Mathematics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Layton, Harold

Professor

221 Physics

(919) 660-2809

layton@math.duke.edu

Assistant

Farrell, Bonnie E

Grants & Contracts Specialist

117C Physics

(919) 660-2804

bef@math.duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Layton, Harold

Professor

221 Physics

(919) 660-2809

layton@math.duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Schoen, Chad

Professor

191 Physics

(919) 660-2813

schoen@math.duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Addington, Nicolas

Assistant Research Professor

246 Physics

919-660-2873

adding@math.duke.edu

Agarwal, Pankaj K

Earl D. McLean, Jr., Professor

D315 LSRC

919-660-6548, 919-660-6500

Allard, William K

Professor Emeritus

029A Physics

(919) 660-2861

wka@math.duke.edu

Aristotelous, Andreas

Visiting Assistant Professor

029C Physics Building

(919) 660-2824

aaristot@math.duke.edu

Aspinwall, Paul S

Professor

244 Math

(919) 660-2874

psa@cgtp.duke.edu

Bar-On, Rann

013 Physics

(919) 660-2872

rann@math.duke.edu

Barbano, Paolo Emilio

Visiting Assistant Professor

(919) 660-2800

pbarbano@math.duke.edu

Beale, J. Thomas

Professor

217 Physics

(919) 660-2839

beale@math.duke.edu

Bendich, Paul L.

Visiting Assistant Professor

210 Physics

(919)-660-2811

bendich@math.duke.edu

Best, Janet

Visiting Associate Professor

(919) 660-2800

jbest@math.duke.edu

Bilinsky, Lydia M.

Visiting Assistant Professor

233 Physics

919-660-2802

bilinsky@math.duke.edu

Blake, Lewis D

Associate Professor of the Practice

035 Physics

(919) 660-2857

blake@math.duke.edu

Bobrowski, Omer

Assistant Research Professor

222 Physics

660-2878

omer@math.duke.edu

Bookman, Jack

Professor Of The Practice Emeritus

033 Physics

(919) 660-2831

bookman@math.duke.edu

Braley, Emily

Assistant Professor of the Practice

125 Physics

(919) 660-2869

braley@math.duke.edu

Bray, Clark B

Associate Professor of the Practice

123 Physics

(919) 660-2800, (919) 660-2822

cbray@math.duke.edu

Bray, Hubert L.

Professor

189 Physics

(919) 757-8428

bray@math.duke.edu

Brown, Monique

Accounting Specialist

117 Physics

919-660-2807

mybrown@math.duke.edu

Bryant, Robert L

Professor

103 Physics

(919) 660-2800, (919) 660-2817

bryant@math.duke.edu

Cahill, Jason

Visiting Assistant Professor

29B Physics

919-660-2871

jcahill@math.duke.edu

Calderbank, Robert

Phillip Griffiths Professor

102 Allen Building

(919) 668-2728

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Cornwell, Christopher R

Visiting Assistant Professor

031 Physics Building

(919) 660-2859

cornwell@math.duke.edu

Daubechies, Ingrid

111 Physics

919-660-2805

ingrid@math.duke.edu

Di Cerbo, Luca F.

Simons Postdoctoral Fellow

220 Physics Building

(919) 660-2850

luca@math.duke.edu

Dong, Xiaoying

Adjunct Assistant Professor

104 Physics

919-660-2800

xiaoying.dong@duke.edu

Durrett, Rick

105 Physics

919-660-6970

rtd@math.duke.edu

Farrell, Bonnie E

Grants & Contracts Specialist

117C Physics

(919) 660-2804

bef@math.duke.edu

Fry, Brendan

Visiting Assistant Professor

207 Physics

919-660-2861

bfry@math.duke.edu

Gasparovic, Ellen

Assistant Research Professor

218 Physics

919-660-2848

ellen@math.duke.edu

Gerber, Samuel

Visiting Assistant Professor

034 Physics

(919) 660-2823

sgerber@math.duke.edu

Getz, Jayce R.

Assistant Professor

225 Physics

(919) 660-6973

jgetz@math.duke.edu

Hahn, Heekyoung

Visiting Assistant Professor

015 Physics

(919) 660-2871

hahn@math.duke.edu

Hain, Richard M

Professor

107 Physics

(919) 660-2819, (919) 660-2800

hain@math.duke.edu

Harer, John

Professor

207 Physics

(919) 660-2845

john.harer@duke.edu

Herschlag, Gregory

Visiting Assistant Professor

207 Physics

919-660-2861

gjh@math.duke.edu

Herzog, David P

Visiting Assistant Professor

029C Physics Building

(919) 660-2824

dherzog@math.duke.edu

Hirtz, Jenny

DGS Assistant

117 Physics

(919) 660-2801

jenny.hirtz@duke.edu

Hodel, Richard E

Associate Professor Emeritus

019 Physics

(919) 660-2831

hodel@math.duke.edu

Kitchen, Joseph

Associate Professor Emeritus

104 Physics

(919) 660-2817

kitchen@math.duke.edu

Kittrell, Tyffany C.

Payroll Representative and DUS Assistant

117B Physics

(919) 660-2835

kittrell@math.duke.edu

Kraines, David

Associate Professor

211 Physics

(919) 660-2849

dkrain@math.duke.edu

Lawlor, David

Visiting Assistant Professor

034 Physics

(919) 660-2823

djl@math.duke.edu

Layton, Anita T

Robert R. and Katherine B. Penn Associate Professor

213 Physics

(919) 660-6971

alayton@math.duke.edu

Layton, Harold

Professor

221 Physics

(919) 660-2809

layton@math.duke.edu

Liao, Wenjing

Visiting Assistant Professor

029C Physics

(919) 660-2824

wjliao@math.duke.edu

Lipnowski, Michael

106 Physics

919-660-2816

malipnow@math.duke.edu

Liu, Jian-Guo

285 Physics

919-660-2546

jian-guo.liu@duke.edu

Lu, Jianfeng

Assistant Professor

242 Physics

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Maggioni, Mauro

293 Physics

(919) 660-2825

mauro.maggioni@duke.edu

Mattingly, Jonathan C.

297 Physics

(919) 660-6978

jonm@math.duke.edu

McGoff, Kevin A

Visiting Assistant Professor

108 Physics Building

(919) 660-2844

mcgoff@math.duke.edu

Mela, Xavier S

202 Physics Building Science Dr

(919) 660-2852

xmela@math.duke.edu

Miller, Ezra

Professor

209 Physics

(919) 660-2846

ezra@math.duke.edu

Minsker, Stanislav

Visiting Assistant Professor

034 Physics

(919) 660-2823

sminsker@math.duke.edu

Moore, Lawrence C

Associate Professor Emeritus

104 Physics

(919) 660-2817

lang@math.duke.edu

Moss, Robert

Visiting Assistant Professor

114 Physics Bldg

(919) 660-6979

robm@math.duke.edu

Mukherjee, Sayan

112 Old Chemistry

(919) 684-4608

sayan@stat.duke.edu

Ng, Lenhard L

Associate Professor

231 Physics

(919) 660-6972

ng@math.duke.edu

Nolen, James

243 Physics

919-660-2862

nolen@math.duke.edu

Pardon, William L

Professor

219 Physics

(919) 660-2838

wlp@math.duke.edu

Patel, Mainak

Visiting Assistant Professor

Mathematics 114

(919) 660-6979

mainak@math.duke.edu

Peper, Michael T

Assist Librarian

125 Physics

(919) 660-5926

michael.peper@duke.edu

Perea, Jose A.

Visiting Assistant Professor

214 Physics Building

(919) 660-2837

joperea@math.duke.edu

Petters, Arlie O

Benjamin Powell Professor

(919) 660-2812

arlie.petters@duke.edu

Pierce, Lillian

Assistant Professor

215 Physics

919-660-2879

pierce@math.duke.edu

Plesser, M. Ronen

245 Physics

(919) 660-9668

plesser@math.duke.edu

Reed, Michael C

237 Physics

(919) 660-2810, (919) 660-2808

reed@math.duke.edu

Rose, Donald

Professor

D112A Lev Sci Res Ctr

djr@cs.duke.edu

Ryser, Marc D

Visiting Assistant Professor

212 Physics

(919) 660-2847

ryser@math.duke.edu

Saper, Leslie D.

110 Physics

(919) 660-2843

saper@math.duke.edu

Schaeffer, David G

James B. Duke Professor

105 Physics

(919) 660-2814

dgs@math.duke.edu

Schoen, Chad

Professor

191 Physics

(919) 660-2813

schoen@math.duke.edu

Schott, Sarah

Assistant Professor of the Practice and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

274F Physics

(919) 660-2800

schott@math.duke.edu

Schretter, Andrew R

Analyst, IT

034 Physics

660-2866

schrett@math.duke.edu

Sladeczek, Jurgen

Sr. Research Scientist

hjs@math.duke.edu

Smith, David A

Associate Professor Emeritus

104 Physics

das@math.duke.edu

Stern, Mark A

Professor

116 Physics

(919) 660-2840

stern@math.duke.edu

Thompson, Andrew

Visiting Assistant Professor

304 Gross Hall

thompson@math.duke.edu

Totz, Nathan

216 Physics Building

(919) 660-2879

ntotz@math.duke.edu

Trangenstein, John

Professor

029C Physics

(919) 660-2824

johnt@math.duke.edu

Venakides, Stephanos

Professor

103 Physics

(919) 660-2815

ven@math.duke.edu

Wahl, Jonathan M.

304A Phillips Hall, UNC

jmwahl@email.unc.edu

Wang, Yi (Grace)

Visiting Assistant Professor

233 Physics

(919) 660-2802

yiwang@math.duke.edu

Warner, Seth L

Professor Emeritus

104 Physics

(919) 660-2817

slw@math.duke.edu

Weisfeld, Morris

Professor Emeritus

104 Physics

(919) 660-2817

mw@math.duke.edu

Werner, Marcus C

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Kavli IPMU, University of Tokyo

werner@math.duke.edu

Williamson, Wayne

Business Manager

117D Physics

919-660-2806

wayne.williamson@duke.edu

Witelski, Thomas P.

295 Physics

00-1-(919) 660-2841

witelski@math.duke.edu

Yu, Yunliang

IT Senior Manager

029D Physics

(919) 660-2803

yu@math.duke.edu

Zhou, Xin

Professor

109 Physics

(919) 660-2842, +9 (196) 602-8000

zhou@math.duke.edu