Cultural Anthropology Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Piot, Charles D.

Professor

charles.piot@duke.edu

Assistant

Bodager, Patricia D

pbodager@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Nelson, Diane M.

Eads Family Professor

dmnelson@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Daye Patterson, Bernice

culanth-dgs@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Litzinger, Ralph A.

Associate Professor

rlitz@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Bodager, Patricia D

pbodager@duke.edu

Business Contact

Bodager, Patricia D

pbodager@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

(Azoulay) Mevorack, Katya Gibel

Associate Professor

azoulay@grinnell.edu

Abu El-Haj, Nadia

Assistant Professor

ne2008@columbia.edu

Adelman, Madelaine

Associate Professor

mad@asu.edu

Allison, Anne

Professor

anne.allison@duke.edu

Altinay, Ayse Gul

Assistant Professor (equiv)

altinay@sabanciuniv.edu

Anderman, Jason

Counsel, Becton, Dickinson and Co. and Adjunct Professor, Seton Hall Univ School of Law

jason_anderman@bd.com

Andrews, Edna

Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Linguistics

eda@duke.edu

Baker, Lee D.

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor

ldbaker@duke.edu

Block, Pamela

Associate Dean for Research, School of Health Technology & Management; Associate Professor Occupational Therapy, School of Health Technology & Management; and Director, Disability Studies Concentration, Ph.D. in Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

pamela.block@stonybrook.edu

Bodager, Patricia D

pbodager@duke.edu

Brown-Vincent, Layla

Student Development Coordinator

layla.brown@duke.edu

Brown, Tracy L

Associate Professor

brown3t@cmich.edu

Byerly, Ingrid

Lecturing Fellow, Senior

ingrid@duke.edu

Chuang, Ya-Chung

Assistant Professor

ycc622@yahoo.com.tw

Daye Patterson, Bernice

culanth-dgs@duke.edu

Dell, Heather

Associate Professor, Women's Studies

hdell1@uis.edu

Dixon, Dwayne E.

Visiting Instructor

dedixon@duke.edu

Edey, Kirsten

Graduate Student

kirsten@vtlink.net

Ewing, Katherine P.

Professor Emerita

katherine.ewing@duke.edu

Field, Les

Associate Professor

lesfield@unm.edu

Folch, Christine

Assistant Professor

christine.folch@duke.edu

Frank, Katherine

Research Faculty, Department of Sociology

katefrank@comcast.net

Frederick, Marla

Assistant Professor

frederic@fas.harvard.edu

French, Jan H.

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

jfrench@richmond.edu

Friedman, Jack

NIMH Post-Doctoral Fellow

jrfriedman8@gmail.com

Gray, Lila E.

Assistant Professor, Music Department (Ethnomusicology)

leg2114@columbia.edu

Hasty, Jennifer

Research Associate, African Studies

anidaso@hotmail.com

Hersh, Carie Little

Graduate Student, Anthropology Department

chersh@email.unc.edu

Hirsch, Jennifer

Director, Chicago Field Studies Program

j-hirsch@northwestern.edu

Hirsch, Susan F.

Associate Professor, Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution

shirsch4@gmu.edu

Ho, Engseng

Professor

engseng.ho@duke.edu

Hoffman, Danny

Assistant Professor, Anthropology Department

djh13@u.washington.edu

Hymas, Emma

Publications Specialist

emma.hymas@duke.edu

Inoue, Marro

Assistant Professor, Japan Studies Program

msinoue@uky.edu

Johnson -- JD/MA, Heather

heather.johnson@law.duke.edu

Kirk, Robin

Lecturer

rights@duke.edu

Kohrt, Brandon A.

Adjunct Assistant Professor

brandon.kohrt@duke.edu

Lamana, Gonzalo

Assistant Professor, Hispanic Languages and Literature

lamana@pitt.edu

Lambert-Pennington, Katherine

Adjunct Associate Professor, Anthropology

kath@mazzy.com

Legare, Evelyn

Program Manager, Walking/Cycling/Planning, Melbourne, Australia

e.legare@optusnet.com.au

Lim, Sylvia

Visiting Scholar

khadrosylvia@gmail.com

Litzinger, Ralph A.

Associate Professor

rlitz@duke.edu

Lukacs, Gabriella

Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology

lukacs@pitt.edu

Luthra, Sangeeta

Adjunct Faculty, Anthropology

sluthra66@gmail.com

Makhulu, Anne-Maria B.

Associate Professor

amakhulu@duke.edu

Matory, J. Lorand

Lawrence Richardson Professor

jm217@duke.edu

McBrearty -- JD/MA, Elizabeth

elizabeth.mcbrearty@law.duke.edu

McCollum, Chris

Director, Qualitative Research, The U30 Group

cmccol2@yahoo.com

McDonic, Susan

Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology

McIntosh, Laurie N

Assistant Professor

laurie.mcintosh@duke.edu

Meintjes, Louise

Associate Professor

meintjes@duke.edu

Mignolo, Walter

Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Romance Studies

walter1654@gmail.com

Nelson, Diane M.

Eads Family Professor

dmnelson@duke.edu

Neuman, Lisa

Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Native American Studies

lisa_neuman@umit.maine.edu

O'Barr, William M.

Professor

william.obarr@duke.edu

Parish, Erin D

Visiting Instructor

erin.parish@duke.edu

Passaro, Joanne

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Carroll University

jpassaro@carrollu.edu

Piot, Charles D.

Professor

charles.piot@duke.edu

Prough, Jennifer

Instructor in Humanities and Anthropology

j_prough@yahoo.com

Quinn, Naomi

Professor Emeritus

naomi.quinn@duke.edu

Reddy, William M.

Professor

wmr@duke.edu

Riley, Margaret

Visiting Scholar

mriley@duke.edu

Robinson, Bianca C

bcw5@duke.edu

Roland, Kaifa

Visiting Assistant Professor, Anthropology Department

rolandl@colorado.edu

Scher, Michael

General Counsel, Nexum, Inc and PhD student in Anthropology

mbs@cultural.com

Settle, Heather

Visiting Instructor

heather.settle@duke.edu

Shulruff Schneider, Jessica E.

Lecturing Fellow of Law

jessica.shulruff@duke.edu

Silverblatt, Irene

Professor

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Solomon, Harris S.

Assistant Professor

harris.solomon@duke.edu

Starn, Orin

Professor

ostarn@duke.edu

Stein, Rebecca L.

Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor

rlstein@duke.edu

Tetel, Julie A.

Professor

jtetel@duke.edu

Thompson, Charles

Professor of the Practice

cdthomps@duke.edu

Uygun, Nilgun

Visiting Assistant Professor in Writing

nilgunu@hotmail.com

Wesolowski, Katya

Visiting Professor

katya.wesolowski@duke.edu

Wilson, Ara

Associate Professor

ara.wilson@duke.edu

Wright Dixit, Kim

Lecturer

kimdixit@yahoo.com

Yezer, Caroline

Assistant Professor, Dept of Sociology/Anthropology

c_yezer@yahoo.com

Yurchak, Alexei

Associate Professor, Anthropology Department

yurchak@berkeley.edu

Zhou, Yongming

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

yongmingzhou@wisc.edu