Asian & Middle Eastern Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Business Manager

Wayne Williamson

Departmental Business Mgr III

+1 919 684 2264

wayne.williamson@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Olga Richmond

Staff & DUS Assistant

+1 919 668 2603

olga.richmond@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Leo Ching

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Shahla Adel, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer

+1 919 613 6131

shahla.adel@duke.edu

Fadi A Bardawil

Assistant Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

fadi.bardawil@duke.edu

Elabbas Benmamoun

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

abbas.benmamoun@duke.edu

Michal Bigman

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

+1 919 525 0501

michal.bigman@duke.edu

Amal Boumaaza

Lecturing Fellow*

+1 919 613 8316

amal.boumaaza@duke.edu

Seiko Buell

Japanese Program Staff

+1 919 481 0935

seiko.buell@duke.edu

Saad Cheikh Abdi Vall

Instructor B

+1 347 268 3780

saad.vall@duke.edu

Yunchuan Chen

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

yunchuan.chen@duke.edu

Leo Ching

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-5240

lching@duke.edu

Ya-Chuan Chou

Instructor

+1 919 717 5399

yachuan.chou@duke.edu

Eileen C Chow

Visiting Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Department

eileen.chow@duke.edu

Hitomi Endo

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-6236

hendo@duke.edu

Barohny Eun, Ph.D.

Instructor

+1 919 684 4309

barohny.eun@duke.edu

Shai Ginsburg

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4592

shai.ginsburg@duke.edu

Erdag Göknar

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-3151

goknar@duke.edu

Didem Z Havlioglu

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 613-8372

didem.havli@duke.edu

Tianshu He

Senior Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-7059

tianshu.he@duke.edu

Guo-Juin Hong

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4396

gjhong@duke.edu

Maha Houssami

Lecturer of Arabic Language in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-1518

maha.houssami@duke.edu

Chi -Ju Hsieh

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4360

cjhsieh@duke.edu

Shu-Ting Hsu

Instructor B

+1 919 613 6960

shuting.hsu@duke.edu

Satendra Khanna

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4361

skhanna@duke.edu

Eunyoung Kim

Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-2125

eunyoung.kim@duke.edu

Hae-Young Kim

Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4364

haeyoung@duke.edu

Kusum Knapczyk

Lecturer of Hindi Language of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

kusum.knapczyk@duke.edu

Naoko Kurokawa

Senior Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-4593

kurokawa@duke.edu

Nayoung Aimee Kwon

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-4086

na.kwon@duke.edu

Thomas Lamarre

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

thomas.lamarre@duke.edu

Jung Min Lee

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(347) 633-1715

jungmin.lee2@duke.edu

Kun Shan Lee

Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-2684

kslee@duke.edu

Kang Liu

Professor of Asian and African Languages and Literature

(919) 684-3615

liukang@duke.edu

Yan Liu

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-2902

yl286@duke.edu

Mbaye Lo

Associate Professor of the Practice of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4356

mbaye.lo@duke.edu

Ellen McLarney

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3849

ellenmc@duke.edu

Alyssa Miller

Instructor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

+1 303 653 4226

alyssa.miller@duke.edu

Negar Mottahedeh

Associate Professor in Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 681-3461

negar@duke.edu

Shelli Plesser

Lecturer in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 403-7860

ivritbeduke@gmail.com

Olga Richmond

Staff & DUS Assistant

+1 919 668 2603

olga.richmond@duke.edu

Carlos Rojas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

c.rojas@duke.edu

Omid Safi

Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

omid.safi@duke.edu

Azusa Saito

Lecturing Fellow of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3780

azu@duke.edu

Wayne Williamson

Departmental Business Mgr III

+1 919 684 2264

wayne.williamson@duke.edu

Yuan Yao

Lecturer, Emeritus in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4362

yao@duke.edu

miriam cooke

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

(919) 684-2312

mcw@duke.edu