Chemistry Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Katherine J. Franz

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Business Contact

Trish McMillan

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1507

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1533

ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Christopher P. Roy

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1518

chris.roy@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Janet Rosenthal

Staff Assistant - Undergraduate Office

+1 919 660 1500

janet.rosenthal@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Michael C. Fitzgerald

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1547

michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu

Associate Director of Graduate Studies

Christopher P. Roy

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1518

chris.roy@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Meg Avery

Administrative Coordinator, Graduate Program

+1 919 660 1503

meg.avery@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Edward M. Arnett

R.J. Reynolds Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

edward.arnett@duke.edu

Gaurav Arya

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5435

gaurav.arya@duke.edu

Valerie S Ashby

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 684-4510

valerie.ashby@duke.edu

Sherry Ashley

Staff Assistant

+1 919 660 1512

sherry.ashley@duke.edu

Meg Avery

Administrative Coordinator, Graduate Program

+1 919 660 1503

meg.avery@duke.edu

Yusong Bai

Postdoctoral Associate

yusong.bai@duke.edu

Subha Bakthavatsalam

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1660

sb452@duke.edu

Steven W. Baldwin

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1563

steven.baldwin@duke.edu

David N. Beratan

R.J. Reynolds Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1526

david.beratan@duke.edu

Volker Blum

Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

volker.blum@duke.edu

Kenneth R Brown

Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-1376

kenneth.r.brown@duke.edu

Dorian Canelas

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1528

dorian.canelas@duke.edu

Young Im Chang

Grants and Contracts Administrator

+1 919 660 1558

youngim.chang@duke.edu

Patrick Charbonneau

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 613-6261

patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu

Donald B. Chesnut

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

donald.chesnut@duke.edu

Ashutosh Chilkoti

Alan L. Kaganov Professor of Biomedical Engineering

(919) 660-5373

Alberto Ciferri

Visiting Professor

alberto.ciferri@duke.edu

Johannes Franz Peter F P Colell

Postdoctoral Associate

johannes.colell@duke.edu

Michael Conti

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Associate

+1 919 660 1556

mike.conti@duke.edu

Stephen Craig

William T. Miller Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1538

stephen.craig@duke.edu

Dana Crowell

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

+1 919 660 1505

dana.xiao@duke.edu

Al L. Crumbliss

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1540

alvin.crumbliss@duke.edu

Stefano Curtarolo

Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5310

William Day

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 1514

bill.day@duke.edu

Simone Degan

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 8459

simone.degan@duke.edu

Emily R. Derbyshire

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1511

emily.derbyshire@duke.edu

Bruce Randall Donald

James B. Duke Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6583

Jack Exell

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1630

jack.exell@duke.edu

Martin Fischer

Associate Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1523

Michael C. Fitzgerald

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1547

michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu

Daniel Fowler

Instructor of Chemistry

daniel.fowler0@duke.edu

Aaron D. Franklin

James L. and Elizabeth M. Vincent Associate Professor

(919) 681-9471

aaron.franklin@duke.edu

Katherine J. Franz

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Christiana Conti Gooden

Administrative Coordinator - Chair's Office

+1 919 660 1506

c.conti@duke.edu

David Gooden

Research Scientist

+1 919 684 0237

david.gooden@duke.edu

Amanda Hargrove

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1522

amanda.hargrove@duke.edu

Robert W. Henkens

Associate Professor Emeritus

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1545

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Shangguo Hou

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1509

shangguo.hou@duke.edu

Tomasz Janowski

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 684 1151

tomasz.janowski@duke.edu

Daniela Jones

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 681 6613

daniela.jones@duke.edu

Santhosh Kalpathy

Research Scientist

+1 919 684 0235

santhosh.kalpathy@duke.edu

Farrell Ray Kersey

Instructor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1615

farrell.kersey@duke.edu

Myung Jun Kim

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1630

myungjun.kim@duke.edu

Tatiana Kouznetsova

Lab Research Analyst I

+1 919 660 1622

tatiana.kouznetsova@duke.edu

Bozenna Krzyzanowska, Ph.D.

Laboratory Preparator

+1 919 660 1517

bozenna.krzyzanowska@duke.edu

Joyjit Kundu

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 613 6552

joyjit.kundu@duke.edu

Seung-Hwa Kwak

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1535

seunghwa.kwak@duke.edu

Brian Langloss

Research Associate

brian.langloss@duke.edu

Robert J. Lefkowitz

James B. Duke Professor of Medicine

(919) 684-2974

lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu

Jie Liu

George Barth Geller Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1549

j.liu@duke.edu

Jianfeng Lu

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Mei Lu, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Therien Group

+1 919 684 0785

mei.lu@duke.edu

Kenneth Lyle

Lecturing Fellow of Chemistry

(919) 323-5521

kenneth.lyle@duke.edu

Mike D Lynch

Assistant Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering

michael.lynch@duke.edu

Richard MacPhail

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1536

richard.macphail@duke.edu

Steven Malcolmson

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1575

steven.malcolmson@duke.edu

Dewey G. McCafferty

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1516

dewey.mccafferty@duke.edu

Trish McMillan

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1507

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

Andrew T. McPhail

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1552

andrew.mcphail@duke.edu

Agostino Migliore

Assistant Research Professor of Chemistry

agostino.migliore@duke.edu

David Mitzi

Simon Family Professor

david.mitzi@duke.edu

Paul L. Modrich

James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry

(919) 684-2775

modrich@biochem.duke.edu

Brittany Morgan

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

brittany.s.morgan@duke.edu

Ann Motten

Lecturing Fellow* of Chemistry

(919) 660-1524

ann.motten@duke.edu

Giacomo Padroni

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1666

giacomo.padroni@duke.edu

Richard A. Palmer

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1539

richard.a.palmer@duke.edu

Sangjune Park

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 0239

sangjune.park@duke.edu

Neeraj Patwardhan

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 1666

neeraj.patwardhan@duke.edu

Christine K. Payne

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 681-2096

christine.payne@duke.edu

Michael Peterson

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 660 1646

michael.peterson@duke.edu

Sean Piwarski

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1666

sean.piwarski@duke.edu

Jodi Psoter

Librarian for Chemistry and Statistical Science

+1 919 660 5926

jodi.psoter@duke.edu

Louis Quin, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 384 2108

ldquin@duke.edu

Tina Radford

Grants and Contracts Manager

+1 919 660 1513

tina.radford@duke.edu

Anton Razgoniaev

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1622

anton.razgoniaev@duke.edu

Jennifer Roizen

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-9438

jennifer.roizen@duke.edu

Janet Rosenthal

Staff Assistant - Undergraduate Office

+1 919 660 1500

janet.rosenthal@duke.edu

Christopher P. Roy

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1518

chris.roy@duke.edu

Michael Rubinstein

Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5365

michael.rubinstein@duke.edu

Xinxin Shao

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 0239

xinxin.shao@duke.edu

Barbara Ramsay R. Shaw

William T. Miller Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 451-9197

barbara.r.shaw@duke.edu

Lin Shen

Postdoctoral Associate

ls255@duke.edu

Peter Silinski

Research Associate, Senior

+1 919 660 1532

peter.silinski@duke.edu

Caroline Christian Sloan

Instructor B of Chemistry

carolinesloan529@gmail.com

Naiqiang Su

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1583

nai.qiang.su@duke.edu

Michael J. Therien

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1670

michael.therien@duke.edu

Eric John Toone

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

eric.toone@duke.edu

Chakrapani Varanasi, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

+1 919 660 1590

chakrapani.varanasi@duke.edu

Tuan Vo-Dinh

R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering

(919) 660-5598

tuan.vodinh@duke.edu

Chengming Wang

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1500

chengming.wang@duke.edu

Qiu Wang

Robert R. & Katherine B. Penn Associate Professor

(919) 660-1648

qiu.wang@duke.edu

Ruobing Wang

Postdoctoral Associate

ruobing.wang@duke.edu

Warren S. Warren

James B. Duke Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Richard Wells, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

richard.wells@duke.edu

Kevin D. Welsher

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1509

kdw32@duke.edu

Jennifer L West

Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering

jennifer.l.west@duke.edu

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1533

ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu

Benjamin J. Wiley

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 668-3066

benjamin.wiley@duke.edu

Peter Wipf

Adjunct Professor

pwipf@pitt.edu

Todd E. Woerner

Lecturing Fellow of Chemistry

(919) 660-1525

todd.woerner@duke.edu

Weitao Yang

Philip Handler Professor of Chemistry in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1562

weitao.yang@duke.edu

Ken Yokoyama

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry

(919) 684-8848

ken.yoko@duke.edu

Stefan Zauscher

Sternberg Family Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science

(919) 660-5360

zauscher@duke.edu

Guannan Zhang

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1585

guannan.zhang451@duke.edu

Peng Zhang

Assistant Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1675

peng.zhang@duke.edu

Pei Zhou

Professor of Biochemistry

(919) 668-6409

peizhou@biochem.duke.edu