Medieval & Renaissance Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

David Aers

James B. Duke Professor of English

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Michael Cornett

Associate Director, Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

+1 919 681 8883

jmems@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Jehangir Malegam

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-7842

jehangir.malegam@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

David Aers

James B. Duke Professor of English

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Sarah Beckwith

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

ott@duke.edu

Thomas Brothers

Professor of Music

(919) 660-3309

tdb@duke.edu

Caroline Bruzelius

Anne Murnick Cogan Professor Emerita of Art and Art History

(919) 641-0612

c.bruzelius@duke.edu

Susanna Caviglia

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

susanna.caviglia@duke.edu

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3505

lizclark@duke.edu

Michael Cornett

Associate Director, Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

+1 919 681 8883

jmems@duke.edu

A Leigh Deneef, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of English

+1 919 681 1559

ldn@duke.edu

Katharine Brophy Dubois

Lecturing Fellow of History

(919) 684-2307

Martin Eisner

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3129

martin.eisner@duke.edu

Valeria Finucci

Professor Emerita of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3119

vfinucci@duke.edu

Curtis W. Freeman

Research Professor of Theology and Baptist Studies

(919) 660-3401

Sara Galletti

Associate Professor in the Department of Art, Art History and Visual Studies

(919) 668-6203

sara.galletti@duke.edu

Miguel Garci-Gomez, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

+1 919 660 3111

miguel.garci.gomez@duke.edu

Barry Gaspar

Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-2109

dgaspar@duke.edu

Roseen Giles

Assistant Professor of Music

(919) 660-3311

roseen.giles@duke.edu

Astrid Adele Giugni

Lecturing Fellow of English

astrid.giugni@duke.edu

Ruth W. Grant

Professor Emerita of Political Science

(919) 660-4300

grant@duke.edu

Margaret Rich Greer

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

(415) 913-7171

mgreer@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3511

hjh@duke.edu

Kristin L. Huffman

Lecturing Fellow of Art, Art History & Visual Studies

(919) 684-2224

kristin.huffman@duke.edu

Andrew Janiak

Professor in the Department of Philosophy

(919) 660-3057

janiak@duke.edu

Michele Longino

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3121

michele.longino@duke.edu

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

(919) 660-5984

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Jehangir Malegam

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-7842

jehangir.malegam@duke.edu

John Jeffries Martin

Professor of History

(919) 681-5499

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Seymour Mauskopf

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2581

shmaus@duke.edu

Ellen McLarney

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3849

ellenmc@duke.edu

Walter Mignolo

William Hane Wannamaker Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 668-1949

walter1654@gmail.com

Kristen Neuschel

Associate Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-2437

kneusche@duke.edu

Francis Newton

Professor Emeritus of Classical Studies

(919) 681-4292

fnewton@duke.edu

Jakob Norberg

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3161

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

G. Sujin Pak

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity

(919) 660-3431

spak@div.duke.edu

Joseph A. Porter

Professor Emeritus of English

(919) 684-3884

japorter@duke.edu

Maureen Quilligan

R. Florence Brinkley Professor Emerita of English

(919) 681-2149

mquillig@duke.edu

Meredith Leigh Dear Riedel

Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity

meredith.riedel@duke.edu

Thomas Robisheaux

Professor of History

(919) 684-5979

trobish@duke.edu

Joseph Shatzmiller

Smart Family Professor Emeritus in Judaic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-2225

joseph.shatzmiller@duke.edu

Peter Sigal

Professor in the Department of History

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Alexander Silbiger

Professor Emeritus of Music

(919) 660-3300

lexsilb@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt

Professor Emerita of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0319

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

J. Warren Smith

Associate Professor of Historical Theology

(919) 660-3415

warren.smith@duke.edu

Helen Solterer

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3118

hsolt@duke.edu

Lee Sorensen

Arts Bibliographer, Reference Librarian

+1 919 660 5994

lslilly@duke.edu

Philip J. Stern

Gilhuly Family Professor

(919) 668-1695

philip.stern@duke.edu

Leonard Tennenhouse

Professor of English

(919) 684-1884

l.tennenhouse@duke.edu

Edward Triplett

Instructor of Art, Art History & Visual Studies

edward.triplett@duke.edu

Hans J. Van Miegroet

Professor of Art and Art History

(919) 684-2504

hvm@duke.edu

Elvira L Vilches

Associate Professor of Romance Studies

elvira.vilches@duke.edu

Julianne Werlin

Bacca Foundation Assistant Professor of Rhetoric, Culture and Society

jw476@duke.edu

Annabel J. Wharton

William B. Hamilton Professor of Art and Art History

(919) 684-2495

wharton@duke.edu

George W. Williams

Professor Emeritus

(919) 684-5827

hpgw@duke.edu

Jennifer Clare Woods

Associate Professor of Classical Studies

(919) 613-4409

jcwoods@duke.edu