Center for Latin American Caribbean Studies Directory

Department Officers

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Arce, Antonio M.

Assistant Director

ama2@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Ackerman, Holly

Librarian for Latin America & Iberia

holly.ackerman@duke.edu

Aidoo, Lamonte

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

lamonte.aidoo@duke.edu

Arce, Antonio M.

Assistant Director

ama2@duke.edu

Baker, Paul A.

Professor

pbaker@duke.edu

Baletti, Brenda C

Lecturing Fellow*

brenda.baletti@duke.edu

Bonilla-Silva, Eduardo

Professor

eb48@duke.edu

Boyd, David L.

Hymowitz Family Professor of the Practice in Global Health

david.boyd@duke.edu

Brands, Hal

Associate Professor

henry.brands@duke.edu

Chavez, Emily

Outreach Coordinator UNC-Chapel Hill/Duke Consortium in Latin American & Caribbean Studies

emily.chavez@duke.edu

Clements, Dennis A.

Professor of Pediatrics

dennis.clements@duke.edu

Clifford, Joan E

Assistant Professor of the Practice

jcliffor@duke.edu

Crichlow, Michaeline A.

Professor

crichlow@duke.edu

Denman, Susan

Associate Professor Emerita

susan.denman@duke.edu

Dorfman, Vladimiro

Walter Hines Page Research Professor Emeritus

adorfman@duke.edu

Dubois, Laurent

Professor

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Duddy, Patrick D.

Director

patrick.duddy@duke.edu

Fernholz, Fernando R.

Associate Professor of the Practice

fernholz@duke.edu

Fernholz, Rosemary M.

Senior Lecturing Fellow

rosemary.fernholz@duke.edu

French, John D.

Professor

jdfrench@duke.edu

Furtado, Gustavo P.

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

gpf@duke.edu

Gabara, Esther L.

E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor

egabara@duke.edu

Gerdts, Melissa

Student Assistant

melissa.gerdts@duke.edu

Gereffi, Gary

Professor

ggere@soc.duke.edu

Greer, Margaret R.

Professor Emeritus

mgreer@duke.edu

Hartman, Natalie J

Associate Director

njh@duke.edu

Healy, Robert G.

Professor Emeritus

healy@duke.edu

Helfer, Laurence R.

Harry R. Chadwick, Sr. Professor of Law

helfer@law.duke.edu

Hensen, Mike

Assistant Director Center on Globalization, Governance & Competitiveness

mike.hensen@duke.edu

Jakubs, Deborah

Adjunct Associate Professor

deborah.jakubs@duke.edu

Jenson, Deborah

Professor

Deborah.Jenson@duke.edu

Kelly, Stephen

Faculty Network Member of The Energy Initiative

stephen.kelly@duke.edu

Kirk, Robin

Lecturer

rights@duke.edu

Lasch, Pedro

Associate Research Professor of Art, Art History and Visual Studies

pedro.lasch@duke.edu

Lopes, Renato D.

Professor of Medicine

renato.lopes@duke.edu

Matory, J. Lorand

Lawrence Richardson Professor

jm217@duke.edu

Merkx, Gilbert W.

Professor of the Practice

gilbert.merkx@duke.edu

Mignolo, Walter

William H. Wannamaker Professor of Romance Studies

walter1654@gmail.com

Milian, Claudia

Associate Professor

claudia.milian@duke.edu

Nelson, Diane M.

Eads Family Professor

dmnelson@duke.edu

Nicolelis, Miguel A.

Duke School of Medicine Professor in Neuroscience

nicoleli@neuro.duke.edu

Olcott, Jocelyn H.

Associate Professor

olcott@duke.edu

Pan, William K.

Assistant Professor of Global Environmental Health

william.pan@duke.edu

Paredes, Liliana

Professor of the Practice

lparedes@duke.edu

Patino-Echeverri, Dalia

Gendell Family Associate Professor

dalia.patino@duke.edu

Pfaff, Alexander

Professor

alex.pfaff@duke.edu

Pierre, Jacques

Lecturing Fellow* of Romance

jacques.pierre@duke.edu

Pimm, Stuart L.

Doris Duke Professor of Conservation Ecology in the Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences

stuart.pimm@duke.edu

Prather, Jennifer

Staff Assistant

jennifer.prather@duke.edu

Rangel, Marcos A.

Assistant Professor

marcos.rangel@duke.edu

Rego, Marcia

Assistant Professor of the Practice

marcia.rego@duke.edu

Remmer, Karen L.

Professor

karen.remmer@duke.edu

Rodríguez García, José María

Associate Professor

jose.rodriguez-garcia@duke.edu

Rojas Sotelo, Miguel

Special Events Coordinator & NC Latin American Film Festival Director

miguel.rojassotelo@duke.edu

Rosa, Richard

Associate Professor

richard.rosa@duke.edu

Shapiro - Garza, Elizabeth

Adjunct Faculty

elizabeth.shapiro@duke.edu

Sigal, Peter

Professor

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Silva, Magda

Senior Lecturer of Romance Languages

mbcsilva@duke.edu

Silverblatt, Irene

Professor

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Simmermeyer, Melissa A.

Senior Lecturer

simmerme@duke.edu

Smith, Imari

Student Assistant

imari.smith@duke.edu

Solorzano, Rosa

Consulting Associate

rosa.solorzano@duke.edu

Starn, Orin

Professor

ostarn@duke.edu

Stawski, Patrick A.

Human Rights Archivist, Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

patrick.stawski@duke.edu

Swenson, Jennifer J.

Associate Professor of the Practice of Geospatial Analysis

jswenson@duke.edu

Thompson, Charles

Professor of the Practice

cdthomps@duke.edu

Vermeer, Daniel

Associate Professor of the Practice of Business Administration

daniel.vermeer@duke.edu

Viego, Antonio

Associate Professor

antonioviego@yahoo.com

Villalba, William

Lecturing Fellow* of Romance

villalwj@duke.edu

Wesolowski, Katya

Lecturing Fellow* of Cultural Anthroplogy

katya.wesolowski@duke.edu