Germanic Languages & Literature Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Pfau, Thomas

Professor

pfau@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Engelstein, Stefani

Associate Professor

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Walther, Ingeborg C.

Professor of the Practice

waltheri@duke.edu

Business Contact

Swanson, Margaret

Departmental Business Mgr I

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Alt, Arthur T.

Professor Emeritus

ata@duke.edu

Bessent, Helga W.

Assistant Professor Emeritus

hwb@duke.edu

Bonker, Dirk

Associate Professor

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Dolan, Kristen J.

Instructor

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Engelstein, Stefani

Associate Professor

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Freytag, Susanne C

Visiting Lecturer

susanne.freytag@duke.edu

Gellen, Kata

Assistant Professor

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Gilliam, Bryan

Professor

bgilliam@duke.edu

Henry, April L.

Visiting Assistant Professor

april.henry@duke.edu

Hillerbrand, Hans J.

Professor Emeritus

hjh@duke.edu

Johns, Christa T.

Lecturer Emeritus

ctjohns@duke.edu

Keul, Norman

Instructor

nkeul@duke.edu

Lieber, Laura S.

Associate Professor of Germanic Language and Literature

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Madden, Adelheid H.

Adjunct Professor

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Morton, Michael M.

Research Professor Emeritus

mmorton@duke.edu

Norberg, Jakob

Assistant Professor

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

Pfau, Thomas

Professor

pfau@duke.edu

Pickford, Henry

Associate Professor

henry.pickford@duke.edu

Rasmussen, Ann M.

Professor Emerita

annmarie.rasmussen@duke.edu

Rolleston, James L.

Professor Emeritus

Swanson, Margaret

Departmental Business Mgr I

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Thorpe-Turner, Dorothy

Staff Assistant DUSA/DGSA

d.turner@duke.edu

Walther, Ingeborg C.

Professor of the Practice

waltheri@duke.edu

Wohlfeil, Jochen

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin

jw171@duke.edu