Computer Science Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Pankaj K. Agarwal

RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Susan H. Rodger

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6595

rodger@cs.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Camelia Pierson Eaves, Mdiv

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6534

revp@cs.duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Kamesh Munagala

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6598

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Marilyn Butler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6538

marilyn.butler@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Pankaj K. Agarwal

RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

U Ali Razeen

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

ali.razeen@duke.edu

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Salman Azhar, Ph.D.

Visiting Associate Professor

+1 919 681 9167

salman.azhar@duke.edu

Ilya Baldin

Director, Network Research & Infrastructure, UNC-CH

ibaldin@renci.org

Alberto Bartesaghi

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6579

alberto.bartesaghi@duke.edu

Alan Biermann

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

(919) 660-6532

awb@cs.duke.edu

John A. Board

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5272

jab@ee.duke.edu

Marilyn Butler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6538

marilyn.butler@duke.edu

Robert Calderbank

Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science

(919) 613-7874

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Qiang Cao

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 6574

qiang.cao@duke.edu

David Carlson

Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

(757) 784-6919

david.carlson@duke.edu

Jeffrey S. Chase

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6559

chase@cs.duke.edu

Yan Chen

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

yan.chen@duke.edu

Vincent Conitzer

Kimberly J. Jenkins University Professor of New Technologies

(919) 660-6503

Mary "Missy" Cummings

Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5306

m.cummings@duke.edu

Bruce Randall Donald

James B. Duke Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6583

Robert C. Duvall

Senior Lecturer of Computer Science

(919) 660-6567

rcd@cs.duke.edu

Melanie Eberhart

Grants & Contracts Administrative Coordinator

+1 919 660 6531

melanie@cs.duke.edu

Carla Ellis, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

carla@cs.duke.edu

Sina Farsiu

Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering

(919) 684-6642

Jeffrey R.N. Forbes

Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6550

jforbes@duke.edu

Elaine Fulton

Oipm Exec Director

+1 919 684 8872

elaine.fulton@duke.edu

Rong Ge

Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science

rongge@cs.duke.edu

Raluca Mihaela Gordan

Assistant Professor in Biostatistics & Bioinformatics

(919) 684-9881

raluca.gordan@duke.edu

Alexander J. Hartemink

Professor in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6514

amink@cs.duke.edu

Suzy He

Postdoctoral Associate

xi.he@duke.edu

Andrew Douglas Hilton

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

660-5177

adhilton@ee.duke.edu

Celeste Hodges

Departmental Web Administrator

+1 919 660 6511

hodges@cs.duke.edu

JJ Jou

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 6517

j.j@duke.edu

Jungsang Kim

Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5258

jungsang@ee.duke.edu

George Dimitri Konidaris

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(413) 335-1968

gdk@cs.duke.edu

Regis Kopper

Assistant Research Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5570

regis.kopper@duke.edu

Alvin R. Lebeck

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6551

alvy@cs.duke.edu

Hai "Helen" Li

Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-1373

hai.li@duke.edu

Donald Loveland, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

dwl@cs.duke.edu

Richard A. Lucic

Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6524

lucic@cs.duke.edu

Ashwinkumar Venkatanaga Machanavajjhala

Associate Professor of Computer Science

ashwin@cs.duke.edu

Bruce Maggs

Pelham Wilder Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6523

bmm@cs.duke.edu

Peter N. Marinos

Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5252

pnm@ee.duke.edu

Sayan Mukherjee

Professor of Statistical Science

(919) 684-4608

sayan@stat.duke.edu

Kamesh Munagala

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6598

Kate O'Hanlon

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 6500

kate.o.hanlon@duke.edu

Miroslav Pajic

Nortel Networks Assistant Professor in the Pratt School of Engineering

mp275@duke.edu

Debmalya Panigrahi

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6545

Ronald Parr

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6537

Ajay Patel

Instructional Staff

+1 919 244 5777

ajay.patel@duke.edu

Camelia Pierson Eaves, Mdiv

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6534

revp@cs.duke.edu

Nikos Pitsianis

Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6542

nikos.p.pitsianis@duke.edu

Dietolf Ramm, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 6500

DeeRamm@gmail.com

Amanda Randles

Alfred Winborne and Victoria Stover Mordecai Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences

(919) 660-5425

amanda.randles@duke.edu

John H. Reif

A. Hollis Edens Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 407-1961

reif@cs.duke.edu

Susan H. Rodger

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6595

rodger@cs.duke.edu

Sudeepa Roy

Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6596

sudeepa@cs.duke.edu

Cynthia D. Rudin

Associate Professor of Computer Science

Guillermo Sapiro

James B. Duke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

guillermo.sapiro@duke.edu

Scott C. Schmidler

Associate Professor of Statistical Science

(919) 684-8064

scott.schmidler@duke.edu

William Shamblin

Senior Manager, IT

+1 919 660 6582

wjs@cs.duke.edu

Tianqi Song

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

tianqi.song@duke.edu

Pamela Spencer

Events, House and Program Assistant

+1 919 660 6500

pspencer@cs.duke.edu

Charles Franklin Starmer

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

(919) 684-0753

frank.starmer@duke.edu

Rebecca Carter Steorts

Assistant Professor of Statistical Science

Kristin V Stephens-Martinez

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

kristin.stephensmartinez@duke.edu

Christopher Streiffer

Teaching Assistant

christopher.streiffer@duke.edu

Xiaobai Sun

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6500

xiaobai.sun@duke.edu

Vahid Tarokh

Rhodes Family Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

vahid.tarokh@duke.edu

Carlo Tomasi

Iris Einheuser Professor

(919) 660-6539

tomasi@cs.duke.edu

Kishor S. Trivedi

Hudson Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, in the Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. School of Engineering

(919) 660-5269

kst@ee.duke.edu

Robert Wagner, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 6536

raw@cs.duke.edu

Cheryl Wallace

Business Office and Human Resources Manager

+1 919 660 6517

wallace@cs.duke.edu

Jeffrey Wright

Computing Facilities Spec

+1 919 660 6575

jwright@cs.duke.edu

Jun Yang

Professor in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6587

Xiaowei Yang

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6536

xiaowei.yang@duke.edu

Seyedmajid Zahedi

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

seyedmajid.zahedi@duke.edu

Michail Zavlanos

Mary Milus Yoh and Harold L. Yoh, Jr. Associate Professor

(919) 660-5528

michael.zavlanos@duke.edu