Romance Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Richard Rosa

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

richard.rosa@duke.edu

Assistant to the Chair

Lillian Wright

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 3102

lillian.wright@duke.edu

Business Manager

Carla Sturdivant

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 3101

carla.sturdivant@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Elvira L Vilches

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

elvira.vilches@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Kim Travlos

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 3138

kt125@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Deborah Jenson

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3122

deborah.jenson@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Denise Wilborn

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 3114

denise@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Holly Ackerman

Librarian for Latin America & Iberia

+1 919 660 5845

holly.ackerman@duke.edu

Lamonte Aidoo

Assistant Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3152

lamonte.aidoo@duke.edu

Eileen M Anderson

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

eileen.anderson@duke.edu

Mattia Begali

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 660-2436

mattia.begali@duke.edu

David F. Bell

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

dfbell@duke.edu

Laura Bilanceri

Instructor

laura.bilanceri@duke.edu

Marie Natacha Boum-Biyong

Instructor of Romance Studies

natacha.biyong@duke.edu

Xiomara Campilongo

Lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

xiomara.campilongo@duke.edu

Marcos Canteli Vigon

Visiting Assistant Professor

marcos.cantelivigon@duke.edu

Laura Casa

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3116

laura.casa@duke.edu

Della Chambless

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 660-3100

della.chambless@duke.edu

Germain Choffart

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 660-3100

Joan Clifford

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Romance Studies

(919) 684-0774

jcliffor@duke.edu

Alma Coefman

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 660-3100

alma.coefmandecabeza@duke.edu

Hortensia Corcino De Lopez

Instructor of Romance Studies

hortensia.corcino.polanco@duke.edu

Roberto Maria Dainotto

Professor of Romance Studies

dainotto@duke.edu

Leslie H. Damasceno

Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Portuguese

(212) 513-8699

ljhd@duke.edu

Eliza Dandridge

Specialist, IT

+1 919 660 3052

eliza.dandridge@duke.edu

Laurent Dubois

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3112

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Martin Eisner

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3129

martin.eisner@duke.edu

Rebecca A Ewing

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 684-2715

rebecca.ewing@duke.edu

Luciana Fellin

Professor of the Practice of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3117

fellin@duke.edu

Ana Fernandez Gonzalez

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

+1 919 684 4224

ana.fernandez@duke.edu

Bethzaida Fernandez

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 684-4346

bfv67@duke.edu

Valeria Finucci

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3119

vfinucci@duke.edu

Laura Florand

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 660-8438

Gustavo PT Furtado

Assistant Professor in the Department of Romance Studies

gpf@duke.edu

Esther Leah Gabara

E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

egabara@duke.edu

Miguel Garci-Gomez, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus; Spanish & Latin American Studies

+1 919 660 3111

miguel.garci.gomez@duke.edu

Christelle M Gonthier

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 660-3100

christelle.gonthier@duke.edu

Margaret Rich Greer

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

(415) 913-7171

mgreer@duke.edu

Mar Gutierrez

Lecturing Fellow

+1 919 684 8628

mariadelmar.gutierrez@duke.edu

Sylvia Hakopian, Ph.D.

Instructor of Romance

sylvia.hakopian@duke.edu

Michael Hardt

Professor of Literature

(919) 684-3408

hardt@duke.edu

Ashley Hobson

Lecturing Fellow

+1 919 684 8628

ashley.hobson@duke.edu

Alexander Hull

Associate Professor Emeritus

Rosa Belen Ibanez

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

rosa.ibanez@duke.edu

Fredric Jameson

Professor in the Department of Romance Studies

+1 919 684 4155

jameson@duke.edu

Deborah Jenson

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3122

deborah.jenson@duke.edu

Alan Jose, Ph.D.

Director of Global Strategic Development Initative

+1 919 660 3100

alan.jose@duke.edu

Chloe Kaczmarek

Instructor of Romance Studies

chloe.kaczmarek@duke.edu

Alice Kaplan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies, Literature, and History; French Studies

+1 919 660 3108

aykaplan@duke.edu

Harry Karahalios

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

+1 919 660 3100

harry.karahalios@duke.edu

Paol Keineg

Research Professor Emeritus

pkeineg@duke.edu

Nehanda Loiseau

Duke Temporary Service

+1 919 681 3132

nehanda.loiseau@duke.edu

Michele Longino

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3121

michele.longino@duke.edu

Stefano Maranzana

Instructor of Romance Studies

stefano.maranzana@duke.edu

Patricia McPherson

Staff Assistant to the Language Program Director of Spanish

+1 919 684 8628

mcpherso@duke.edu

Lisa M. Merschel

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 684-8435

merschel@duke.edu

Walter Mignolo

William Hane Wannamaker Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 668-1949

walter1654@gmail.com

Claudia Milian

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3127

claudia.milian@duke.edu

Toril Moi

James B. Duke Professor of Literature

(919) 668-6407

toril@duke.edu

Letizia Montroni

Instructor of Romance

+1 919 660 3101

letizia.montroni@duke.edu

Joan Munné

Senior Lecturer of Romance Language

(919) 684-4077

joan.munne@duke.edu

Luis Jose Navarro Roncero

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 684-9666

luis.navarro.roncero@duke.edu

Linda Orr

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

lorr@duke.edu

Liliana Paredes

Professor of the Practice of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

Gale Pettiford

Staff Assistant

+1 919 660 3100

gale.pettiford@duke.edu

Jacques Pierre

Lecturing Fellow

+1 919 660 3132

jacques.pierre@duke.edu

Karine Provot

Lecturing Fellow* of Romance

(919) 660-3133

karine.provot@duke.edu

Deborah Reisinger

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Romance Studies

(919) 660-2420

deb.reisinger@duke.edu

Alejandra Rodriguez-Villar

Duke Temporary Service

+1 919 660 3114

alejandra.rodriguez@duke.edu

José María Rodríguez García

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3113

jose.rodriguez-garcia@duke.edu

Maria Romero

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

maria.romero@duke.edu

Richard Rosa

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

richard.rosa@duke.edu

Anne-Gaelle Saliot

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

anne-gaelle.saliot@duke.edu

Stephanie Sieburth

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3125

sieburth@duke.edu

Magda Silva

Senior Lecturer of Romance Languages

(919) 660-8436

mbcsilva@duke.edu

Melissa A. Simmermeyer

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 684-4877

simmerme@duke.edu

Stephen Smith

Professor of the Practice of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-6111

ssmith9@duke.edu

Helen Solterer

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3118

hsolt@duke.edu

Ken Stewart

Instructor of Romance Studies

(919) 683-1400

ken.stewart@duke.edu

Philip Stewart

Benjamin E. Powell Emeritus Professor of Romance Studies; French Studies

+1 919 660 3100

pstewart@duke.edu

Carla Sturdivant

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 3101

carla.sturdivant@duke.edu

Jean-J Thomas, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies, Literature and Linguistics;

+1 919 660 3113

djouer@duke.edu

Kim Travlos

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 3138

kt125@duke.edu

Clare J. Tufts

Professor of the Practice Emerita of Romance

(919) 660-3126

ctufts@duke.edu

Sandra Valnes Quammen

Senior Lecturer of Romance Studies

(919) 660-8436

sandra.valnes@duke.edu

Anita Vanerelli

Staff Assistant to the Language Program Directors of French, Italian, and Portuguese

+1 919 660 3193

anita.vanerelli@duke.edu

Antonio Viego

Associate Professor of Literature

(919) 668-2687

antonioviego@yahoo.com

Elvira L Vilches

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

elvira.vilches@duke.edu

William Villalba

Lecturing Fellow of Romance

(919) 684-4876

villalwj@duke.edu

Denise Wilborn

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 3114

denise@duke.edu

Lillian Wright

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 3102

lillian.wright@duke.edu

Saskia Ziolkowski

Visiting Assistant Professor

(919) 660-2436

saskia.ziolkowski@duke.edu

Claire deMontgolfier

Instructor of Romance Studies

claire.demontgolfier@duke.edu