Biology Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Noor, Mohamed A.

Earl D. McLean Professor

noor@duke.edu

Assistant

Usher, Caroline

Administrative Coordinator

cpu@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Johnsen, Sonke

Professor

sjohnsen@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Lacey, Anne S

Administrative Coordinator for Graduate Studies

aslzoo@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Grunwald, Ron

Lecturer

ron.grunwald@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Foster, Jill C.

Staff Assistant to DUS Office

jill.foster@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Aguero, Blanka

Data Manager

blanka@duke.edu

Alberts, Susan C.

Robert F. Durden Professor

alberts@duke.edu

Alvarez, Mariano

Postdoctoral Associate

mariano.alvarez@duke.edu

Ames, Gregory M

Postdoctoral Associate

greg.ames@duke.edu

Anderson, Steven M

Lab Research Analyst I

sa165@duke.edu

Armaleo, Daniele

Associate Professor of the Practice

darmaleo@duke.edu

Auge, Gaby

Postdoctoral Associate

gabriela.auge@duke.edu

Augustus, Anne Marie

Postdoctoral Associate

anne.augustus@duke.edu

Aydin, Mert

Associate In Research

mert.aydin@duke.edu

Barber, Richard T.

Harvey W. Smith Professor Emeritus of Biological Oceanography in the Division

rbarber@duke.edu

Barnes, Michael C.

Supervisor, Greenhouse

michael.barnes@duke.edu

Bass-Nelson, Patricia

Lab Preparator

patricia.bass.nelson@duke.edu

Baugh, L. Ryan

Associate Professor

ryan.baugh@duke.edu

Bejsovec, Amy

Associate Professor

bejsovec@duke.edu

Belcher, Heather

Associate In Research

heather.belcher@duke.edu

Benfey, Philip N.

Paul Kramer Professor

philip.benfey@duke.edu

Berdanier, Aaron

Postdoctoral Associate

aaron.berdanier@duke.edu

Bergemann, Christina M

Associate in Research

cmb91@duke.edu

Bernhardt, Emily S.

Professor

emily.bernhardt@duke.edu

Bernhardt, Jo

Staff Assistant

jcbernha@duke.edu

Berrio Escobar, Alejandro

Postdoctoral Scholar

ab620@duke.edu

Bhandawat, Vikas

Assistant Professor

bhandawat@gmail.com

Blankenship, Pamela

Research Administration Specialist

pamela.blankenship@duke.edu

Blaszczak, Joanna

joanna.blaszczak@duke.edu

Bleich, Andrew

Research Technician II

andrew.bleich@duke.edu

Boquist, Blythe B.

Program Coordinator

bbooher@duke.edu

Boyd, Kendra L.

Associate in Research

klb79@duke.edu

Boynton, John E

Professor Emeritus

jboynton66@gmail.com

Brandon, Robert N.

Professor

rbrandon@duke.edu

Broverman, Sherryl A.

Associate Professor of the Practice

sbrover@duke.edu

Bryan, Virginia S.

Senior Research Scientist

vsbryan@duke.edu

Buchler, Nicolas

Assistant Professor

nb69@duke.edu

Cameron, Lisa A

Senior Research Scientist

lac80@duke.edu

Carlson, Benjamin R.

Microscopy Specialist

benjamin.carlson@duke.edu

Cary, Rebecca

Instructor, Non-Tenure Track

rec3@duke.edu

Chi, Qiuyi

Lab Research Analyst I

qiuyi.chi@duke.edu

Chitrakar, Rojin

Associate in Research

rojin.chitraker@duke.edu

Christensen, Norman L.

Professor Emeritus in the Division of Environmental Sciences & Policy

normc@duke.edu

Clark, James S.

Professor of Biology and Statistical Science

jimclark@duke.edu

Clive, Selina Y

Associate in Research

syclive@duke.edu

Coggins, Brian E.

Assistant Research Professor

bec2@duke.edu

Cooley, Darrell

IT, Analyst

dc251@duke.edu

Cranston, Karen A

Bioinformatician II

karen.cranston@duke.edu

Crawford, Janice M

Research Scientist

jmc5@duke.edu

Crowder, Larry B.

NSOE Professor and Professor of Biology

lcrowder@stanford.edu

Culberson, Chicita F

Senior Research Scientist

cculb@duke.edu

Cunningham, Clifford W.

Professor

cliff@duke.edu

Danforth, Jill A

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

jill.danforth@duke.edu

Darnell, Cynthia

Postdoctoral Associate

cynthia.darnell@duke.edu

Dickinson, Jazz

Postdoctoral Scholar

jazz.dickinson@duke.edu

Dong, Xinnian

Arts and Sciences Professor

xdong@duke.edu

Donohue, Kathleen

Professor

k.donohue@duke.edu

Dowd, Jason

Postdoctoral Associate

jason.dowd@duke.edu

Drea, Christine M.

Earl D. McLean Professor

cdrea@duke.edu

Duncan, Tanya

Postdoctoral Associate

tanya.duncan@duke.edu

Eason, Vickie

Instructor

vkeason@duke.edu

Eddings, Amy M

Assistant Horticulturist

ae62@duke.edu

Feng, Chunmiao

Postdoctoral Associate

chunmiao.feng@duke.edu

Fidhel Gonzalez, Jorge E

Assistant Horticulturist

jorge.fidhel.gonzalez@duke.edu

Fitak, Bob

Postdoctoral Associate

rfitak9@gmail.com

Fitchett, Leah

Associate in Research

llf15@duke.edu

Fluke, Donald J.

Professor Emeritus

dfluke@duke.edu

Forehand, Ivalee

Accounting Specialist

ivalee.forehand@duke.edu

Forward, Richard B.

Professor Emeritus of Zoology

rforward@duke.edu

Foster, Jill C.

Staff Assistant to DUS Office

jill.foster@duke.edu

Galef, Bennett G

Adjunct Professor

galef@mcmaster.ca

Gao, Yasheng

Research Scientist

ygao@duke.edu

Gesquiere, Laurence

Senior Research Scientist

lrg14@duke.edu

Ghattas, Kathryn A

Research Tech. II

kathryn.springer@duke.edu

Gillham, Nicholas W.

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Zoology

gillham@duke.edu

Gordon, Jake

Data Manager

jacob.gordon@duke.edu

Gordon, Jennifer M

Assistant Horticulturist

jenny.gordon@duke.edu

Gordon, Kacy L

Postdoctoral Scholar

kacy.gordon@duke.edu

Graves, Joseph L.

Adjunct Professor

jlg85@duke.edu

Grunert, Laura W

Research Analyst I

lwg@duke.edu

Grunwald, Ron

Lecturer

ron.grunwald@duke.edu

Gu, Yangnan

Research Associate, Senior

yangnan.gu@duke.edu

Haase, Steven B.

Associate Professor

steve.haase@duke.edu

Hameed, Khalid M

Associate in Research

khalid.hameed@duke.edu

Hartemink, Alexander J.

Professor

amink@cs.duke.edu

Hastie, Eric L.

Postdoctoral Scholar

eric.hastie@duke.edu

Hauser, Duncan A

Research Technician II

dhauser42@gmail.com

Hill, Alison

Senior Lecturer

alhill@duke.edu

Hill, Norman L.

Phytotron Supt.

normhill@duke.edu

Himes Boor, Gina

Postdoctoral Associate

gina.himes.boor@duke.edu

Houjak, Lori B

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

lori.houjak@duke.edu

Hsu, Polly

Postdoctoral Associate

polly.hsu@duke.edu

Hu, Jianhong

Research Scientist

jianhong.hu@duke.edu

Huiet, Layne

Senior Research Scientist

rlh22@duke.edu

Hunnicutt, Kelsie

Associate in Research

keh65@duke.edu

Hunt, Dana E.

Assistant Professor of Biology and Civil and Environmental Engineering

dana.hunt@duke.edu

Jakubowski, Ewa H.

Lab Preparator

ewahjaku@duke.edu

Jeger, Jonathan L

Associate In Research

jrl40@duke.edu

Jiang, Peng

Postdoctoral Associate

pengjianguga@gmail.com

Jiang, Zhonghao

Research Scientist

zhonghao.jiang@duke.edu

Johnsen, Sonke

Professor

sjohnsen@duke.edu

Johnson, Zackary

Assistant Professor

zackary.johnson@duke.edu

Karapetyan, Sargis

Postdoctoral Associate

sargis.karapetyan@duke.edu

Kelley, Laura C

Research Scientist

laura.kelley@duke.edu

Kiehart, Daniel P.

Professor

dkiehart@duke.edu

Klopfer, Peter H.

Professor Emeritus

phk@duke.edu

Koelle, Katharina V.

Associate Professor

katia.koelle@duke.edu

Kohorn, Bruce D

Adjunct Professor of Biology

bkohorn@bowdoin.edu

Kornahrens, Jr, William J

Associate in Research

wjk10@duke.edu

Kornbluth, Sally A.

Jo Rae Wright University Professor

kornb001@mc.duke.edu

Krzystek, Halina M.

Instructor

halina.krzystek@duke.edu

Kuo, Chi-Yun

Postdoctoral Associate

ck188@duke.edu

Lacey, Anne S

Administrative Coordinator for Graduate Studies

aslzoo@duke.edu

Lacey, Elizabeth

Adjunct Professor

eplacey@uncg.edu

Larsen, Peter A.

Senior Research Scientist

pal23@duke.edu

Laub, Emily

Associate In Research

emily.laub@duke.edu

Lee, Charlotte T.

Scholar in Residence

charlotte.t.lee@duke.edu

Liao, Sunny

Affiliate

sunny.liao@duke.edu

Liberman, Louisa M

Research Associate

lml21@duke.edu

Liu, Lijing

Research Scientist

lijing.liu@duke.edu

Lopez-Cepero, George

Analyst, IT

gl97@duke.edu

Louthan, Allison

Postdoctoral Associate

allison.louthan@duke.edu

Lutzoni, Francois M.

Professor

francois.lutzoni@duke.edu

Lyons, Deirdre C.

Affiliate

deirdre.lyons@duke.edu

Magain, Nicolas J

Postdoctoral Associate

nicolas.magain@duke.edu

Magwene, Paul M.

Associate Professor

paul.magwene@duke.edu

Manos, Paul S.

Jack H. Neely Professor

pmanos@duke.edu

Manzano-Winkler, Brenda M

Laboratory Analyst I

brenda.winkler@duke.edu

Marion, Sarah B.

Instructor, Non-Tenure Track

sarah.marion@duke.edu

Marques Signes, Jorge

Postdoctoral Associate

jorge.marques.signes@duke.edu

Martinez Pastor, Maria Mar

Research Scientist

mar.martinez@duke.edu

Mays, John

Botanical Hort. Tech

maysjw@duke.edu

McClay, David R.

Arthur S. Pearse Professor

dmcclay@duke.edu

McMillan, Dorian

Senior Laboratory Administrator

dorian.mcmillan@duke.edu

McMullen, Molly

Data Manager

mmcm@duke.edu

McShea, Daniel W.

Professor

dmcshea@duke.edu

McVay, John

Research Scientist

john.mcvay@duke.edu

Mercer, John M.

Associate Professor of the Practice

jmercer@duke.edu

Miadlikowska, Jolanta M.

Instructor

jolantam@duke.edu

Miglia, Kathleen J

Lab Administrator

kathleen.miglia@duke.edu

Mijar, Medhavinee

Associate in Research

medhavinee.mijar@duke.edu

Miklos, Gabriela

Lab Preparator

gabriela.miklos@duke.edu

Miranda, Esther M

Laboratory Research Analyst I

emiranda@duke.edu

Mitchell-Olds, Thomas

Newman Ivey White Professor

tmo1@duke.edu

Mitchell, Rachel M.

Postdoctoral Scholar

rachelmm@u.washington.edu

Mofield, Amy

Grants and Contracts Administrator

amy.mofield@duke.edu

Mojica, Julius

Postdoctoral Associate

jpm76@duke.edu

Moore, Katherine J

Associate In Research

katherine.j.moore@duke.edu

Morris, William F.

Professor

wfmorris@duke.edu

Morrow, Shauna G

Associate in Research

smorrow@duke.edu

Motten, Alexander

Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus

afmotten@duke.edu

Murray, Debra L

Research Scientist

dm125@duke.edu

Muñoz, Martha

Postdoctoral Associate

mmm109@duke.edu

Neville, Carla J

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

carla.neville@duke.edu

Nicklas, R. Bruce

Arthur S. Pearse Professor Emeritus

bnicklas@duke.edu

Nijhout, H. Frederik

John Franklin Crowell Professor

hfn@duke.edu

Noor, Juliet

Lecturer

julie.noor@duke.edu

Noor, Mohamed A.

Earl D. McLean Professor

noor@duke.edu

Nova, Nicole

Affiliate

nicole.nova@duke.edu

Nowicki, Stephen

Professor

snowicki@duke.edu

Oneal, Elen

Research Scientist

eo22@duke.edu

Ortiz, Michael S

Associate in Research

michael.ortiz@duke.edu

Park, Jeongmoo

Postdoctoral Associate

jeongmoo.park@duke.edu

Patek, Sheila N

Associate Professor

snp2@duke.edu

Pei, Zhen-Ming

Associate Professor

zpei@duke.edu

Perz, Alyssa

Lecturer

akperz@duke.edu

Peters, Susan S

Associate in Research

speters@duke.edu

Pierre-Jerome, Edith

Postdoctoral Associate

eap49@duke.edu

Pietrek, Alejandro G.

Research Associate

alejandro.pietrek@duke.edu

Popov, Vladimir A

Research Scientist

vladimir.popov@duke.edu

Poss, Kenneth D.

Professor

k.poss@cellbio.duke.edu

Prest, Tiffany L

Research Scientist

tiffany.prest@duke.edu

Pryer, Kathleen M.

Professor

pryer@duke.edu

Puryear, Renee P.

Manager, Research Administration, CRA

puryear@duke.edu

Rausher, Mark D.

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor

mrausher@duke.edu

Redelings, Benjamin D.

Research Scientist

benjamin.redelings@duke.edu

Rees, Jonathan A.

Consultant, IT

jonathan.rees@gmail.com

Reid, Chantal D.

Assistant Professor of the Practice in the Division

chantal@duke.edu

Reynolds, James F.

Professor Emeritus

james.f.reynolds@duke.edu

Reynolds, Julie

Associate Professor of the Practice

julie.a.reynolds@duke.edu

Rittschof, Daniel

Associate Professor

ritt@duke.edu

Robertson, Connie J

Data Manager

cjrobert@duke.edu

Rocca, Jennifer D

Postdoctoral Associate

jdr62@duke.edu

Rodrigo, Allen G

Adjunct Professor

a.rodrigo@nescent.org

Rojas-Flechas, Jorge A.

Postdoctoral Associate

jar115@duke.edu

Rosenberg, Alexander

R. Taylor Cole Professor

alexrose@duke.edu

Roth, V. Louise

Professor

vlroth@duke.edu

Royal, Charmaine D.

Associate Professor

charmaine.royal@duke.edu

Samuk, Kieran M

Postdoctoral Associate

kieran.samuk@duke.edu

Saunders, Lindsay R

Lab Administrator

lrs9@duke.edu

Savoy, Philip

Postdoctoral Associate

prs15@duke.edu

Schmid, Amy K.

Assistant Professor

amy.schmid@duke.edu

Scott, Kristin C.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

kristin.scott@duke.edu

Searles, Richard B.

Professor Emeritus of Botany

searle100@aol.com

Selby, Jessica

Postdoctoral Associate

jessica.selby@duke.edu

Shaw, A. Jonathan

Professor

shaw@duke.edu

Sherwood, David R.

Professor

david.sherwood@duke.edu

Sherwood, Nina T.

Associate Professor of the Practice

nina.sherwood@duke.edu

Shoffner, Adam R

House Staff

adam.shoffner@duke.edu

Shreve, Christopher F

Instructor, Non-Tenure Track

christopher.shreve@duke.edu

Siedow, James N.

Professor Emeritus

jim.siedow@duke.edu

Sierra, Crystal S

Lab Administrator

crystal.sierra@duke.edu

Simonin, Marie S

Postdoctoral Associate

mss84@duke.edu

Skelly, Daniel A.

Postdoctoral Scholar

daniel.skelly@duke.edu

Smalls-Everett, Stacey

severett@duke.edu

Smith, Jerome

Botanical Horticulture Technician

smith846@duke.edu

Smith, Kathleen K.

Professor

kksmith@duke.edu

Smith, Todd

Lab Res. Analyst II

tghsmith@duke.edu

Spana, Eric P.

Assistant Professor of the Practice

spana@duke.edu

Sparks, Erin E

Postdoctoral Associate

erin.sparks@duke.edu

Sponsel, Mindy

Associate in Research

mindy.sponsel@duke.edu

Staddon, John E.

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus

jers@duke.edu

Strain, Boyd R.

Professor Emeritus

bstrain@duke.edu

Sun, Tai-ping

Professor

tai.ping.sun@duke.edu

Swain Lenz, Devjanee

Postdoctoral Scholar

devjanee.swain.lenz@duke.edu

Swofford, David L.

Senior Research Scientist

david.swofford@duke.edu

Terborgh, John W.

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Environmental Sciences

manu@duke.edu

Tucker, Vance A.

Professor Emeritus of Zoology

vtucker@duke.edu

Tung, Jenny

Assistant Professor

jenny.tung@duke.edu

Tunney, Jim M.

Financial Manager, CRA

jtunney@duke.edu

Ungberg, Eric

Associate in Research

eau5@duke.edu

Usher, Caroline

Administrative Coordinator

cpu@duke.edu

Uyenoyama, Marcy K.

Professor

marcy@duke.edu

Vander Jeugdt, Erin M

Associate In Research

evanderj@live.unc.edu

Velu, Gomathi

Visiting Scholar

gv11@duke.edu

Verdolin, Jennifer L.

Scholar in Residence

jennifer.verdolin@duke.edu

Vilgalys, Rytas J.

Professor

fungi@duke.edu

Volkan, Pelin C.

Assistant Professor

pelin.volkan@duke.edu

Vreugdenhil, Angie

Associate In Research

angie.vreugdenhil@duke.edu

Wachsmann, Guy

Postdoctoral Associate

gw57@duke.edu

Wainwright, Stephen A.

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus

sawanryt@duke.edu

Wang, Lingyu

Postdoctoral Associate

lingyu.wang@duke.edu

Watkins, Joyah

Instructor

joyah.watkins@gmail.com

Wentzell, Jill

Postdoctoral Scholar

jill.wentzell@duke.edu

Wernegreen, Jennifer J.

Associate Professor

j.wernegreen@duke.edu

Wheeler, Benjamin (Jay) R

Research Technician II

benjamin.wheeler@duke.edu

White, Richard A.

University Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Botany

rwhite@duke.edu

Wilbur, Margaret R

Research Admin. Specialist

mrwilbur@duke.edu

Wilbur, Robert L.

Professor Emeritus

rwilbur@duke.edu

Willard, Huntington F.

Adjunct Professor

hunt.willard@duke.edu

Williams, Rachel C

Postdoctoral Associate

rcw27@duke.edu

Willis, John H.

Professor

jwillis@duke.edu

Wilson, Carmen A

Associate in Research

caw73@duke.edu

Wilson, William G.

Associate Professor

wgw@duke.edu

Windham, Michael D.

Curator of Vascular Plants

mdw26@duke.edu

Winter, Cara M

Research Scientist

cara.winter@duke.edu

Withers, John

Postdoctoral Associate

jcw58@duke.edu

Wray, Gregory A.

Professor

gwray@duke.edu

Wright, Justin P.

Associate Professor

justin.wright@duke.edu

Wu, Feihua

Research Scientist

feihua.wu@duke.edu

Xu, Guoyong

Postdoctoral Associate

guoyong.xu@duke.edu

Yamada, Masashi

Research Scientist

masashi.yamada@duke.edu

Yoder, Anne D.

Professor

Yoo, Chan Yul

Affiliate

chanyul.yoo@duke.edu

Yoo, Heejin

Postdoctoral Associate

heejin.yoo@duke.edu

Yvellez, Olivia V.

Associate In Research

ovy2@dukke.edu

Zavaliev, Raul

Postdoctoral Associate

raul.zavaliev@duke.edu

Zentella, Rodolfo

Research Scientist

zentella@duke.edu

Zhang, Jingyuan

Research Scientist

jz68@duke.edu

Zwack, Paul

Postdoctoral Associate

paul.zwack@duke.edu