Economics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

A. Craig Burnside

Mary Grace Wilson Professor

(919) 660-1808

craig.burnside@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Emma Rasiel

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1837

emma.rasiel@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Charles Maxwell Becker

Research Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1885

cbecker@econ.duke.edu

Business Manager

Lori Zagiba

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1852

lori.zagiba@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Connel Fullenkamp

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1843

cfullenk@econ.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Grace Kim

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Curtis R. Taylor

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1827

crtaylor@econ.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Grace Kim

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Atila Abdulkadiroglu

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1800

atila.abdulkadiroglu@duke.edu

Matthew D. Adler

Richard A. Horvitz Professor of Law

(919) 613-7172

adler@law.duke.edu

Attila Ambrus

Professor of Economics

attila.ambrus@duke.edu

James J. Anton

Wesley J. Magat Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-7754

james.anton@duke.edu

Peter S. Arcidiacono

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1816

psarcidi@mac.com

Dan Ariely

James B. Duke Professor of Behavioral Economics

dan@danariely.com

Bocar Ba

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1800

bocar.ba@duke.edu

Ravi Bansal

J.B. Fuqua Professor of Business Administration in the Fuqua School of Business

(919) 660-7758

ravi.bansal@duke.edu

Arjada Bardhi

Assistant Professor of Economics

arjada.bardhi@duke.edu

Levon Barseghyan

Visiting Professor of Economics

levon.barseghyan@duke.edu

Mona Barteau

Research Technician I

mona.prakash@duke.edu

Patrick Bayer

Gilhuly Family Professor

(919) 660-1800

patrick.bayer@duke.edu

Charles Maxwell Becker

Research Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1885

cbecker@econ.duke.edu

Jennifer Becker

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1881

jennifer.becker@duke.edu

Lori Snyder Bennear

Associate Professor of Environmental Economics and Policy

(919) 613-8083

lori.bennear@duke.edu

Francesco Bianchi

Associate Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1828

francesco.bianchi@duke.edu

Tim Bollerslev

Juanita and Clifton Kreps Professor of Economics, in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1846

tim.bollerslev@duke.edu

Gale Allen Boyd

Associate Research Professor in the Social Science Research Institute

(919) 660-6892

gale.boyd@duke.edu

Federico Bugni

Associate Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1887

federico.bugni@duke.edu

Stephen Burkhalter

Analyst, IT

+1 919 314 7432

stephen.burkhalter@duke.edu

Edwin Burmeister

Research Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 1800

eb@econ.duke.edu

Tamara Burns

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1829

tamara.burns@duke.edu

A. Craig Burnside

Mary Grace Wilson Professor

(919) 660-1808

craig.burnside@duke.edu

John Caccavale

Executive in Residence of Economics

(919) 660-1858

john.caccavale@duke.edu

Bruce J. Caldwell

Research Professor of Economics

(919) 660-6896

bruce.caldwell@duke.edu

Arienne Cheek

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Associate

+1 919 660 1897

arienne.cheek@duke.edu

Amy Clayton

Program Coord, Senior

+1 919 660 1880

amy.clayton@duke.edu

Charles T. Clotfelter

Z. Smith Reynolds Professor of Public Policy Studies

(919) 613-7361

charles.clotfelter@duke.edu

Wesley M. Cohen

Snow Family Professor

wesley.cohen@duke.edu

Wilbur John Coleman

Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-7962

coleman@duke.edu

Allan Collard-Wexler

Professor of Economics

allan.collard.wexler@duke.edu

Vincent Conitzer

Kimberly J. Jenkins University Professor of New Technologies

(919) 660-6503

Michelle P. Connolly

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1819

michelle.connolly@duke.edu

Robert F. Conrad

Associate Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-7355

rconrad@duke.edu

Philip J. Cook

ITT/Terry Sanford Professor Emeritus of Public Policy Studies

(919) 613-7360

pcook@duke.edu

William A. Darity

Samuel DuBois Cook Professor of Public Policy

(919) 613-7336

william.darity@duke.edu

Cecile Delcuvellerie

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 1800

cecile.delcuvellerie@duke.edu

Rafael Dix-Carneiro

Assistant Professor of Economics

rafael.dix.carneiro@duke.edu

Paul Dudenhefer

Assistant Dir, Programs

pauldude@duke.edu

Federica Esu

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 1800

federica.esu@duke.edu

Lauren Faber

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 1823

lauren.faber@duke.edu

Domenico Ferraro

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1800

domenico.ferraro@duke.edu

Erica Marie Field

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1857

field.erica@duke.edu

Chelsea Fillippa

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1886

chelsea.fillippa@duke.edu

Francesca Florey Eischen

Project Planner II

+1 919 660 0533

francesca.florey@duke.edu

John A Forlines III

Executive in Residence of Economics

(516) 456-3060

john.forlines@duke.edu

Michael D Frakes

Professor of Law

(919) 613-7185

michael.frakes@law.duke.edu

Elizabeth Frankenberg

Research Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9311

e.frankenberg@duke.edu

Connel Fullenkamp

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1843

cfullenk@econ.duke.edu

Robert J Garlick

Assistant Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1831

robert.garlick@duke.edu

Chris Geddings

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 660 1836

chris.geddings@duke.edu

Henry G. Grabowski

Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1839

grabow@econ.duke.edu

Daniel A. Graham

Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1802

daniel.graham@duke.edu

Alison Hagy

Lecturing Fellow of Economics

(919) 660-6892

alison.hagy@duke.edu

Kevin Douglas Hoover

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1800

kd.hoover@duke.edu

V. Joseph Hotz

Arts and Sciences Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1841

hotz@econ.duke.edu

David A. Hsieh

Bank of America Professor of Business Administration in the Fuqua School of Business

(919) 660-7779

david.a.hsieh@duke.edu

Cosmin L. Ilut

Associate Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1817

cosmin.ilut@duke.edu

Taneca Joseph

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 1800

taneca.joseph@duke.edu

Kyle Jurado

Assistant Professor of Economics

kyle.jurado@duke.edu

Peter Katz

Statistician III

+1 919 660 6895

peter.katz@duke.edu

Matthias Kehrig

Assistant Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1901

matthias.kehrig@duke.edu

Grace Kim

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Kent P. Kimbrough

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1811

kent.kimbrough@duke.edu

Christyn Klinck

Program Coord

+1 919 660 1891

christyn.klinck@duke.edu

Lindsey Eldred Kozecke

Research Scholar, Senior

+1 919 450 7678

lindsey.eldred@duke.edu

Randall Kramer

Juli Plant Grainger Professor of Global Environmental Health

(919) 613-8072

Rachel Kranton

James B. Duke Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1800

rachel.kranton@duke.edu

Lawrence Kreicher

Instructor of Economics

lawrence.kreicher@duke.edu

R. Vijay Krishna

Visiting Assistant Professor

+1 919 660 1800

vijay.krishna@duke.edu

Timur Kuran

The Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1800

t.kuran@duke.edu

Helen F. Ladd

Susan B. King Professor Emeritus of Public Policy

(919) 613-7352

hladd@duke.edu

Andrea Lanteri

Assistant Professor of Economics

andrea.lanteri@duke.edu

Lori Leachman

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-6894

leachman@econ.duke.edu

Linsey Beth Lebowitz Hughes

Executive in Residence of Economics

linsey.lebowitz.hughes@duke.edu

Ronald Leven

W.R. Huff Professor of the Practice

ronald.leven@duke.edu

Aino Levonmaa

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1800

aino.levonmaa@duke.edu

Tracy R. Lewis

Walter M. Upchurch, Jr. Professor of Business Administration in the Fuqua School of Business

(919) 660-7983

tracy.lewis@duke.edu

Jia Li

Associate Professor of Economics

jia.li2@duke.edu

Mingjie Liu

Staff

+1 919 668 9995

mliu@dumac.duke.edu

Nian Liu

Staff

+1 919 660 5252

n.liu@duke.edu

Giuseppe Lopomo

Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-7820

giuseppe.lopomo@duke.edu

Liu Lu

Staff

lu.liu2@duke.edu

Claire Lyons

Instructor of Economics

claire.lyons@duke.edu

Hugh Macartney

Assistant Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1866

hugh.macartney@duke.edu

Leslie M. Marx

Robert A. Bandeen Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-7762

marx@duke.edu

Matthew A Masten

Assistant Professor of Economics

Arnaud Pierre Maurel

Assistant Professor of Economics

arnaud.maurel@duke.edu

David McAdams

Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-7926

david.mcadams@duke.edu

Sabrina McCutchan

Associate In Research

sabrina.mccutchan@duke.edu

David McDade

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 1804

david.mcdade@duke.edu

Marjorie B. McElroy

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1840

mcelroy@econ.duke.edu

Genna Miller

Lecturing Fellow of Economics

(919) 660-1800

gm19@duke.edu

Claude Misukiewicz

Coordinating Editor

+1 919 660 6899

claude.misukiewicz@duke.edu

Manoj Mohanan

Associate Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9263

manoj.mohanan@duke.edu

Francesca Molinari

Visiting Professor of Economics

francesca.molinari@duke.edu

Michael C. Munger

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4301

munger@duke.edu

Thomas J. Nechyba

Professor of Economics

(919) 681-6590

nechyba@duke.edu

Rushdee Omar

Program Specialist

+1 919 681 0646

rushdee.omar@duke.edu

Subhrendu K. Pattanayak

Oak Foundation Environmental and Energy Policy Professor

(919) 613-9306

subhrendu.pattanayak@duke.edu

Andrew J. Patton

Zelter Family Professor

(919) 660-1817

andrew.patton@duke.edu

Pietro F. Peretto

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1807

peretto@econ.duke.edu

Arlie O. Petters

Benjamin Powell Professor of Mathematics in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-3465

arlie.petters@duke.edu

Alexander Pfaff

Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9240

alex.pfaff@duke.edu

Billy Pizer

Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9286

billy.pizer@duke.edu

Rogier Quaedvlieg

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

quaedvlieg@ese.eur.nl

Adriano A. Rampini

William and Sue Gross Professor of Financial Economics

(919) 660-7797

rampini@duke.edu

Tyler Ransom

Postdoctoral Associate

tyler.ransom@duke.edu

Emma Rasiel

Professor of the Practice of Economics

(919) 660-1837

emma.rasiel@duke.edu

Katie-Rose Repp

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1847

katie.rose.repp@duke.edu

Elizabeth Richardson

Communications Specialist

+1 919 660 1895

e.richardson@duke.edu

James W. Roberts

Fred W. Shaffer Professor

(919) 660-1800

j.roberts@duke.edu

Adam M Rosen

Associate Professor of Economics

adam.rosen@duke.edu

Philipp Sadowski

Associate Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1817

p.sadowski@duke.edu

Jonathan Salcedo

Staff

+1 919 668 9100

jonathan.salcedo@duke.edu

Seth G. Sanders

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1898

seth.sanders@duke.edu

Todd Sarver

Associate Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1855

todd.sarver@duke.edu

Modibo Sidibe

Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics

modibo.sidibe@duke.edu

Frank A. Sloan

J. Alexander McMahon Professor Emeritus of Health Policy and Management

(919) 613-9358

fsloan@duke.edu

Martin D. Smith

Professor of Environmental Economics in the

(919) 613-8028

martin.smith@duke.edu

Addie Stagg

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1884

addie.stagg@duke.edu

Artem Streltsov

Associate In Research

+1 919 613 1306

artem.streltsov@duke.edu

Juan Carlos Suarez Serrato

Kathleen Kaylor and G. Richard Wagoner, Jr. Assistant Professor of Economics

George E. Tauchen

William Henry Glasson Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1812

george.tauchen@duke.edu

Curtis R. Taylor

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1827

crtaylor@econ.duke.edu

Duncan Thomas

Norb F. Schaefer Professor of International Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1803

Christopher D. Timmins

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1809

christopher.timmins@duke.edu

Gianni Toniolo

Research Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1855

giannit@econ.duke.edu

Edward Tower

Professor with Tenure

(919) 660-1818

tower@econ.duke.edu

Vladimir G. Treml

Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1800

treml@duke.edu

Liisa Trent

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1800

liisa.trent@duke.edu

Laqwanda Trice

Accounting Specialist

+1 919 660 1850

laqwanda.trice@duke.edu

Jennifer Valentyn

Program Coord

+1 919 660 1813

jennifer.valentyn@duke.edu

S. Viswanathan

F.M. Kirby Professor of Investment Banking in Fuqua School of Business

(919) 660-7784

viswanat@duke.edu

Kate Vyborny

Research Associate

+1 919 660 1800

katherine.vyborny@duke.edu

Thomas D. Wallace

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1800

tdwallace@coastalnet.com

Xiao Yu Wang

Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics

xy.wang@duke.edu

E. Roy Weintraub

Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1838

erw@duke.edu

Brian M Weller

Assistant Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1720

brian.weller@duke.edu

Xiaohua Wu

Teaching Assistant

xiaohua.wu@duke.edu

Daniel Yi Xu

Professor of Economics

yi.xu@duke.edu

Tiffany Yarborough

Financial Mgmt Analyst I

+1 919 660 1893

tiffany.yarborough@duke.edu

Arseniy Yashkin

Research Scientist

+1 919 681 8270

arseniy.yashkin@duke.edu

Huseyin Yildirim

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1805

yildirh@econ.duke.edu

Lori Zagiba

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1852

lori.zagiba@duke.edu

Angela Zemonek

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 1848

angela.zemonek@duke.edu

Neil de Marchi

Professor Emeritus of Economics

(919) 660-1834

demarchi@econ.duke.edu