Chemistry Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Franz, Katherine J.

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Assistant

Gooden, Christiana Conti

Administrative Assistant - Chair's Office

c.conti@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Hong, Jiyong

Professor

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Avery, Margaret M

Administrative Coordinator

meg.avery@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

MacPhail, Richard

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

richard.macphail@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Roy, Christopher P.

Associate Professor of the Practice

chris.roy@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Rosenthal, Janet R

Staff Assistant - Undergraduate Office

janet.rosenthal@duke.edu

Business Contact

McMillan, Patricia

Administrative Manager

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Al-Hashimi, Hashim

James B. Duke Professor

hashim.al.hashimi@duke.edu

Arnett, Edward M.

R.J. Reynolds Professor Emeritus

edward.arnett@duke.edu

Ashby, Valerie S

Professor of Chemistry

valerie.ashby@duke.edu

Ashley, Sherry

Staff Assistant

sherry.ashley@duke.edu

Avery, Margaret M

Administrative Coordinator

meg.avery@duke.edu

Bakthavatsalam, Subha

Postdoctoral Associate

sb452@duke.edu

Baldwin, Steven W.

Professor

steven.baldwin@duke.edu

Beratan, David N.

R.J. Reynolds Professor

david.beratan@duke.edu

Blum, Volker

Associate Professor

volker.blum@duke.edu

Canelas, Dorian A

Assistant Professor of the Practice

dorian.canelas@duke.edu

Castanheiro Matias, Thomas

Postdoctoral Associate

thomas.castanheiro.matias@duke.edu

Chang, George

Postdoctoral Associate

chia.chih.chang@duke.edu

Chang, Young Im

Grants and Contracts Administrator

youngim.chang@duke.edu

Charbonneau, Patrick

Associate Professor

patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu

Chesnut, Donald B.

Professor Emeritus

donald.chesnut@duke.edu

Chilkoti, Ashutosh

Professor

ashutosh.chilkoti@duke.edu

Ciferri, Alberto E

Visiting Professor

alberto.ciferri@duke.edu

Colell, Johannes F.

Postdoctoral Associate

johannes.colell@duke.edu

Conti, Michael J

Manager - Ctr. for Molecular and Biomolecular Imaging

mike.conti@duke.edu

Craig, Stephen L.

William T. Miller Professor and Department Chair

stephen.craig@duke.edu

Crumbliss, Alvin L.

University Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus

alvin.crumbliss@duke.edu

Curtarolo, Stefano

Professor

stefano.curtarolo@duke.edu

Day, William R

Analyst, IT

bill.day@duke.edu

Degan, Simone

Research Scientist

simone.degan@duke.edu

Derbyshire, Emily R.

Assistant Professor

emily.derbyshire@duke.edu

Donald, Bruce R.

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dubay, George

Research Associate, Senior

george.dubay@duke.edu

Feinstein, Elena

Assoc Librarian

elena.feinstein@duke.edu

Ferguson, P. Lee

Associate Professor

lee.ferguson@duke.edu

Fischer, Martin

Associate Research Professor

martin.fischer@duke.edu

Fitzgerald, Michael C.

Professor

michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu

Forte, Jordan

Associate in Research, Hargrove Group

jordan.forte@duke.edu

Fowler, Daniel

Instructor*

daniel.fowler0@duke.edu

Franklin, Aaron D.

Associate Professor

aaron.franklin@duke.edu

Franz, Katherine J.

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Ghadiri, Elham

Postdoctoral Associate

elham.ghadiri@duke.edu

Gooden, Christiana Conti

Administrative Assistant - Chair's Office

c.conti@duke.edu

Gooden, David

Research Scientist

david.gooden@duke.edu

Hargrove, Amanda E.

Assistant Professor

amanda.hargrove@duke.edu

Henkens, Robert W.

Associate Professor Emeritus

rhenkens@duke.edu

Hong, Jiyong

Professor

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Janowski, Tomasz

tomasz.janowski@duke.edu

Kalpathy, Santhosh

Research Scientist

santhosh.kalpathy@duke.edu

Kersey, Farrell R.

Instructor*

farrell.kersey@duke.edu

Kim, Myung Jun

Postdoctoral Associate

myungjun.kim@duke.edu

Kouznetsova, Tatiana

Laboratory Research Analyst, Craig Group

tk88@duke.edu

Krzyzanowska, Bozenna

Laboratory Preparator

bozenna.krzyzanowska@duke.edu

Kundu, Joyjit

Postdoctoral Associate

joyjit.kundu@duke.edu

Kwon, Do Yeon

Postdoctoral Associate, Hong Group

do.yeon.kwon@duke.edu

Lefkowitz, Robert J.

Professor of Chemistry and Pathology and Biochemistry

lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu

Liu, Chuan

Postdoctoral Associate

c.liu@duke.edu

Liu, Jie

George Barth Geller Professor

j.liu@duke.edu

Lu, Jianfeng

Associate Professor

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Lu, Mei

Research Associate, Therien Group

mei.lu@duke.edu

Lyle, Kenneth

Lecturing Fellow*

kenneth.lyle@duke.edu

Lynch, Michael D

Assistant Professor

michael.lynch@duke.edu

MacPhail, Richard

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

richard.macphail@duke.edu

Malcolmson, Steven

Assistant Professor

steven.malcolmson@duke.edu

McCafferty, Dewey G.

Professor

dewey.mccafferty@duke.edu

McMillan, Patricia

Administrative Manager

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

McPhail, Andrew T.

Professor Emeritus

andrew.mcphail@duke.edu

Migliore, Agostino

Assistant Research Professor

agostino.migliore@duke.edu

Mitzi, David

Professor

david.mitzi@duke.edu

Modrich, Paul L.

Professor

modrich@biochem.duke.edu

Motten, Ann

Lecturing Fellow*

ann.motten@duke.edu

Oas, Terrence G.

Professor

oas@duke.edu

Palmer, Richard A.

Professor Emeritus

richard.a.palmer@duke.edu

Park, Sangjune

Postdoctoral Associate

sangjune.park@duke.edu

Patwardhan, Neeraj N

Postdoctoral Associate

neeraj.patwardhan@duke.edu

Peterson, Michael

Analyst, IT, Sr

michael.peterson@duke.edu

Quin, Louis D.

Professor Emeritus

ldquin27@gmail.com

Radford, Tina P

Grants and Contracts Manager

tina.radford@duke.edu

Roizen, Jennifer L.

Assistant Professor

jennifer.roizen@duke.edu

Rosenthal, Janet R

Staff Assistant - Undergraduate Office

janet.rosenthal@duke.edu

Roy, Christopher P.

Associate Professor of the Practice

chris.roy@duke.edu

Shao, Xinxin

Postdoctoral Associate

xinxin.shao@duke.edu

Shaw, Barbara R.

William T. Miller Professor Emeritus

barbara.r.shaw@duke.edu

Shen, Kun

Postdoctoral Associate

kun.shen@duke.edu

Shen, Lin

Postdoctoral Associate

ls255@duke.edu

Sloan, Caroline C.

Instructional Staff

carolinesloan529@gmail.com

Su, Nai Qiang

Postdoctoral Associate

nai.qiang.su@duke.edu

Theis, Thomas

Assistant Research Professor

thomas.theis@duke.edu

Therien, Michael J.

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor

michael.therien@duke.edu

Tompkins, David

Instructional Staff

davidtompkins.dt@gmail.com

Toone, Eric J.

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

eric.toone@duke.edu

Varanasi, Chakrapani V.

Adjunct Professor

chakrapani.varanasi@duke.edu

Vo-Dinh, Tuan

Professor

tuan.vodinh@duke.edu

Wang, Qiu

Assistant Professor

qiu.wang@duke.edu

Warren, Warren S.

James B. Duke Professor

warren.warren@duke.edu

Wells, Richard L

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

richard.wells@duke.edu

Welsher, Kevin D.

Assistant Professor

kdw32@duke.edu

West, Jennifer L

Professor of Chemistry and Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Cell Biology

jennifer.l.west@duke.edu

Widenhoefer, Ross A.

Professor

ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu

Wiley, Benjamin J.

Associate Professor

benjamin.wiley@duke.edu

Wipf, Peter

Adjunct Professor

pwipf@pitt.edu

Woerner, Todd E.

Lecturing Fellow*

todd.woerner@duke.edu

Xiao, Dana

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

dana.xiao@duke.edu

Yaida, Sho

Postdoctoral Associate

shoyaida@gmail.com

Yang, Weitao

Philip Handler Professor

weitao.yang@duke.edu

Yokoyama, Kenichi

Assistant Professor

ken.yoko@duke.edu

Zauscher, Stefan

Professor

zauscher@duke.edu

Zhang, Peng

Assistant Research Professor

peng.zhang@duke.edu

Zhou, Pei

Professor

peizhou@biochem.duke.edu