English Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Beckwith, Sarah

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor

ott@duke.edu

Assistant

Beaver, Catherine

Departmental Business Mgr II

cabeaver@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Psomiades, Kathy A.

Associate Professor

kathy.psomiades@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Mullins, Maryscot

Graduate Studies Assistant

mmullins@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Sussman, Charlotte S.

Associate Professor

charlotte.sussman@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dove, Michelle

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

md264@duke.edu

Business Contact

Beaver, Catherine

Departmental Business Mgr II

cabeaver@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Aers, David

James B. Duke Professor

aers@duke.edu

Allison, Monika

Financial Assistant

mallison@duke.edu

Applewhite, James W.

Professor Emeritus

james.applewhite@duke.edu

Armstrong, Nancy

Gilbert, Louis, and Edward Lehrman Professor

n.b.armstrong@duke.edu

Askounis, Christina

Lecturer Emerita

askounis@duke.edu

Baran, Dominika M

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

dominika.baran@duke.edu

Beaver, Catherine

Departmental Business Mgr II

cabeaver@duke.edu

Beckwith, Sarah

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor

ott@duke.edu

Bell, Neal C.

Professor of the Practice

neal.bell@duke.edu

Black, Taylor H

Assistant Professor

t.black@duke.edu

Brodhead, Richard

William Preston Few Professor

president@duke.edu

Butters, Ronald R.

Professor Emeritus

RonButters@mac.com

Carlson, Lori M.

Lecturer

l.carlson@duke.edu

Carter, J. Kameron

Associate Professor

j.carter@duke.edu

D'Alessandro, Mike F

Assistant Professor

michael.dalessandro@duke.edu

Davidson, Cathy N.

cathy.davidson@duke.edu

DeNeef, A Leigh

Professor Emeritus

leigh.deneef@duke.edu

Donahue, Joseph

Helen L. Bevington Professor of the Practice of Modern Poetry

joseph.donahue@duke.edu

Dove, Michelle

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

md264@duke.edu

Ferguson, Oliver W

Professor Emeritus

Ferraro, Thomas J.

Frances Hill Fox Professor

ferraro@duke.edu

Fox, C Faulkner

Lecturing Fellow

ffox@duke.edu

Gerber, Gerald E.

Associate Professor Emeritus

gerald.gerber@duke.edu

Giugni, Astrid A

Visiting Assistant Professor

astrid.giugni@duke.edu

Gopen, George D.

Professor of Practice Emeritus

ggopen@duke.edu

Guardabascio, Matia A

Event Coordinator and Assistant to the Business Manager

mag100@duke.edu

Hayles, N. Katherine

Professor

katherine.hayles@duke.edu

Holden, Quant¿

Web and Communications Specialist

quanta.holden@duke.edu

Holloway, Karla

James B. Duke Professor Emerita

karla.holloway@duke.edu

Jaji, Tsitsi E.

Associate Professor

tsitsi.jaji@duke.edu

Jones, Buford

Associate Professor Emeritus

bujones@duke.edu

Kennedy, Chris

Associate Director of Athletics

ckennedy@acpub.duke.edu

Khanna, Ranjana

Professor

rkhanna@duke.edu

Mackey, Nathaniel E

Reynolds Price Professor of Creative Writing

nathaniel.mackey@duke.edu

Malouf, Melissa

Professor of the Practice

mmalouf@duke.edu

McInnis, Jarvis C

Assistant Professor

jarvis.mcinnis@duke.edu

Mellown, Elgin W.

Assoicate Professor Emeritus

melelg@gmail.com

Mitchell, Robert E.

Marcello Lotti Professor

rmitch@duke.edu

Moi, Toril

Professor of English and Philosophy and Romance Studies and Theater Studies

toril@duke.edu

Moses, Michael V.

Associate Professor

mmoses@duke.edu

Mullins, Maryscot

Graduate Studies Assistant

mmullins@duke.edu

Neal, Mark A.

Professor

dr-yogi@att.net

Newman, Robert D

AdjunctProfessor

rdn8@duke.edu

Nguyen, Hung x

Postdoctoral Associate

hung.nguyen@duke.edu

Pfau, Thomas

Alice Mary Baldwin Professor

pfau@duke.edu

Pope, Deborah

Professor Emerita

dpope@duke.edu

Porter, Joseph A.

Professor

japorter@duke.edu

Psomiades, Kathy A.

Associate Professor

kathy.psomiades@duke.edu

Quilligan, Maureen

R. Florence Brinkley Professor Emerita

mquillig@duke.edu

Randall, Dale B.

Professor Emeritus

dbjandpr@duke.edu

Renegar, Carol G

crenegar@duke.edu

Ruderman, Judith

Visiting Professor

judith.ruderman@duke.edu

Shuman, Cathy

Lecturing Fellow

cathy.shuman@duke.edu

Smith, Barbara H.

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Comparative Literature and English

bhsmith@duke.edu

Stan, Corina M

Assistant Professor

corina.stan@duke.edu

Strandberg, Victor H.

Professor

vhs@duke.edu

Sussman, Charlotte S.

Associate Professor

charlotte.sussman@duke.edu

Tennenhouse, Leonard

Professor

l.tennenhouse@duke.edu

Tetel, Julie A.

Professor

jtetel@duke.edu

Torgovnick, Marianna

Professor

tor@duke.edu

Vadde, Aarthi

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

aarthi.vadde@duke.edu

Wald, Priscilla

R. Florence Brinkley Professor

pwald@duke.edu

Werlin, Julianne

Bacca Foundation Assistant Professor of Rhetoric, Culture and Society

jw476@duke.edu

Williams, George W.

Professor Emeritus

hpgw@duke.edu

Willis, Susan

Associate Professor Emeritus