African & African American Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Mark Anthony Neal

James B. Duke Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Stephen Smith

Professor of the Practice of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-6111

ssmith9@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Charmaine DM Royal

Associate Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 668-6515

charmaine.royal@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Katja Hill

Cultural Services Staff

+1 919 613 3258

katja.hill@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Kerry L. Haynie

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4366

klhaynie@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Tyra Dixon

Staff Asst

+1 919 684 2830

td122@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Lee D. Baker

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

James B. Duke Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5607

eb48@duke.edu

Linda Burton

James B. Duke Professor of Sociology

(919) 613-9258

lburton@soc.duke.edu

Jasmine Nichole Cobb

Bacca Foundation Associate Professor

jasmine.cobb@duke.edu

Michaeline A. Crichlow

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-6947

michaeline.crichlow@duke.edu

Samuel F Daly

Assistant Professor of African and African American Studies

samuel.furychilds.daly@duke.edu

William A. Darity

Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 613-7336

william.darity@duke.edu

Thomas DeFrantz

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 668-1929

t.defrantz@duke.edu

Tyra Dixon

Staff Asst

+1 919 684 2830

td122@duke.edu

Patrick Douthit

Lecturing Fellow African & African American Studies

(919) 684-2830

patrick.douthit@duke.edu

Laurent Dubois

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3112

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

John D. French

Professor of History

(919) 684-2536

jdfrench@duke.edu

Kerry L. Haynie

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4366

klhaynie@duke.edu

Katja Hill

Cultural Services Staff

+1 919 613 3258

katja.hill@duke.edu

Karla Holloway

James B. Duke Professor Emerita of English

(919) 684-8993

karla.holloway@duke.edu

Camille Jackson

Public Relations Spec, Senior

+1 919 668 2995

camille.jackson@duke.edu

Tsitsi Ella Jaji

Associate Professor of English

tsitsi.jaji@duke.edu

Adriane D. Lentz-Smith

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-2837

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

Wahneema H. Lubiano

Associate Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-2843

Anne-Maria B. Makhulu

Associate Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 668-5251

amakhulu@duke.edu

J. Lorand Matory

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-9923

jm217@duke.edu

Mark Anthony Neal

James B. Duke Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Charles D. Piot

Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-3264

charles.piot@duke.edu

Richard J. Powell

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-2473

richard.powell@duke.edu

Charmaine DM Royal

Associate Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 668-6515

charmaine.royal@duke.edu

Karin Shapiro

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-2961

kshapiro@duke.edu

Stephen Smith

Professor of the Practice of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-6111

ssmith9@duke.edu

Joseph Richard Winters

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu