Department Chairs

African & African American Studies

Mark Anthony Neal

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Art, Art History & Visual Studies

Sheila Dillon

Professor of Art, Art History and Visual Studies

(919) 684-6082

sheila.dillon@duke.edu

Asian & Middle Eastern Studies

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4592

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Biology

Emily S. Bernhardt

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor

(919) 660-7318

emily.bernhardt@duke.edu

Chemistry

Katherine J. Franz

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Classical Studies

Jed W. Atkins

E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor

(919) 684-2695

jed.atkins@duke.edu

Computer Science

Jun Yang

Bishop-MacDermott Family Professor

(919) 660-6587

Cultural Anthropology

Louise Meintjes

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 660-3339

meintjes@duke.edu

Dance

Andrea Woods Valdés

Associate Professor of the Practice of Dance

(919) 660-3358

ae.woodsv@duke.edu

Documentary Studies Certificate

Wesley Hogan

Research Professor of the John Hope Franklin Humanities Institute

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Economics

James W. Roberts

Fred W. Shaffer Professor

(919) 660-1800

j.roberts@duke.edu

Education

Susan Wynn

Associate Professor of the Practice of Education

(919) 660-3075

susan.wynn@duke.edu

English

Robert Edward Mitchell

Professor of English

(919) 668-2547

rmitch@duke.edu

Evolutionary Anthropology

Susan C. Alberts

Robert F. Durden Distinguished Professor of Biology

(919) 660-7272

alberts@duke.edu

Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

Jocelyn Olcott

Director of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

(919) 668-5298

olcott@duke.edu

Germanic Languages & Literature

Stefani Engelstein

Professor of German Studies

(919) 660-3173

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

History

Sumathi Ramaswamy

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of History

(919) 684-2343

sr76@duke.edu

Human Development Certificate

Deborah T. Gold

Professor Emeritus in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

(919) 660-7530

deborah.gold@duke.edu

Innovation & Entrepreneurship Certificate

Eric John Toone

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 414-4337

eric.toone@duke.edu

International Comparative Studies Program

Leo Ching

Director of the International Comparative Studies Program

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Jewish Studies Program Certificate

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3504

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Linguistics

Edna Andrews

Director of the Program in Linguistics

(919) 660-3142

eda@duke.edu

Literature

Mark B.N. Hansen

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Literature

(919) 668-4896

mark.hansen@duke.edu

Mathematics

Leslie Saper

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2843

saper@math.duke.edu

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

David Aers

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of English

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Military Science: Army ROTC

Joshua Roberts

Professor of Military Science

joshua.d.roberts@duke.edu

Music

Jonathan E. Bagg

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Music

(919) 660-3331

jbagg@duke.edu

Philosophy

Robert N. Brandon

Professor of Philosophy

(919) 660-3067

rbrandon@duke.edu

Physics

Steffen A. Bass

Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2479

bass@duke.edu

Political Science

Georg Vanberg

Ernestine Friedl Distinguished Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4311

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Psychology and Neuroscience

Scott Huettel

Professor in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience

(919) 668-5286

scott.huettel@duke.edu

Religious Studies

Mark S. Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

(919) 660-3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Romance Studies

Martin Eisner

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3129

martin.eisner@duke.edu

Slavic and Eurasian Studies

Jehanne Gheith

Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3147

gheith@duke.edu

Sociology

Jen'nan Read

Sally Dalton Robinson Professor

(919) 660-5768

jennan.read@duke.edu

Statistical Science

Jerome P. Reiter

Professor of Statistical Science

(919) 668-5227

jreiter@duke.edu

Theater Studies

Torry Bend

Associate Professor of the Practice of Theater Studies

(919) 660-3383

torry.bend@duke.edu