History Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Martin, John J.

Professor

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Humphreys, Margaret E.

Josiah Charles Trent Professor

meh@duke.edu

Assistant

Ivey, Carla

Assistant to the Chair

carla.ivey@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Stern, Philip J.

Sally Dalton Robinson Associate Professor

philip.stern@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Pridgen, Robin

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

rmennis@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Hall, Bruce S.

Associate Professor

bh71@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Holmes, Ruebe A.

Staff Assistant, Undergraduate Studies

ruebe.holmes@duke.edu

Business Contact

Hoglen, Cynthia M

Business Manager

cmhoglen@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Baker, Jeffrey P.

Research Professor

jeffrey.baker@duke.edu

Balleisen, Edward J.

Professor

eballeis@duke.edu

Barnes, Nicole E.

Assistant Professor

nicole.barnes@duke.edu

Barr, Juliana

Associate Professor

juliana.barr@duke.edu

Boatwright, Mary T.

Professor

tboat@duke.edu

Bonker, Dirk

Associate Professor

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Chafe, William H.

Alice Mary Baldwin Professor Emeritus

william.chafe@duke.edu

Chappel, James G.

Assistant Professor

james.chappel@duke.edu

Davis, Calvin D.

Professor Emeritus

calvin.davis@duke.edu

DeVido, Elise A.

Visiting Assistant Professor

ead32@duke.edu

Deutsch, Sarah J.

Professor

sarah.deutsch@duke.edu

DuBois, Laurent

Professor

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Duara, Prasenjit

Oscar L. Tang Family Professor of East Asian Studies

prasenjit.duara@duke.edu

Dubois, Katharine

Visiting Assistant Professor

katharine.dubois@duke.edu

Duffy, Eve

Adjunct Associate Professor

eve.duffy@duke.edu

Edwards, Laura F.

Peabody Family Professor

ledwards@duke.edu

English, Peter C.

Professor Emeritus

penglish@duke.edu

Ewald, Janet J.

Associate Professor

jewald@duke.edu

Freeman, John

Visiting Assistant Professor

rich.freeman@duke.edu

French, John D.

Professor

jdfrench@duke.edu

Gaspar, Barry

Professor

dgaspar@duke.edu

Glymph, Thavolia

Professor

thavolia@duke.edu

Hacohen, Malachi H.

Associate Professor of History and Slavic and Eurasian Studies

mhacohen@duke.edu

Hall, Bruce S.

Associate Professor

bh71@duke.edu

Hardy, Jamie

Staff Assistant, Accounting & Payroll

jamie.hardy@duke.edu

Hassan, Mona F

Assistant Professor

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hassell, Stephanie

Postdoctoral Associate

stephanie.hassell@duke.edu

Herrup, Cynthia B.

Professor Emeritus

cherrup@duke.edu

Hill, Joshua

Analyst, IT

joshua.hill@duke.edu

Hillerbrand, Hans J.

Adjunct Professor

hjh@duke.edu

Ho, Engseng

Professor

engseng.ho@duke.edu

Hogan, Wesley C

Research Professor

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Hoglen, Cynthia M

Business Manager

cmhoglen@duke.edu

Holmes, Ruebe A.

Staff Assistant, Undergraduate Studies

ruebe.holmes@duke.edu

Humphreys, Margaret E.

Josiah Charles Trent Professor

meh@duke.edu

Huston, Reeve

Associate Professor

reeve.huston@duke.edu

Ivey, Carla

Assistant to the Chair

carla.ivey@duke.edu

Jakubs, Deborah

Adjunct Associate Professor

deborah.jakubs@duke.edu

Kaiwar, Vasant

Visiting Assistant Professor

vkaiwar@duke.edu

Kircher, Timothy A.

Scholar in Residence

tkircher@guilford.edu

Koonz, Claudia

Peabody Family Professor Emeritus

ckoonz@duke.edu

Korstad, Robert

Professor

rkorstad@duke.edu

Krylova, Anna

Associate Professor

anna.krylova@duke.edu

Kuniholm, Bruce R.

Professor

bruce.kuniholm@duke.edu

Lenoir, Timothy

Professor

lenoir@duke.edu

Lentz-Smith, Adriane D.

Associate Professor

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

MacLean, Nancy

William H. Chafe Professor

nancy.maclean@duke.edu

Malegam, Jehangir Y

Associate Professor

jehangir.malegam@duke.edu

Martin, John J.

Professor

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Mauskopf, Seymour

Professor Emeritus

shmaus@duke.edu

Mazumdar, Sucheta

Associate Professor

skmmaz@duke.edu

Mestyan, Adam

Assistant Professor

adam.mestyan@duke.edu

Miller, Martin A.

Professor

mmiller@duke.edu

Miller, Ylana

Visiting Scholar

ymiller@duke.edu

Morrow, Mary

Adjunct Assistant Professor

oscar@duke.edu

Nathans, Sydney

Professor Emeritus

snathans@duke.edu

Neuschel, Kristen

Associate Professor

kneusche@duke.edu

Olcott, Jocelyn H.

Associate Professor

olcott@duke.edu

Partner, Simon

Professor

spartner@duke.edu

Peck, Gunther W.

Associate Professor

peckgw@duke.edu

Petroski, Henry

Professor

petroski@duke.edu

Pridgen, Robin

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

rmennis@duke.edu

Ramaswamy, Sumathi

Professor

sr76@duke.edu

Reddy, William M.

William T. Laprade Professor

wmr@duke.edu

Roberts, James S.

Adjunct Professor

james.roberts@duke.edu

Robisheaux, Thomas

Fred W. Shaffer Professor

trobish@duke.edu

Roland, Alex

Professor Emeritus

alex.roland@duke.edu

Scott, Anne F.

William K. Boyd Professor Emeritus

annefiror@gmail.com

Shapiro, Karin

Associate Professor of the Practice

kshapiro@duke.edu

Shatzmiller, Joseph

Smart Family Professor Emeritus in Judaic Studies

joseph.shatzmiller@duke.edu

Sigal, Peter

Professor

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Silverblatt, Irene

Professor

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Sosin, Joshua D.

Associate Professor

joshua.sosin@duke.edu

Starn, Orin

Professor

ostarn@duke.edu

Stern, Philip J.

Sally Dalton Robinson Associate Professor

philip.stern@duke.edu

Thompson, John H.

Professor Emeritus

jthompso@duke.edu

Thorne, Susan

Associate Professor

sthorne@duke.edu

Troost, Kristina

Adjunct Assistant Professor

kktroost@duke.edu

Tuna, Mustafa O.

Assistant Professor

mustafa.tuna@duke.edu

Wilson, Gerald

Adjunct Professor

gerald.wilson@duke.edu

Witt, Ronald G.

William B. Hamilton Professor Emeritus

rwitt@duke.edu

Wood, Peter H.

Professor Emeritus

pwood@duke.edu

Young, Charles R.

Professor Emeritus

charles.young@duke.edu

Zanalda, Giovanni

Associate Research Professor

giovanni.zanalda@duke.edu