Asian American Studies Program Directory

Faculty & Staff

Stanley Abe

Associate Professor of Art and Art History

(919) 684-2487

stanley.abe@duke.edu

Anne Allison

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-6257

anne.allison@duke.edu

Lee D. Baker

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Nicole Elizabeth Barnes

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

(919) 684-8102

nicole.barnes@duke.edu

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

James B. Duke Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5607

eb48@duke.edu

Christina Chia

Associate Director, Strategy & Operation

+1 919 668 1902

christina.chia@duke.edu

Li-chen Chin

Adjunct Instructor of Education

(919) 684-5480

li-chen.chin@duke.edu

Leo Ching

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Eileen C Chow

Visiting Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Department

eileen.chow@duke.edu

Rey Chow

Anne Firor Scott Professor of Literature in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3045

rey.chow@duke.edu

Juliette Gregory Duara

Visiting Scholar at Kenan Institute for Ethics

juliette.duara@duke.edu

Prasenjit Duara

Oscar L. Tang Family Professor of East Asian Studies

prasenjit.duara@duke.edu

Thomas J. Ferraro

Professor of English

(919) 684-3718

ferraro@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Guo-Juin Hong

(919) 660-4396

gjhong@duke.edu

SangHee Jeong

Program Director, Academic Engagement, A&S

+1 919 681 9800

sanghee.jeong@duke.edu

Ranjana Khanna

Professor of English

(919) 668-2548

rkhanna@duke.edu

Satendra Khanna

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4361

skhanna@duke.edu

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Ryan Ku

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 2741

ryanson.ku@duke.edu

Nayoung Aimee Kwon

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-4086

na.kwon@duke.edu

Esther Kim Lee

Professor of Theater Studies

(919) 660-3367

esther.k.lee@duke.edu

Kang Liu

Professor of Asian and African Languages and Literature

(919) 684-3615

liukang@duke.edu

Anne-Maria B. Makhulu

(919) 668-5251

amakhulu@duke.edu

Sucheta Mazumdar

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5490

skmmaz@duke.edu

Jessica Namakkal

Assistant Professor of the Practice in the International Comparative Studies Progra

(919) 660-4353

jessica.namakkal@duke.edu

Hank Okazaki

Program Coord

+1 919 660 3031

hokazak@duke.edu

Gunther W. Peck

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-5297

peckgw@duke.edu

Sumathi Ramaswamy

James B. Duke Professor of History

(919) 684-5764

sr76@duke.edu

Jen'nan Read

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5768

jennan.read@duke.edu

Carlos Rojas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

c.rojas@duke.edu

Omid Safi

Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-1955

omid.safi@duke.edu

Leonard Tennenhouse

Professor of English

(919) 684-1884

l.tennenhouse@duke.edu

Susan Thananopavarn

Lecturing Fellow of Thompson Writing Program

susan.than@duke.edu

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu