Duke Islamic Studies Center Directory

Department Officers

Faculty & Staff

Ahmad, Attiya

Ph.D, Cultural Anthropology, 2009

attiya.ahmad@duke.edu

Antepli, Abdullah

Chief Representative of Muslim Affairs

a.antepli@duke.edu

Ashton, Robert H.

L. Palmer Fox Professor of Business Administration

robert.ashton@duke.edu

Bail, Christopher A.

Douglas and Ellen Lowey Associate Professor

christopher.bail@duke.edu

Chergui, Azeddine

Arabic Instructor

cherg001@mc.duke.edu

DeGeorges, Thomas

Research Project Coordinator

thomas.degeorges@duke.edu

Donowitz, Nicholas

MEM (Nicholas)/MBA (Fuqua), 2010

nick.donowitz@gmail.com

Ewald, Janet J.

Associate Professor

jewald@duke.edu

Ginsburg, Shai

Associate Professor

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Göknar, Erdag

Associate Professor

goknar@duke.edu

Hall, Bruce S.

Associate Professor of History

bh71@duke.edu

Hassan, Mona F

Assistant Professor

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hasso, Frances S.

Associate Professor

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Ho, Engseng

Professor

engseng.ho@duke.edu

Hollowell, Adam E

adam.hollowell@duke.edu

Houssami, Maha

Lecturer of Arabic Language

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Hovsepian, Mary

Lecturing Fellow*

mary.hovsepian@duke.edu

Huckerby, Jayne C

Clinical Professor of Law

huckerby@law.duke.edu

Jentleson, Bruce W.

Professor

bwj7@duke.edu

Kadivar, Mohsen

Research Professor

mohsen.kadivar@duke.edu

Khan, Sohaib

MA, Religion (Islamic Studies)

sohaib.khan@duke.edu

Kirshner, Alexander S.

Assistant Professor

alexander.kirshner@duke.edu

Koonz, Claudia

Peabody Family Professor Emeritus

ckoonz@duke.edu

Kuniholm, Bruce R.

University Distinguished Service Professor of Public Policy

bruce.kuniholm@duke.edu

Kuran, Timur

The Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies

t.kuran@duke.edu

Lawrence, Bruce B

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Humanities Professor Emeritus of Religion

bbl@duke.edu

Lo, Mbaye

Associate Professor of the Practice

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Maghraoui, Abdeslam E.

Associate Professor of the Practice

abdeslam.maghraoui@duke.edu

Malesky, Edmund J

Professor

eddy.malesky@duke.edu

Maxwell, Julie

Program Coordinator

julie.maxwell@duke.edu

McLarney, Ellen

Associate Professor

ellenmc@duke.edu

Merkx, Gilbert W.

Professor of the Practice

gilbert.merkx@duke.edu

Miller, Ylana

Visiting Scholar

ymiller@duke.edu

Mottahedeh, Negar

Associate Professor

negar@duke.edu

Naeymi Rad, Fattaneh

Lecturing Fellow*

fattaneh.naeymi@duke.edu

Need, David

Lecturing Fellow* of Religion

dneed@duke.edu

Ozden, Senay

PhD, AAS / Asst. Prof, Koc University, Turkey (2012)

senay.ozden@duke.edu

Pratson, Lincoln F.

Bass Fellow

lincoln.pratson@duke.edu

Read, Jen'nan

Associate Professor

jennan.read@duke.edu

Riedel, Meredith L.

Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity

mriedel@div.duke.edu

Schanzer, David H.

Associate Professor of the Practice

schanzer@duke.edu

Schlosser, Joel A

2009

joel.schlosser@duke.edu

Shakhly, Abdul Sattar

Instructor*

sattar.jawad@duke.edu

Smith, Stephen

Professor of the Practice

ssmith9@duke.edu

Stein, Rebecca L.

Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor

rlstein@duke.edu

Swanick, Sean

Assoicate Librarian

sean.swanick@duke.edu

Tuna, Mustafa O.

Associate Professor

mustafa.tuna@duke.edu

Uyurkulak, Serhat

serhat.uyurkulak@duke.edu

Van Rompay, Lucas

Professor Emeritus

rompay@duke.edu

Wall, Lauren A.

MA Candidate, Religion

law49@duke.edu

Weinthal, Erika S.

Lee Hill Snowdon Professor of Environmental Policy

erika.weinthal@duke.edu

cooke, miriam

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

mcw@duke.edu