Cultural Anthropology Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Lee D. Baker

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Business Manager

Patricia Bodager

Department Administrator, Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 5012

pbodager@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Rebecca L. Stein

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-4663

rlstein@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Patricia Bodager

Department Administrator, Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 5012

pbodager@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Diane Michele Nelson

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-2069

dmnelson@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Bernice Patterson

DGSA-Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

+1 919 684 4544

bernice.patterson@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Anne Allison

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-6257

anne.allison@duke.edu

Edna Andrews

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Humanities Professor of Slavic and Eurasian Studies

(919) 660-3142

eda@duke.edu

Lee D. Baker

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Patricia Bodager

Department Administrator, Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 5012

pbodager@duke.edu

Miggie M Cramblit

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 4351

mackenzie.cramblit@duke.edu

Katherine P. Ewing

Professor Emerita

(212) 851-9280

katherine.ewing@duke.edu

Christine Folch

Assistant Professor of Cultural Anthropology

christine.folch@duke.edu

Thomas P Hatley

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 684 4544

thomas.hatley@duke.edu

Engseng Ho

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-4544

engseng.ho@duke.edu

Emma Hymas

Publications Specialist

+1 919 684 9917

emma.hymas@duke.edu

Robin Kirk

Lecturer in the Department of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0635

rights@duke.edu

Brandon A. Kohrt

Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

brandon.kohrt@duke.edu

Ralph A. Litzinger

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-6250

rlitz@duke.edu

Anne-Maria B. Makhulu

Associate Professor in the Department of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 668-5251

amakhulu@duke.edu

Catherine Mathers

Associate Professor of the Practice of Program in International Comparative Studies

(919) 660-4374

catherine.mathers@duke.edu

J. Lorand Matory

Lawrence Richardson Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-9923

jm217@duke.edu

Laurie N McIntosh

Assistant Professor in the Department of Cultural Anthropology

laurie.mcintosh@duke.edu

Louise Meintjes

Associate Professor of Music

(919) 660-3339

meintjes@duke.edu

Walter Mignolo

William Hane Wannamaker Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 668-1949

walter1654@gmail.com

Diane Michele Nelson

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-2069

dmnelson@duke.edu

William M. O'Barr

Professor Emeritus of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-8863

william.obarr@duke.edu

Spencer Orey

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 684 4544

spencer.orey@duke.edu

Bernice Patterson

DGSA-Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

+1 919 684 4544

bernice.patterson@duke.edu

Charles D. Piot

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3264

charles.piot@duke.edu

Naomi Quinn

Professor Emeritus of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-2810

naomi.quinn@duke.edu

William M. Reddy

William T. Laprade Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2497

wmr@duke.edu

Margaret Riley

Visiting Scholar

mriley@duke.edu

Heather Settle

Visiting Instructor in Cultural Anthropology

(919) 613-6689

heather.settle@duke.edu

Tamar Shirinian

Assistant Editor

tamar.shirinian@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0319

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Harris Scott Solomon

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

harris.solomon@duke.edu

Orin Starn

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-3221

ostarn@duke.edu

Rebecca L. Stein

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-4663

rlstein@duke.edu

Charles Thompson

Professor of the Practice of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 660-3657

cdthomps@duke.edu

Katya Wesolowski

Lecturing Fellow of Cultural Anthroplogy

(919) 660-7087

katya.wesolowski@duke.edu