Department Chairs

Aerospace Studies: Air Force ROTC

Jesse Hunt

Chair and Visiting Professor of Aerospace Studies

ltcol.hunt@duke.edu

African & African American Studies

Mark Anthony Neal

James B. Duke Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Art, Art History & Visual Studies

Sheila Dillon

Professor of Art, Art History and Visual Studies

(919) 684-6082

sheila.dillon@duke.edu

Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Biology

Paul S. Manos

Jack H. Neely Professor of Biology

(919) 660-7358

pmanos@duke.edu

Chemistry

Katherine J. Franz

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Classical Studies

William Johnson

Professor of Classical Studies

(919) 684-2082

william.johnson@duke.edu

Computer Science

Pankaj K. Agarwal

RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

Cultural Anthropology

Lee D. Baker

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Dance

Purnima Shah

Associate Professor of the Practice of Dance

(919) 660-3377

purnima.shah@duke.edu

Documentary Studies Certificate

Wesley Hogan

Director and Cief Executive Officer of the Center for Documentary Studies

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Economics

A. Craig Burnside

Mary Grace Wilson Professor

(919) 660-1808

craig.burnside@duke.edu

Education

Susan Wynn

Associate Professor of the Practice of Education

(919) 660-3075

susan.wynn@duke.edu

English

Robert Edward Mitchell

Marcello Lotti Professor of English

(919) 668-2547

rmitch@duke.edu

Evolutionary Anthropology

Susan C. Alberts

Chair of the Department of Evolutionary Anthropology

(919) 660-7272

alberts@duke.edu

Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

Priscilla Wald

Director of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu

Germanic Languages & Literature

Stefani Engelstein

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3173

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

History

John Jeffries Martin

Professor of History

(919) 681-5499

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Human Development Certificate

Deborah T. Gold

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

(919) 660-7530

deborah.gold@duke.edu

Innovation & Entrepreneurship Certificate

Eric John Toone

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

eric.toone@duke.edu

International Comparative Studies Program

Leo Ching

Director of the International Comparative Studies Program

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Jewish Studies Program Certificate

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Linguistics

Edna Andrews

Director of the Program in Linguistics

(919) 660-3142

eda@duke.edu

Literature

Rey Chow

Anne Firor Scott Professor of Literature in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3045

rey.chow@duke.edu

Mathematics

Jonathan Christopher Mattingly

Professor of Mathematics

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

Military Science: Army ROTC

Rachelle Macon

Professor of Military Science

rachelle.macon@duke.edu

Music

Philip Rupprecht

Professor of Music

(919) 660-3300

philip.rupprecht@duke.edu

Philosophy

Andrew Janiak

Professor in the Department of Philosophy

(919) 660-3057

janiak@duke.edu

Physics

Warren S. Warren

Chair of Physics

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Political Science

Georg Vanberg

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4311

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Psychology and Neuroscience

Scott Huettel

Professor in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience

(919) 668-5286

scott.huettel@duke.edu

Religious Studies

David Morgan

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

Romance Studies

Richard Rosa

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

richard.rosa@duke.edu

Slavic and Eurasian Studies

Beth Holmgren

Professor of Polish and Russian Studies

(919) 660-3140

beth.holmgren@duke.edu

Sociology

Martin Ruef

Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

(919) 660-5792

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Statistical Science

Merlise Clyde

Professor of Statistical Science

(919) 681-8440

clyde@duke.edu

Theater Studies

Torry Bend

Associate Professor of the Practice of Theater Studies

(919) 660-3383

torry.bend@duke.edu