Economics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

A Craig Burnside

Mary Grace Wilson Professor

+1 919 660 1808

craig.burnside@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Emma Rasiel

Eads Professor of the Practice in Energy

+1 919 660 1837

emma.rasiel@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Charlie Becker, Ph.D.

Research Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1885

cbecker@econ.duke.edu

Business Manager

Lori Zagiba

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1852

lori.zagiba@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Connel Fullenkamp, Ph.D.

Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 1843

cfullenk@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Grace Kim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Curtis Taylor, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1827

crtaylor@econ.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Grace Kim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Atila Abdulkadiroglu

Garonzik Family Professor

+1 919 660 1800

atila.abdulkadiroglu@duke.edu

Matthew Adler

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 7172

adler@law.duke.edu

Attila Ambrus, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1852

attila.ambrus@duke.edu

James Anton

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7754

james.anton@duke.edu

Peter Arcidiacono, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1816

psarcidi@mac.com

Dr Dan Ariely, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7703

dan@danariely.com

Bocar Ba, Ph.D.

Research Scholar

bocar.ba@duke.edu

Ravi Bansal, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7758

ravi.bansal@duke.edu

Arjada Bardhi

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 0702

arjada.bardhi@duke.edu

Patrick Bayer

Gilhuly Family Professor in Economics

+1 919 660 1800

patrick.bayer@duke.edu

Charlie Becker, Ph.D.

Research Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1885

cbecker@econ.duke.edu

Jennifer Becker

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1881

jennifer.becker@duke.edu

Lori Bennear, Ph.D.

Associate Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 8083

lori.bennear@duke.edu

Prof David Berger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

david.berger@duke.edu

Francesco Bianchi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1828

francesco.bianchi@duke.edu

Tim Bollerslev

Juanita and Clifton Kreps Professor of Economics, in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

+1 919 660 1846

tim.bollerslev@duke.edu

Gale Boyd

Associate Research Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 6892

gale.boyd@duke.edu

Federico Bugni

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1887

federico.bugni@duke.edu

Stephen Burkhalter

Analyst, IT

+1 919 314 7432

stephen.burkhalter@duke.edu

Edwin Burmeister

Research Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 1800

eb@econ.duke.edu

Tamara Burns

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1829

tamara.burns@duke.edu

A Craig Burnside

Mary Grace Wilson Professor

+1 919 660 1808

craig.burnside@duke.edu

John Caccavale, M.B.A.

Executive in Residence of Economics

+1 919 660 1858

john.caccavale@duke.edu

Bruce Caldwell, Ph.D.

Research Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 6896

bruce.caldwell@duke.edu

Arienne Cheek

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Associate

+1 919 660 1897

arienne.cheek@duke.edu

Amy Clayton

Program Coord, Senior

+1 919 660 1880

amy.clayton@duke.edu

Charles Clotfelter, Ph.D.

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 7361

charles.clotfelter@duke.edu

Wesley Cohen

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7700

wesley.cohen@duke.edu

Wilbur Coleman, Ph.D.

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 660 7962

coleman@duke.edu

Prof Allan Collard-Wexler, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

allan.collard.wexler@duke.edu

Vincent Conitzer

Professor in the Department of Economics

(919) 660-6503

Michelle Connolly, Ph.D.

Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 1819

michelle.connolly@duke.edu

Robert Conrad, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 7355

rconrad@duke.edu

Philip Cook, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 613 7360

pcook@duke.edu

William Darity Jr, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 7336

william.darity@duke.edu

Neil De Marchi

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1834

demarchi@econ.duke.edu

Cecile Delcuvellerie

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 1800

cecile.delcuvellerie@duke.edu

Rafael Dix Carneiro

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

rafael.dix.carneiro@duke.edu

Paul Dudenhefer

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 1848

pauldude@duke.edu

Federica Esu

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 1800

federica.esu@duke.edu

Lauren Faber

Research Administration Manager

+1 919 684 5693

lauren.faber@duke.edu

Erica Field, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1857

field.erica@duke.edu

Chelsea Fillippa

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1886

chelsea.fillippa@duke.edu

Francesca Florey Eischen

Project Planner II

+1 919 660 0533

francesca.florey@duke.edu

Prof John Forlines III, J.D.

Executive in Residence of Economics

+1 919 660 1984

john.forlines@duke.edu

Michael D Frakes

Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 7185

michael.frakes@law.duke.edu

Connel Fullenkamp, Ph.D.

Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 1843

cfullenk@duke.edu

Robert Garlick

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1831

robert.garlick@duke.edu

Chris Geddings

Analyst, IT, Sr

+1 919 660 1836

chris.geddings@duke.edu

Henry Grabowski, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1839

grabow@econ.duke.edu

Daniel Graham

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1802

daniel.graham@duke.edu

Alison Hagy, Ph.D.

Lecturing Fellow of Economics

+1 919 660 6892

alison.hagy@duke.edu

Kevin D. Hoover

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

kd.hoover@duke.edu

V. Joseph Hotz

Arts and Sciences Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1841

v.joseph.hotz@duke.edu

David Hsieh, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7779

david.a.hsieh@duke.edu

Cosmin Ilut

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1817

cosmin.ilut@duke.edu

Yilin Jiang

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1881

yilin.jiang@duke.edu

Taneca Joseph

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 1800

taneca.joseph@duke.edu

Kyle Jurado

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

kyle.jurado@duke.edu

Anuraadhaa Kandadai

Student

+1 919 613 7072

anuraadhaa.kandadai@duke.edu

Peter Katz

Statistician III

+1 919 660 6895

peter.katz@duke.edu

Matthias Kehrig, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1901

matthias.kehrig@duke.edu

Usa Kerdnunvong

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

usa.kerdnunvong@duke.edu

Grace Kim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 8170

grace.kim@duke.edu

Kent Kimbrough

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1811

kent.kimbrough@duke.edu

Christyn Klinck

Program Coord

+1 919 660 1891

christyn.klinck@duke.edu

Kate Leigh Maxwell Koegel

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

kate.maxwell@duke.edu

Sarah Komisarow

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 9298

sarah.komisarow@duke.edu

Randall Kramer

Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 8072

kramer@duke.edu

Rachel Kranton, Ph.D.

James B. Duke Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

rachel.kranton@duke.edu

Lawrence Kreicher, Ph.D.

Instructor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

lawrence.kreicher@duke.edu

Timur Kuran

The Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1800

t.kuran@duke.edu

Helen Ladd, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 613 7352

hladd@duke.edu

Andrea Lanteri

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

andrea.lanteri@duke.edu

Lori Leachman, Ph.D.

Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 6894

leachman@econ.duke.edu

Linsey Lebowitz Hughes

Executive in Residence of Economics

+1 919 237 2233

linsey.lebowitz.hughes@duke.edu

Ronald Leven, Ph.D.

W.R. Huff Professor of the Practice

+1 919 660 1800

ronald.leven@duke.edu

Aino Levonmaa

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

aino.levonmaa@duke.edu

Tracy Lewis, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7983

tracy.lewis@duke.edu

Jia Li, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1874

jia.li2@duke.edu

Giuseppe (Pino) Lopomo, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7820

giuseppe.lopomo@duke.edu

Liu Lu

Staff

lu.liu2@duke.edu

Shijie Luo

Student

+1 919 668 9995

shijie.luo@duke.edu

Hugh Macartney, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1866

hugh.macartney@duke.edu

Kieran Manzella

Student

+1 612 859 4878

kieran.manzella@duke.edu

Alexander Marsh

Research Assistant, Master's Student

+1 919 660 1800

alexander.marsh@duke.edu

Leslie Marx, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7762

marx@duke.edu

Matt Masten

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

matt.masten@duke.edu

Arnaud Maurel

Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 660 1893

arnaud.maurel@duke.edu

Prof David McAdams, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7926

david.mcadams@duke.edu

Ethan McClure

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 684 4210

ethan.mcclure@duke.edu

Sabrina McCutchan

Associate In Research

+1 919 684 7613

sabrina.mccutchan@duke.edu

David McDade

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 1804

david.mcdade@duke.edu

Marjorie B. McElroy

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1840

mcelroy@econ.duke.edu

Prof Steven Medema, Ph.D.

Research Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

steven.medema@duke.edu

Genna Miller, Ph.D.

Lecturing Fellow of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

gm19@duke.edu

Claude Misukiewicz

Coordinating Editor

+1 919 660 6899

claude.misukiewicz@duke.edu

Dr Manoj Mohanan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 613 9263

manoj.mohanan@duke.edu

Donald Moratz

Staff

+1 919 660 1800

donald.moratz@duke.edu

Michael C. Munger

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-4301

munger@duke.edu

Thomas Nechyba, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1826

nechyba@duke.edu

Gabor Nyeki

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

gabor.nyeki@duke.edu

Gabriel Oliva Costa Cunha

Student

+1 919 660 1800

gabriel.cunha@duke.edu

Rushdee Omar

Program Specialist

+1 919 681 0646

rushdee.omar@duke.edu

Subhrendu K Pattanayak

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 9306

subhrendu.pattanayak@duke.edu

Andrew Patton

Zelter Family Professor

+1 919 660 1849

andrew.patton@duke.edu

Pietro Peretto, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1807

peretto@econ.duke.edu

Arlie O. Petters

Professor of Economics

(919) 684-3465

arlie.petters@duke.edu

Alexander Pfaff Talikoff

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 9240

alex.pfaff@duke.edu

Billy Pizer

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 9286

billy.pizer@duke.edu

Thomas Polley

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

thomas.polley@duke.edu

Prof Adriano Rampini, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 7797

rampini@duke.edu

Tyler Ransom

Affiliate

tyler.ransom@duke.edu

Emma Rasiel

Eads Professor of the Practice in Energy

+1 919 660 1837

emma.rasiel@duke.edu

Katie-Rose Repp

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1847

katie.rose.repp@duke.edu

Elizabeth Richardson

Communications Specialist

+1 919 660 1895

e.richardson@duke.edu

David Ridley

Professor of the Practice of Economics

+1 919 660 3784

david.ridley@duke.edu

James Roberts

Fred W. Shaffer Professor

+1 919 660 1800

j.roberts@duke.edu

Francisco Javier Romero Haaker

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1880

javier.romero@duke.edu

Adam Rosen

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

adam.rosen@duke.edu

Philipp Sadowski

Associate Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1817

p.sadowski@duke.edu

Bryce Safrit

Research Assistant, Master's Student

+1 919 660 4327

bryce.safrit@duke.edu

Jonathan Salcedo

Staff

+1 919 668 9100

jonathan.salcedo@duke.edu

Fernando Saltiel

Affiliate

fernando.saltiel@duke.edu

Seth Sanders, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1898

seth.sanders@duke.edu

Todd Sarver

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1855

todd.sarver@duke.edu

Prof Steve Sexton, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 9348

steven.sexton@duke.edu

Modibo Sidibe

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1801

modibo.sidibe@duke.edu

Frank Sloan, Ph.D.

J. Alexander McMahon Professor Emeritus of Health Policy and Management

+1 919 613 9358

fsloan@duke.edu

Martin Smith, Ph.D.

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 613 8028

martin.smith@duke.edu

Addie Stagg

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1884

addie.stagg@duke.edu

Artem Streltsov

Associate In Research

+1 919 613 1306

artem.streltsov@duke.edu

Juan Carlos Suarez Serrato

Kathleen Kaylor and G. Richard Wagoner, Jr. Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

jc.suarez@duke.edu

George Tauchen, Ph.D.

William Henry Glasson Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1812

george.tauchen@duke.edu

Curtis Taylor, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1827

crtaylor@econ.duke.edu

Duncan Thomas

Norb F. Schaefer Professor of International Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

+1 919 660 1803

d.thomas@duke.edu

Christopher Timmins, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1809

christopher.timmins@duke.edu

Giovanni Toniolo, Ph.D.

Research Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1855

giannit@econ.duke.edu

Edward Tower, Ph.D.

Professor with Tenure

+1 919 660 1818

tower@econ.duke.edu

Liisa Trent

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 1800

liisa.trent@duke.edu

Laqwanda Trice

Accounting Specialist

+1 919 660 1850

laqwanda.trice@duke.edu

Jennifer Valentyn

Program Coord

+1 919 660 1813

jennifer.valentyn@duke.edu

S "Vish" Viswanathan

Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 660 7784

viswanat@duke.edu

Kate Vyborny, Ph.D.

Research Associate

+1 919 660 1800

katherine.vyborny@duke.edu

Dudley Wallace, Ph.D.

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

tdwallace@coastalnet.com

Mengke Wang

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

mengke.wang@duke.edu

Xiao Yu Wang

Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics

+1 919 660 1800

xy.wang@duke.edu

E Roy Weintraub, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Economics

+1 919 660 1838

erw@duke.edu

Brian Weller

Assistant Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1720

brian.weller@duke.edu

Laurel Wheeler

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 660 1800

laurel.wheeler@duke.edu

Yi Xu, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1824

yi.xu@duke.edu

Zilan Yang

Student

+1 919 613 7000

zilan.yang@duke.edu

Tiffany Yarborough

Financial Mgmt Analyst I

+1 919 684 9941

tiffany.yarborough@duke.edu

Arseniy Yashkin

Research Scientist

+1 919 681 8270

arseniy.yashkin@duke.edu

Huseyin Yildirim, Ph.D.

Professor of Economics

+1 919 660 1805

yildirh@econ.duke.edu

Lori Zagiba

Administrative Manager

+1 919 660 1852

lori.zagiba@duke.edu

Angela Zemonek

Administrative Assistant

+1 919 660 1893

angela.zemonek@duke.edu

Wei Zhang

Duke Temporary Service

+1 919 681 3132

wei.zhang675@duke.edu