Statistical Science Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Clyde, Merlise

Professor

clyde@duke.edu

Assistant

Scott, Nicole

Departmental Business Manager

nicole.scott@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

West, Mike

Arts and Sciences Professor of Statistics and Decision Sciences

mike.west@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Cetinkaya-Rundel, Mine

Associate Professor of the Practice

mine@stat.duke.edu

Business Contact

Scott, Nicole

Departmental Business Manager

nicole.scott@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Abrahamsen, Tavis M

Visiting Assistant Professor

tavis.abrahamsen@duke.edu

Aguilar, Omar

Chief Investment Office at Charles Schwab Investment Management in San Francisco, California

omar@alumni.duke.edu

Arlotto, Alessandro

Associate Professor of Statistical Science and Mathematics

alessandro.arlotto@duke.edu

Ashih, Heidi

Health Officer, Cambridge Health Alliance and Clinical Fellow in Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School, 2000-2001

heidi@alum.mit.edu

Banks, David L.

Professor of the Practice

banks@stat.duke.edu

Barber, Jarrett

Assistant Professor, Montana State University, 2002-2004

Barrientos, Felipe

Postdoctoral Associate

afb26@stat.duke.edu

Bayarri, Susie

Professor of Statistics, University of Valencia

susie@stat.duke.edu

Beckage, Brian

MS Statistical Science

Belloni, Alexandre

Professor

alexandre.belloni@duke.edu

Berger, James O.

Arts and Sciences Professor of Statistics

berger@stat.duke.edu

Betancourt, Brenda

Postdoctoral Associate

bb222@duke.edu

Burdick, Donald S

Associate Professor Emeritus of Statistical Science

dsb@stat.duke.edu

Burnett, Michael

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

michael.burnett@duke.edu

Calder, Kate

Associate Professor, Department of Statistics, Ohio State University

calder@stat.osu.edu

Cao, Guoliang

Director of Statistics, Takeda Global R&D Center, IL

ccao@tgrd.com

Carvalho, Carlos M

Assistant Professor of Econometrics and Statistics, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago, 2006-2007

carlos.carvalho@gsb.uchicago.edu

Cetinkaya-Rundel, Mine

Associate Professor of the Practice

mine@stat.duke.edu

Chan, Chi Wei C.

Associate Research Professor

cliburn.chan@duke.edu

Chang, Hong

MS, Statistical Science

Chattopadhyay, Somesh

Assistant Professor, Department of Statistics, Florida State University, 2000-2001

somesh@stat.fsu.edu

Chen, Sining

Member of Technical Staff, Dept. Statistics and Learning, Bell Labs

sining.chen@alcatel-lucent.com

Chen, Yang

Quantitative Analyst/Statistician, Risk Management, AIG International, NY, NY

yang.chen@aig.com

Chu, Jen-Hwa

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Channing Laboratory, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School

jenhwa@stat.duke.edu

Clark, Anne

Grants Staff Assistant

anne.clark@duke.edu

Clark, James S.

Professor of Statistical Science and Biology

jimclark@duke.edu

Clarke, Jennifer L

Assistant Research Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, University of Miami, 2001-2004

jennifer.clarke@duke.edu

Clyde, Merlise

Professor

clyde@duke.edu

Damien, Paul

B.M. (Mack) Rankin, Jr., Professor of Business Administration, 1995-1997

paul.damien@mccombs.utexas.edu

De Iorio, Maria

Lecturer in Statistics, Imperial College, London, England

m.deiorio@imperial.ac.uk

Deyoreo, Maria N

Postdoctoral Associate

maria.deyoreo@stat.duke.edu

Dobra, Adrian

Assistant Professor of Statistics and Biobehavioral Nursing & Health Systems, University of Washington, 2002-2005

adobra@stat.washington.edu

Duan, J. A.

Assistant Professor, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin

jason@stat.duke.edu

Dunson, David B.

Arts and Sciences Professor

dunson@duke.edu

Enstrom, Betsy J.

MS, Statistical Science

Ferreira, Marco A.R.

Associate Professor of Statistics, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO

ferreiram@missouri.edu

Fink, Joshua J

Teaching Assistant

joshua.fink@duke.edu

Gelfand, Alan E.

James B. Duke Professor of Statistics and Decision Sciences

alan@stat.duke.edu

Gopalan, Ram

President and Consultant, Data Infoworks Inc., Sunnyvale, CA

info@datainfoworks.com

Gudbjartsson, Daniel

Statistician, deCODE Genetics, Iceland

dfg@decode.is

Gunn, Laura

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Biostatistics, Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health, Georgia Southern University

lgunn@georgiasouthern.edu

Hall, Larry

Senior Analyst, IT

larry.hall@duke.edu

Han, Shaobo

Postdoctoral Associate

shaobo.han@duke.edu

Hans, Chris

Associate Professor, Ohio State University

hans@stat.osu.edu

Hauser, Elizabeth R.

Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

elizabeth.hauser@duke.edu

Heller, Katherine A

Assistant Professor

katherine.heller@duke.edu

Herring, Amy H

Scholar In Residence

herring@duke.edu

Herschkorn, Stephen

sjherschko@netscape.net

Hoff, Peter D.

Professor

peter.hoff@duke.edu

Holloman, Chris

Director, Statistical Consulting Service, The Ohio State University

holloman@stat.osu.edu

House, Leanna L

Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech, Dept of Statistics

house@stat.duke.edu

Huerta, Gabriel

Associate Professor and Regents Lecturer

ghuerta@stat.unm.edu

Inoue, Lurdes Y.

Associate Professor, Department of Biostatistics, University of Washington

%20linoue@u.washington.edu

Iversen, Edwin S.

Associate Research Professor

iversen@duke.edu

Jaeger, Adam P

Postdoctoral Associate

apjaeger@stat.duke.edu

Ji, Junyi

MS Statistical Science

junyi@cs.duke.edu

Jia, Botao

MS Statistical Science

bj9@duke.edu

Jiang, Yu

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

yu.jiang@duke.edu

Jieru, Zheng

MS Statistical Science

jz7@duke.edu

Johnson, Patricia A

Administrative Assistant Emeritus

Jones, David E.

Postdoctoral Associate

dej17@duke.edu

Jones, Mary Beatrix

Senior Lecturer, Massey University, NZ, 2002-2004

m.b.jones@massey.ac.nz

Kern, John

Associate Professor, Duquesne University

kern@mathcs.duq.edu

Kohnen, Christine N

cnkohnen@gmail.com

Kottas, Athenasios

Assistant Professor of Statistics and Applied Mathematics, University of California at Santa Cruz, 2000-2002

thanos@ams.ucsc.edu

Krause, Jeff

Shodor Educational Foundations, Durham, NC, 2001-2003

jeff.krause@duke.edu

Krishnaswamy, Jagdish

MS Statistics

jagdish.krishnaswamy@gmail.com

Laading, Jacob

Head of Risk Management, DnB NOR Markets, Oslo, Norway

laadingj@ebrd.com

Lamon, Conrad

MS Statistical Science

conrad@duke.edu

Le, Anh Q.

anh.le@duke.edu

Lee, Herbie

Professor of Statistics and Applied Mathematics, University of California at Santa Cruz, 1999-2002

herbie@ams.ucsc.edu

Lee, Jaeyong

Assistant Professor, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea, 1999-2000

jylc@snu.ac.kr

Leman, Scotland C

Assistant Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

scl13@stat.duke.edu

Li, Chengchang

Statistician, Ameritech, Hoffman Estates, IL

chengchang.c.li@x400gw.ameritech.com

Li, Fan

Associate Professor

fli@stat.duke.edu

Li, Frank

President, Spectrum-Prime Solutions, L.P.

fli@spectrumprime.com

Li, Hong

MS, Statistical Science

Li, Meng

Visiting Assistant Professor

meng.li@stat.duke.edu

Li, Quanlin

MS Statistical Science

ql10@duke.edu

Liao, Ming

Senior Manager, The Nielsen Company (AC Nielsen), Stamford, CT

ming.liao@nielsen.com

Liechty, Merrill

Assistant Professor, Department of Decision Sciences, LeBow College of Business, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA

merrill@drexel.edu

Lin, Zhengning

Senior Manager of Biostatistics, Aventis, Bridgewater, NJ

zhengning.lin@aventis.com

Lipton, Gary B

Bioinformatician I

gl37@stat.duke.edu

Liu, Jane

Statistical Finance Analyst, UBS Warburg, LLC, CT

liu_nyc@yahoo.com

Lourdes, Viridiana

Vice President, Investment Management, Morgan Stanley, NY, NY

viridiana.lourdes@morganstanley.com

Lucas, Joe

Assistant Research Professor, Center for Applied Genomics and Technology

Lucas, Joseph E

Assistant Research Professor, Institute for Genome Sciences & Policy, Duke University

jel2@stat.duke.edu

Luo, JingQin

Instructor, Division of Biostatistics, School of medicine, Washingtion Univeristy, St. Louis.

rosy@stat.duke.edu

Ma, Li

Assistant Professor

li.ma@duke.edu

Manolopolou, Ioanna

Manolopoulou, Ioanna

Visiting Assistant Professor

ioanna@stat.duke.edu

Mattingly, Jonathan C.

Professor

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

McBride, Sandra

Research Associate, Nicholas School of Environment, Duke University, Durham, NC, 2000-2003

sandrajmcbride@gmail.com

McCulloch, Colin

GE Global Research

mcculloc@crd.ge.com

Merl, Daniel M

Applied Statistics, Group Leader, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories, CA 2011-2011

dmm36@stat.duke.edu

Miller, Ezra

Professor

ezra.miller@duke.edu

Mitra, Robin

Lecturer, University of Southampton, UK

robin@stat.duke.edu

Molina, German

Emerging Markets Quantitative Trading, Tudor Capital, Epsom, UK

german@alumni.duke.edu

Montgomery, Jacob M

jmm61@duke.edu

Mukherjee, Nabanita

Visiting Assistant Professor

nabanita.mukherjee@duke.edu

Mukherjee, Sayan

Professor of Statistical Science and Computer Science and Mathematics

sayan@stat.duke.edu

Mukhopadhyay, Minerva

Postdoctoral Associate

minerva.mukhopadhyay@duke.edu

Mukhopadhyay, Saurabh

Merck Research Labs, Rahway, NJ, 1994-1995

saurabh_mukhopadhyay@merck.com

Nobile, Agostino

Senior Lecturer, Glasgow University, 1994-1995

Ogle, Kiona

MS Statistical Science

Oya, Ekici

Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow

oya@stat.duke.edu

Paddock, Susan

Senior Statistician and Head of the RAND Statistics Group

paddock@rand.org

Paulo, Rui

Assistant professor, Department of Mathematics, ISEG, Technical University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal

rui@iseg.utl.pt

Petris, Giovanni

Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Arkansas

gpetris@uark.edu

Pole, Andy

President, Invictus Partnery NY, 1989-1990

Ponisciak, Stephen

Embedded Researcher, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, University of Wisconsin

ponisciak@wisc.edu

Prado, Raquel

Professor, Department of Applied Mathematics & Statistics, University of California-Santa Cruz

raquel@ams.ucsc.edu

Qian, Jiang

Senior Statistician II, Center of Clinical Assessment, Abbott Laboratories, Abbott Park, IL

jane.qian@abbott.com

Rappold, Ana G.

NRC Research Associate, EPA, RTP, NC

rappold.ana@epa.gov

Reeves, Galen

Assistant Professor

galen.reeves@duke.edu

Reiter, Jerome P.

Professor

jerry@stat.duke.edu

Rigat, Fabio

Head of Biostatistics, Novartis Vaccines & Diagnostics, Siena, Italy

f.rigat@warwick.ac.uk

Rodriguez, Abel

Assistant Professor,University of California, Santa Cruz

ar52@stat.duke.edu

Rose, Francis

Systems Programmer

frisco.rose@duke.edu

Rozenas, Arturas

ar71@duke.edu

Rudin, Cynthia D.

Associate Professor of Statistical Science and Mathematics

cynthia@cs.duke.edu

Ruggeri, Fabrizio

Research Director, CNR-IMATI, Milano, Italy

fabrizio@mi.imati.cnr.it

Rundel, Colin W

Assistant Professor of the Practice

colin.rundel@stat.duke.edu

Sacks, Jerome

Professor Emeritus of Statistical Science

sacks@stat.duke.edu

Sadinle Garcia-Ruiz, Mauricio

Postdoctoral Associate

msadinle@stat.duke.edu

Sang, Huiyan

Assistant Professor, Texas A&M University

huiyan@stat.duke.edu

Sarkar, Abhra

Postdoctoral Associate

abhra.sarkar@duke.edu

Sasinowska, Heather D.

Vice President and COO, INCOGEN, Inc

heather@incogen.com

Schmidler, Scott C.

Associate Professor

scott.schmidler@duke.edu

Scott, Nicole

Departmental Business Manager

nicole.scott@duke.edu

Shen, Haige

Senior Biostatistician, Novartis Oncology, NJ, 2008-2008

hs31@stat.duke.edu

Smith, Richard L.

Mark L. Reed III Distinguished Professor of Statistics, UNC-CH

rls@email.unc.edu

Spang, Rainier

Professor, Institute of Functional Genomics, University of Regensburg, Germany, 1999-2000

spang@molgen.mpg.de

Stangl, Dalene K.

Professor of the Practice

dalene@stat.duke.edu

Stenning, David

Postdoctoral Associate

dstenning@gmail.com

Steorts, Rebecca C.

Assistant Professor of Statistical Science and Computer Science

beka@stat.duke.edu

Stroud, Jonathan

Assistant Professor of Statistics, George Washington University

stroud@wharton.upenn.edu

Su, Fusheng

Sears Financial, Chicago, IL

fusheng_su@yahoo.com

Swall, Jenise

Associate Professor, Dept. of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research, Virginia Commonwealth University

Tardella, Luca

Associate Professor, Dept. Di Statistica, University of Roma I "La Sapienza", Rome, Italy

luca.tardella@uniroma1.it

Tebaldi, Claudia

Research Scientist, Climate Central, Princeton, NJ

ctebaldi@rand.org

Teng, Jimmy

MS Statistical Science

jt6@duke.edu

Tokdar, Surya T.

Associate Professor

tokdar@stat.duke.edu

Tu, Chong

Vice President, PIMCO

chong@stat.duke.edu

Valeva, Anna

Assistant Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara CA, 2002-2003

ak-valeva@wiu.edu

Vance, Eric A

Assistant Research Professor, Virginia Tech, Department of Statistics

ervance@vt.edu

Volfovsky, Alexander

Assistant Professor

alexander.volfovsky@duke.edu

West, Mike

Arts and Sciences Professor of Statistics and Decision Sciences

mike.west@duke.edu

Whitesell, Karen C

Educational Staff Assistant

karen.whitesell@duke.edu

Wilson, Alyson

Research Staff Member IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute

awilson@ida.org

Winkler, Robert L.

James B. Duke Professor of Business Administration

rwinkler@duke.edu

Wolpert, Robert L.

Professor

wolpert@stat.duke.edu

Woodard, Dawn

Assistant Professor, Cornell University

dawn@stat.duke.edu

Wu, Yuhong

Statistical Arbitrage Researcher, Highbridge Capital Management, NY

casper@stat.duke.edu

Xie, Junyi

MS Statistical Science

Xu, Huidong

hx3@phy.duke.edu

Yang, Guoqiang

MS Statistical Science

yanggq@math.duke.edu

Ye, Xiaolan

MS Statistical Science

Yuan, Weishi

Mathematical Statistician, Dept. of Health and Human Services, FDA, Washington, DC, 2004-2004

wsyuan@yahoo.com

Zhai, Jun

Statistician, Institute for Genome Sciences & Policy, Duke University, 2005-2006

Zhang, Guoxian

MS of Statistical Science

zhangguoxian@gmail.com

Zhang, Liang

Research Scientist, Yahoo Research, CA

liang@stat.duke.edu

Zhang, Zhengwu

Postdoctoral Associate

zzhang@samsi.info

Zhou, Kathy R

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health, Weill Medical College of Cornell University

kaz2004@med.cornell.edu

Zhou, Xiang

MS Statistical Science

xz7@duke.edu

Zuzan, Harry

Senior Statistician, Affymetrix, Inc, CA, 1999-2001

iliketobicycle@gmail.com

ter Horst, Enrique

Assistant Professor of Finance, Euromed School of Management, Marseille, France

enrique@stat.duke.edu