Jewish Studies Program Certificate Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Serena Bazemore

Program Director

+1 919 660 3504

serena.elliott@duke.edu

Marc Zvi Brettler

Bernice and Morton Lerner Professor in Judaic Studies

marc.brettler@duke.edu

Stephen B. Chapman

Associate Professor of Old Testament

(919) 660-3408

schapman@div.duke.edu

Roberto Maria Dainotto

Professor of Romance Studies

dainotto@duke.edu

Ellen F. Davis

Amos Ragan Kearns Professor of Bible and Practical Theology in the Divinity School

(919) 660-3561

edavis@div.duke.edu

Thomas J. Ferraro

Bass Fellow

(919) 684-3718

ferraro@duke.edu

Dr Joshua Friedman, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 3504

joshua.b.friedman@duke.edu

Kata Gellen

Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3168

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Bryan Gilliam

Professor of Music

(919) 660-3321

bgilliam@duke.edu

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4592

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Martin P. Golding

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy

(919) 660-3062

golding@law.duke.edu

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Beth Holmgren

Professor with Tenure

(919) 660-3140

beth.holmgren@duke.edu

Claudia Koonz

Peabody Family Professor Emeritus of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-3941

ckoonz@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Christy Lohr

Associate Dean for Religious Life

+1 919 684 2909

christy.lohr@duke.edu

Joel Marcus

Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3562

jmarcus@div.duke.edu

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3514

carol@duke.edu

Eric M. Meyers

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

(919) 660-3517

emc@duke.edu

Ylana Miller

Visiting Assoc Professor

+1 919 668 1611

ymiller@duke.edu

Melvin K. H. Peters

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3508

melopete@duke.edu

Shelli Plesser

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-6104

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Prof Judith Ruderman, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor

judith.ruderman@duke.edu

Steven Sager

Visiting Lecturer in Academic Programs

(919) 660-3432

steve.sager@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0319

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Helen Solterer

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3118

hsolt@duke.edu

Rebecca L. Stein

Bass Fellow

(919) 684-4663

rlstein@duke.edu

Avner Vengosh

Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences

(919) 681-8050

vengosh@duke.edu

Ross Ross Wagner

Associate Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3480

ross.wagner@duke.edu

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu

Annabel J. Wharton

William B. Hamilton Professor of Art and Art History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-2495

wharton@duke.edu

Saskia Ziolkowski

Visiting Assistant Professor

(919) 660-2436

saskia.ziolkowski@duke.edu