheikh Abdi Vall, Cheikh Saadbouh

Instructional Staff

saad.vall@duke.edu

Ching, Leo

Associate Professor

lching@duke.edu

Chou, Ya-Chuan

Visiting Chinese Instructor

yachuan.chou@duke.edu

Chow, Eileen C

Visiting Associate Professor of Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

eileen.chow@duke.edu

Dixon, Dwayne E.

Visiting Instructor

dedixon@duke.edu

Endo, Hitomi

Associate Professor of the Practice

hendo@duke.edu

Eun, Barohny

Visiting Instructor

barohny.eun@duke.edu

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Göknar, Erdag

Associate Professor

goknar@duke.edu

Havlioglu, Didem Z

Lecturing Fellow

didem.havli@duke.edu

He, Tianshu

Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern S

tianshu.he@duke.edu

Hong, Guo-Juin

Associate Professor

gjhong@duke.edu

Houssami, Maha

Lecturer of Arabic Language

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Hsieh, Chi -Ju

Chinese Instructor

cjhsieh@duke.edu

Khanna, Satendra

Associate Professor of the Practice

skhanna@duke.edu

Kim, Eunyoung

Korean Instructor

eunyoung.kim@duke.edu

Kim, Hae-Young

Professor of the Practice

haeyoung@duke.edu

Kim, Hwansoo

Associate Professor

hwansoo.kim@duke.edu

Knapczyk, Kusum

Lecturer of Hindi Language

kusum.knapczyk@duke.edu

Kramer, Jonathan

Visiting Professor

jonathan_kramer@ncsu.edu

Kurokawa, Naoko

Lecturer

kurokawa@duke.edu

Kwon, Nayoung A.

Associate Professor of Korean and Japanese Cultural Studies

na.kwon@duke.edu

Lee, Kun S.

Professor of the Practice

kslee@duke.edu

Li, Menghuan

Instructor

menghuan.li@duke.edu

Liu, Kang

Professor of Asian and African Languages and Literature

liukang@duke.edu

Liu, Yan

Chinese Lecturer

yl286@duke.edu

Lo, Mbaye

Associate Professor of the Practice

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Ma, Wenjia

Chinese Instructor

wenjia.ma@duke.edu

Marcus, Melinda (Mindy) R

Business Manager

mmarcus@duke.edu

McLarney, Ellen

Associate Professor

ellenmc@duke.edu

Naeymi Rad, Fattaneh

Persian Instructor

fattaneh.naeymi@duke.edu

Odagiri, Takushi

Research Scientist

takushi.odagiri@duke.edu

Plesser, Shelli

Lecturer

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Richmond, Olga B

Staff & DUS Assistant

richm021@duke.edu

Rojas, Carlos

Professor

c.rojas@duke.edu

Safi, Omid

Professor

omid.safi@duke.edu

Saito, Azusa

Japanese Instructor

azu@duke.edu

Seo, Jinyoung

Instructor

jinyoung.seo1@duke.edu

Shakhly, Abdul Sattar

Visiting Professor

sattar.jawad@duke.edu

Tucker, John

Visiting Professor

tuckerja@duke.edu

Zhang, Qiang

Instructor

cathryn.zhang@duke.edu

cooke, miriam

Braxton Craven Professor of Arab Cultures

mcw@duke.edu