Duke Middle East Studies Center Directory

Department Officers

Director

Göknar, Erdag

Associate Professor

goknar@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Antepli, Abdullah

Muslim Chaplain

a.antepli@duke.edu

Chergui, Azeddine

Resident Advisor, Intl Pat PGM

cherg001@mc.duke.edu

DeGeorges, Thomas

Research Project Coordinator

thomas.degeorges@duke.edu

Ewald, Janet J.

Associate Professor

jewald@duke.edu

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Göknar, Erdag

Associate Professor

goknar@duke.edu

Hassan, Mona F

Assistant Professor

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hasso, Frances S.

Associate Professor

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Ho, Engseng

Professor

engseng.ho@duke.edu

Houssami, Maha

Lecturer of Arabic Language

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Hovsepian, Mary

Lecturing Fellow*

mary.hovsepian@duke.edu

Jentleson, Bruce W.

Professor

bwj7@duke.edu

Kadivar, Mohsen

Research Professor

mohsen.kadivar@duke.edu

Kirshner, Alexander S.

Assistant Professor

alexander.kirshner@duke.edu

Kuniholm, Bruce R.

University Distinguished Service Professor of Public Policy

bruce.kuniholm@duke.edu

Kuran, Timur

The Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies

t.kuran@duke.edu

Lawrence, Bruce B

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Humanities Professor Emeritus of Religion

bbl@duke.edu

Lo, Mbaye

Associate Professor of the Practice

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Maghraoui, Abdeslam E.

Associate Professor of the Practice

abdeslam.maghraoui@duke.edu

McLarney, Ellen

Associate Professor

ellenmc@duke.edu

Meyers, Carol L.

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion

carol@duke.edu

Meyers, Eric M.

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

emc@duke.edu

Miller, Ylana

Visiting Scholar

ymiller@duke.edu

Mottahedeh, Negar

Associate Professor

negar@duke.edu

Naeymi Rad, Fattaneh

Lecturing Fellow*

fattaneh.naeymi@duke.edu

Peters, Melvin K.

Professor

melopete@duke.edu

Plesser, Shelli

Lecturer

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Shakhly, Abdul Sattar

Instructor*

sattar.jawad@duke.edu

Smith, Stephen

Professor of the Practice

ssmith9@duke.edu

Stein, Rebecca L.

Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor

rlstein@duke.edu

Tuna, Mustafa O.

Associate Professor

mustafa.tuna@duke.edu

Van Rompay, Lucas

Professor Emeritus

rompay@duke.edu

Vengosh, Avner

Professor

vengosh@duke.edu

Weinthal, Erika S.

Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Environmental Policy

erika.weinthal@duke.edu

Wharton, Annabel J.

William B. Hamilton Professor of Art and Art History

wharton@duke.edu

cooke, miriam

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

mcw@duke.edu