Asian & Middle Eastern Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Business Manager

Mindy Marcus

Business Manager

+1 919 684 4309

mmarcus@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4592

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Olga Richmond

Staff & DUS Assistant

+1 919 668 2603

olga.richmond@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Carlos Rojas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

c.rojas@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Shahla Adel, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer

+1 919 613 6131

shahla.adel@duke.edu

Fadi A Bardawil

Scholar In Residence of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

fadi.bardawil@duke.edu

Abdelrazzaq Ben Tarif

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

ben.tarif@duke.edu

Elabbas Benmamoun

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

abbas.benmamoun@duke.edu

Amal Boumaaza

Lecturing Fellow*

+1 919 613 8316

amal.boumaaza@duke.edu

Seiko Buell

Japanese Program Staff

+1 919 481 0935

seiko.buell@duke.edu

Saad Cheikh Abdi Vall

Instructor B

+1 347 268 3780

saad.vall@duke.edu

Leo Ching

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Ya-Chuan Chou

Instructor

+1 919 717 5399

yachuan.chou@duke.edu

Eileen C Chow

Visiting Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Department

eileen.chow@duke.edu

Hitomi Endo

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-6236

hendo@duke.edu

Barohny Eun, Ph.D.

Instructor

+1 919 684 4309

barohny.eun@duke.edu

Hemda Frankl-Rotem

Instructional Staff

+1 617 650 6575

hemda.franklrotem@duke.edu

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4592

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Erdag Göknar

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-3151

goknar@duke.edu

Didem Z Havlioglu

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

didem.havli@duke.edu

Tianshu He

Senior Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-7059

tianshu.he@duke.edu

Jenny Hirtz

Staff Specialist

+1 919 684 2312

jenny.hirtz@duke.edu

Guo-Juin Hong

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4396

gjhong@duke.edu

Maha Houssami

Lecturer of Arabic Language in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-1518

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Chi -Ju Hsieh

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4360

cjhsieh@duke.edu

Shu Ting Hsu

Instructor B

+1 919 613 6960

shuting.hsu@duke.edu

Abdelmounaime Jabri

Instructional Staff of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Satendra Khanna

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4361

skhanna@duke.edu

Eunyoung Kim

Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-2125

eunyoung.kim@duke.edu

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Kusum Knapczyk

Lecturer of Hindi Language of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

kusum.knapczyk@duke.edu

Jonathan Kramer

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Department

(919) 515-4202

jonathan_kramer@ncsu.edu

Naoko Kurokawa

Senior Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4593

kurokawa@duke.edu

Nayoung Aimee Kwon

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-4086

na.kwon@duke.edu

Jung Min Lee

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

jungmin.lee2@duke.edu

Kun Shan Lee

Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-2684

kslee@duke.edu

Kang Liu

Professor of Asian and African Languages and Literature

(919) 684-3615

liukang@duke.edu

Yan Liu

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-2902

yl286@duke.edu

Mbaye Lo

Associate Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4356

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Mindy Marcus

Business Manager

+1 919 684 4309

mmarcus@duke.edu

Dilara Maya

Instructional Staff of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

dilara.maya@duke.edu

Ellen McLarney

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3849

ellenmc@duke.edu

Negar Mottahedeh

Associate Professor of Literature

(919) 681-3461

negar@duke.edu

Takushi Odagiri, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

takushi.odagiri@duke.edu

Shelli Plesser

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-6104

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Olga Richmond

Staff & DUS Assistant

+1 919 668 2603

olga.richmond@duke.edu

Carlos Rojas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

c.rojas@duke.edu

Omid Safi

Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-1955

omid.safi@duke.edu

Azusa Saito

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3780

azu@duke.edu

Abdul Sattar Shakhly

Instructor

sattar.jawad@duke.edu

Fangyuan Shang

Instructorof Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

fangyuan.shang@duke.edu

Mier Tai

Instructional Staff of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

mier.tai@duke.edu

John Tucker

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Department

(919) 684-4309

tuckerja@duke.edu

Nyanmei Wang

Instructional Staff

+1 919 660 7059

nyanmei.wang@duke.edu

Yuan Yao

Lecturer, Emeritus in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4362

yao@duke.edu

Yujia Ye

Instructor

+1 919 660 4359

yujia.ye@duke.edu

Ning Zhang

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

n.zhang@duke.edu

Qiang Zhang

Instructor

+1 203 815 4018

cathryn.zhang@duke.edu

Wenqin Zhuang

Instructional Staff

+1 919 327 3683

wenqin.zhuang@duke.edu

miriam cooke

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

(919) 684-2312

mcw@duke.edu