Chemistry Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Katherine J. Franz

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Assistant to the Chair

Christiana Conti Gooden

Administrative Coordinator - Chair's Office

+1 919 660 1506

c.conti@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1545

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Business Manager

Trish McMillan

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1507

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1545

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Charlie Terrence Cox

AssociateProfessor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 907-0080

charlie.cox@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Kristen Laquidara

Administrative Coord

+1 919 660 1527

kristen.laquidara@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Michael C. Fitzgerald

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1547

michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Charlie Terrence Cox

AssociateProfessor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 907-0080

charlie.cox@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Claudia M. De La Cruz

Administrative Coord

+1 919 660 1503

claudia.delacruz@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Alexandra Abel

Visiting Grad Student

+1 919 660 0790

alexandra.abel@duke.edu

Hashim Al-Hashimi

Professor of Chemistry

hashim.al.hashimi@duke.edu

Irem Altan

Affiliate

irem.altan@duke.edu

Edward M. Arnett

R.J. Reynolds Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

edward.arnett@duke.edu

Gaurav Arya

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-5435

gaurav.arya@duke.edu

Valerie S Ashby

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 684-4510

valerie.ashby@duke.edu

Darya Asheghali

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 0790

darya.asheghali@duke.edu

Shuming Bai

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1634

shuming.bai@duke.edu

Steven W. Baldwin

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1563

steven.baldwin@duke.edu

Garrett Bass

Visiting Grad Student

+1 919 660 0790

garrett.bass@duke.edu

Matthew L Becker

Hugo L. Blomquist Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 681-3812

matthew.l.becker@duke.edu

David N. Beratan

R.J. Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1526

david.beratan@duke.edu

Volker Blum

Associate Professor of Chemistry

volker.blum@duke.edu

Kenneth R Brown

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1376

kenneth.r.brown@duke.edu

Dorian Canelas

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1528

dorian.canelas@duke.edu

Young Im Chang

Senior Grants and Contracts Manager

+1 919 660 1558

youngim.chang@duke.edu

Patrick Charbonneau

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 613-6261

patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu

Donald B. Chesnut

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1506

donald.chesnut@duke.edu

Ashutosh Chilkoti

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-5373

Alberto Ciferri

Visiting Professor

alberto.ciferri@duke.edu

Michael Conti

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 1556

mike.conti@duke.edu

Charlie Terrence Cox

AssociateProfessor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 907-0080

charlie.cox@duke.edu

Stephen L Craig

William T. Miller Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1538

stephen.craig@duke.edu

Dana Crowell

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 1505

dana.xiao@duke.edu

Alvin L. Crumbliss

University Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus

(919) 660-1540

alvin.crumbliss@duke.edu

William Day

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 1514

bill.day@duke.edu

Claudia M. De La Cruz

Administrative Coord

+1 919 660 1503

claudia.delacruz@duke.edu

Simone Degan

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 8459

simone.degan@duke.edu

Thomas Degeorges, Ph.D.

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Associate

+1 919 660 1221

thomas.degeorges@duke.edu

Olivier Delaire

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-5310

olivier.delaire@duke.edu

Catherine Denning-Jannace

Postdoctoral Scholar

+1 919 660 1660

catherine.denningjannace@duke.edu

Emily R. Derbyshire

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1511

emily.derbyshire@duke.edu

Bruce Randall Donald

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6583

Jack Exell

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1630

jack.exell@duke.edu

Guangshou Feng

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1529

guangshou.feng@duke.edu

Martin Fischer

Associate Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1523

martin.fischer@duke.edu

Michael C. Fitzgerald

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1547

michael.c.fitzgerald@duke.edu

Daniel Fowler, Ph.D.

Instructor of Chemistry

+1 919 660 1521

daniel.fowler@duke.edu

Aaron D. Franklin

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 681-9471

aaron.franklin@duke.edu

Katherine J. Franz

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-1541

katherine.franz@duke.edu

Denny Freeland

Analyst, IT

+1 919 443 9281

dennis.freeland@duke.edu

Annastassia Gallo

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1660

annastassia.gallo@duke.edu

Anastasia Gant

Affiliate

anastasia.gant@duke.edu

Christiana Conti Gooden

Administrative Coordinator - Chair's Office

+1 919 660 1506

c.conti@duke.edu

David Gooden

Research Scientist

+1 919 684 0237

david.gooden@duke.edu

David Grass

Postdoctoral Scholar

+1 919 660 1512

david.grass@duke.edu

Amanda Hargrove

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1522

amanda.hargrove@duke.edu

Jiyong Hong

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1545

jiyong.hong@duke.edu

Abigail Jackson

Research Associate

+1 301 639 4375

abigail.jackson@duke.edu

Tomasz Janowski

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 684 1151

t.j@duke.edu

Santhosh Kalpathy, Ph.D.

Duke Temporary Service

+1 919 681 3132

santhosh.kalpathy@duke.edu

Metin Karayilan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 0790

metin.karayilan@duke.edu

Farrell Ray Kersey

Instructor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1615

farrell.kersey@duke.edu

Tatiana Kouznetsova

Lab Research Analyst I

+1 919 660 1622

tatiana.kouznetsova@duke.edu

Bozenna Krzyzanowska, Ph.D.

Laboratory Preparator

+1 919 660 1517

bozenna.krzyzanowska@duke.edu

Seung-Hwa Kwak

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1535

seunghwa.kwak@duke.edu

Kristen Laquidara

Administrative Coord

+1 919 660 1527

kristen.laquidara@duke.edu

Christopher Laudeman

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 1666

christopher.laudeman@duke.edu

Robert J. Lefkowitz

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 684-2974

lefko001@receptor-biol.duke.edu

Xiao Wei Liang

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1535

xiaowei.liang@duke.edu

Jie Liu

George Barth Geller Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1549

j.liu@duke.edu

Rui Liu

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 613 6435

rui.liu454@duke.edu

Sakiya Lockett

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1512

sakiya.lockett@duke.edu

Jianfeng Lu

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Mei Lu, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Therien Group

+1 919 684 0785

mei.lu@duke.edu

Michael D Lynch

Assistant Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering

michael.lynch@duke.edu

Richard MacPhail

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1536

richard.macphail@duke.edu

Steven Malcolmson

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1575

steven.malcolmson@duke.edu

Dewey G. McCafferty

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1516

dewey.mccafferty@duke.edu

Trish McMillan

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1507

trish.mcmillan@duke.edu

Andrew T. McPhail

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 477-9039

andrew.mcphail@duke.edu

David Mitzi

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-5356

david.mitzi@duke.edu

Paul L. Modrich

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 684-2775

modrich@biochem.duke.edu

Peter Morse

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 613 6552

peter.morse@duke.edu

Ann Motten

Instructor B of Chemistry

(919) 660-1524

ann.motten@duke.edu

Animesh Nayak

Research Scientist

+1 919 613 6435

animesh.nayak@duke.edu

Tetsu Ouchi

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1622

tetsu.ouchi@duke.edu

Richard A. Palmer

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 660-1539

richard.a.palmer@duke.edu

Kelsey Parker

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1634

kelsey.parker@duke.edu

Christine K. Payne

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 681-2096

christine.payne@duke.edu

Michael Peterson

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 660 1646

michael.peterson@duke.edu

Tyler Pinter

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1660

tyler.pinter@duke.edu

Jodi Psoter

Librarian

+1 919 660 5926

jodi.psoter@duke.edu

Louis Quin, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 384 2108

ldquin@duke.edu

Tina Radford

Grants and Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 1513

tina.radford@duke.edu

Jennifer Roizen

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-9438

jennifer.roizen@duke.edu

Christopher P. Roy

Associate Professor of the Practice of Chemistry

(919) 660-1518

chris.roy@duke.edu

Michael Rubinstein

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-5365

michael.rubinstein@duke.edu

Barbara R. Shaw

William T. Miller Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 451-9197

barbara.r.shaw@duke.edu

Yongjun Shin

Visiting Graduate Student

+1 919 660 0790

yongjun.shin@duke.edu

Claire Siburt, Ph.D.

+1 919 684 2130

claireparker.siburt@duke.edu

Peter Silinski

Research Associate, Senior

+1 919 660 1532

peter.silinski@duke.edu

Michael J. Therien

William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1670

michael.therien@duke.edu

Eric John Toone

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

(919) 414-4337

eric.toone@duke.edu

Chakrapani Varanasi, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

+1 919 660 1590

chakrapani.varanasi@duke.edu

Tuan Vo-Dinh

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-5598

tuan.vodinh@duke.edu

Angel Walker

Research Administration Specialist

+1 919 660 1588

angel.walker@duke.edu

Qiu Wang

Robert R. & Katherine B. Penn Associate Professor

(919) 660-1648

qiu.wang@duke.edu

Warren S. Warren

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Kevin D. Welsher

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1509

kdw32@duke.edu

Jennifer L West

Professor of Chemistry

jennifer.l.west@duke.edu

Ross A. Widenhoefer

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1533

ross.widenhoefer@duke.edu

Benjamin J. Wiley

Professor of Chemistry

(919) 668-3066

benjamin.wiley@duke.edu

Todd E. Woerner

Lecturing Fellow of Chemistry

(919) 660-1525

todd.woerner@duke.edu

Weitao Yang

Philip Handler Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1562

weitao.yang@duke.edu

Kenichi Yokoyama

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 684-8848

ken.yoko@duke.edu

Stefan Zauscher

Professor in the Department of Chemistry

(919) 660-5360

zauscher@duke.edu

Peng Zhang

Associate Research Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1675

peng.zhang@duke.edu

Wei Zhang

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1662

wei.zhang649@duke.edu

Xujun Zheng

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 1622

xujun.zheng@duke.edu

Pei Zhou

Professor of Biochemistry

(919) 668-6409

peizhou@biochem.duke.edu

Pengfei Zhou

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 0239

pengfei.zhou@duke.edu