Sociology Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Ruef, Martin

The Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Vaisey, Stephen

Professor

stephen.vaisey@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Ellington, Jessica

Staff Asst

jessicae@soc.duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Bach, Rebecca L.

Associate Professor of the Practice

rbach@soc.duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Marshall, Tosha

Assistant to the Chair

am350@duke.edu

Business Contact

Tate, Brenetta L

Departmental Business Mgr II

brenetta.tate@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Bach, Rebecca L.

Associate Professor of the Practice

rbach@soc.duke.edu

Bail, Christopher A.

Douglas and Ellen Lowey Assistant Professor

christopher.bail@duke.edu

Baker, Lee D.

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor

ldbaker@duke.edu

Bardo, Tony

Postdoctoral Associate

anthony.bardo@duke.edu

Benton, Richard A.

Postdoctoral Associate

richard.benton@duke.edu

Bonilla-Silva, Eduardo

Professor

eb48@duke.edu

Brown, Tyson

Assistant Professor

tyson.brown@duke.edu

Burton, Linda

James B. Duke Professor

linda.burton@duke.edu

Chaves, Mark

Professor

mac58@soc.duke.edu

Cook, Philip J.

Professor of Sociology and Economics

pcook@duke.edu

Crichlow, Michaeline A.

Professor

crichlow@duke.edu

Cummings, Jonathon

Associate Professor

jonathon.cummings@duke.edu

Duke, Valerie A

Staff Assistant

duke0007@soc.duke.edu

Dupre, Matthew E.

Professor

matthew.dupre@duke.edu

Ellington, Jessica

Staff Asst

jessicae@soc.duke.edu

Fisher, Jacob C

Postdoctoral Associate

jcf26@duke.edu

Frankenberg, Elizabeth

Professor

e.frankenberg@duke.edu

Gao, Bai

Professor

bagao@soc.duke.edu

George, Linda K.

Arts and Sciences Professor

linda.george@duke.edu

Gereffi, Gary

Professor

ggere@soc.duke.edu

Gibson-Davis, Christina M.

Associate Professor

cgibson@duke.edu

Gold, Deborah T.

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

deborah.gold@duke.edu

Grody, George

Part Time Instructor of Markets & Management Studies

george.grody@duke.edu

Hamil Luker, Jenifer

Assistant Professor of the Practice

jenifer.hamil@duke.edu

Harris, Angel L.

Professor

angel.harris@duke.edu

Hasso, Frances S.

Associate Professor

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Hawkins, Mary R

Research Analyst II

mrh59@duke.edu

Healy, Kieran

Associate Professor

kieran.healy@duke.edu

Hendi, Arun

Postdoctoral Associate

arun.hendi@duke.edu

Hovsepian, Mary

Visiting Associate Professor

mary.hovsepian@duke.edu

Jackson, Robert A

IT Manager

bobj@soc.duke.edu

Jones, Evan

Visiting Professor

ejones@dumac.duke.edu

Keister, Lisa A.

Gilhuly Family Professor

lkeister@soc.duke.edu

Land, Kenneth C.

John Franklin Crowell Professor Emeritus

kland@soc.duke.edu

Lewin, Arie Y.

Professor

ayl3@duke.edu

Lin, Nan

Oscar L. Tang Family Professor Emeritus

nanlin@duke.edu

Lynch, Scott M.

Professor

scott.lynch@duke.edu

Marshall, Tosha

Assistant to the Chair

am350@duke.edu

McPherson, J. Miller

Professor Emeritus

joseph.mcpherson@duke.edu

Merkx, Gilbert W.

Professor of the Practice

gilbert.merkx@duke.edu

Merli, M. Giovanna

Professor

giovanna.merli@duke.edu

Moody, James

Robert O. Keohane Professor

james.moody@duke.edu

Morgan, S. Philip

Norb F. Schaefer Professor Emeritus of International Studies

pmorgan@soc.duke.edu

O'Barr, William M.

Professor

william.obarr@duke.edu

O'Rand, Angela M.

Professor Emeritus

aorand@soc.duke.edu

Preiss, Jack J.

Professor Emeritus

new.directions@juno.com

Read, Jen'nan

Associate Professor

jennan.read@duke.edu

Reeves, Martha

Visiting Professor

mreeves@duke.edu

Riggan, Jesse

Analyst, IT

jriggan@soc.duke.edu

Rosette, Ashleigh S.

Associate Professor

ashleighshelby.rosette@duke.edu

Ruef, Martin

The Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Shanahan, Suzanne

Associate Research Professor

shanahan@soc.duke.edu

Simpson, Ida H.

Professor Emeritus

isimp@soc.duke.edu

Smith-Lovin, Lynn

Robert L. Wilson Professor

smithlov@duke.edu

Smith, Joel

Professor Emeritus

djssoc@soc.duke.edu

Spenner, Kenneth I.

Professor

kspen@soc.duke.edu

Streib, Jessi

Assistant Professor

jss82@duke.edu

Tate, Brenetta L

Departmental Business Mgr II

brenetta.tate@duke.edu

Tian, Li

Visiting Professor

li.tian1@duke.edu

Tiryakian, Edward A.

Professor Emeritus

durkhm@soc.duke.edu

Tiryakian, Edwyn A.

Visiting Associate Professor of Markets & Management Studies

ed.tiryakian@duke.edu

Tobin, William

Research Scholar

william.tobin@duke.edu

Troyer, Lisa L.

Vaisey, Stephen

Professor

stephen.vaisey@duke.edu

Veraldi, Samuel A

Visiting Associate Professor of Markets & Management Studies

sam.veraldi@duke.edu

Wilder, Julius M.

Lecturer

julius.wilder@duke.edu

Wilson, Bonnie

Program Coordinator, Markets and Management Studies

bwilson@soc.duke.edu

Wilson, John

Professor Emeritus

jwils@soc.duke.edu

Yang, Tiantian

Assistant Professor

ty41@duke.edu

Zeng, Yi

Professor in Medicine

zengyi@duke.edu

green, douglas p.

Visiting Associate Professor of Markets & Management Studies

douglas.green@duke.edu