English Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Robert Edward Mitchell

Marcello Lotti Professor of English

(919) 668-2547

rmitch@duke.edu

Business Manager

Catherine Beaver

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 684 2772

cabeaver@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dominika M Baran

Associate Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

dominika.baran@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Michelle Dove

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 6820

michelle.dove@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Kathy A. Psomiades

Associate Professor of English

(919) 684-5444

kathy.psomiades@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Maryscot Mullins

Graduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 5538

maryscot.mullins@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

David Aers

James B. Duke Professor of English

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Monika Allison

Financial Assistant

+1 919 684 4289

mallison@duke.edu

James W. Applewhite

Professor Emeritus of English

(919) 684-5444

james.applewhite@duke.edu

Nancy Armstrong

Gilbert, Louis, and Edward Lehrman Professor of English in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 668-0314

n.b.armstrong@duke.edu

Christina Askounis

Lecturer Emerita of English

(919) 684-3094

askounis@duke.edu

Dominika M Baran

Associate Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

dominika.baran@duke.edu

Catherine Beaver

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 684 2772

cabeaver@duke.edu

Sarah Beckwith

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

ott@duke.edu

Taylor H Black

Assistant Professor of English

t.black@duke.edu

Richard Brodhead

William Preston Few Professor of English

(919) 684-2424

president@duke.edu

Ronald R. Butters

Professor Emeritus of English

(919) 684-6561

ronbutters@aol.com

Prof Lori Marie Carlson-Hijuelos

Lecturer

l.carlson@duke.edu

Sabrina Carr

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 9810

sabrina2@duke.edu

Brenna M Casey

Instructor* of English

brenna.casey@duke.edu

Lucy Corin

Visiting Professor of English

lucy.corin@duke.edu

Michael F D'Alessandro

Assistant Professor of English

michael.dalessandro@duke.edu

Cathy N. Davidson

Ruth F. DeVarney Professor Emerita of Interdisciplinary Studies

(919) 684-8471

cathy.davidson@duke.edu

A Leigh Deneef, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of English

+1 919 681 1559

ldn@duke.edu

Joseph Donahue

Professor of the Practice in the Department of English

(919) 684-2741

joseph.donahue@duke.edu

Michelle Dove

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 6820

michelle.dove@duke.edu

Oliver W Ferguson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 684 2741

jfof2047@gmail.com

Thomas J. Ferraro

Professor of English

(919) 684-3718

ferraro@duke.edu

C Faulkner Fox

Lecturing Fellow of English

(919) 684-2741

ffox@duke.edu

Gerald E. Gerber

Associate Professor Emeritus

gerald.gerber@duke.edu

Astrid Adele Giugni

Instructor of English

astrid.giugni@duke.edu

George D. Gopen

Professor of Practice Emeritus of English

(919) 660-4375

ggopen@duke.edu

Matia Guardabascio

Event Coordinator and Assistant to the Business Manager

+1 919 684 2741

matia.guardabascio@duke.edu

N. Katherine Hayles

Professor Emerita of English

(919) 684-4127

katherine.hayles@duke.edu

Quanta Holden

Web and Communications Specialist

+1 919 684 2203

quanta.holden@duke.edu

Karla Holloway

James B. Duke Professor Emerita of English

(919) 684-8993

karla.holloway@duke.edu

Tsitsi Ella Jaji

Associate Professor of English

tsitsi.jaji@duke.edu

Buford Jones

Associate Professor Emeritus of English

(919) 684-3873

bujones@duke.edu

Christophe Kennedy, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Athletics

+1 919 668 5702

ckennedy@duke.edu

Ranjana Khanna

Professor of English

(919) 668-2548

rkhanna@duke.edu

Ryan Ku

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 2741

ryanson.ku@duke.edu

Nathaniel Mackey

Reynolds Price Professor of Creative Writing

nathaniel.mackey@duke.edu

Melissa Malouf

Professor of the Practice in the Department of English

(919) 682-3119

mmalouf@duke.edu

Jarvis C McInnis

Assistant Professor of English

jarvis.mcinnis@duke.edu

Elgin Mellown

Assoicate Professor Emeritus

melelg@gmail.com

Robert Edward Mitchell

Marcello Lotti Professor of English

(919) 668-2547

rmitch@duke.edu

Toril Moi

Professor of English

(919) 668-6407

toril@duke.edu

Michael Valdez Moses

Associate Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-8880

mmoses@duke.edu

Maryscot Mullins

Graduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 684 5538

maryscot.mullins@duke.edu

Mark Anthony Neal

Professor of English

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Robert D Newman

AdjunctProfessor of English

Hung Nguyen

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 5131

hung.nguyen@duke.edu

Meghan O'Neil

Administrative Coord

+1 919 681 0703

mmo12@duke.edu

Thomas Pfau

Alice Mary Baldwin Professor of English

(919) 681-3098

pfau@duke.edu

Deborah Pope

Professor Emerita of English

(919) 684-2899

dpope@duke.edu

Joseph A. Porter

Professor in the Department of English

(919) 684-3884

japorter@duke.edu

Kathy A. Psomiades

Associate Professor of English

(919) 684-5444

kathy.psomiades@duke.edu

Maureen Quilligan

R. Florence Brinkley Professor Emerita of English

(919) 681-2149

mquillig@duke.edu

Carol Renegar

Staff

+1 919 684 6820

crenegar@duke.edu

Bradley Rogers

Assistant Professor of English

b.rogers@duke.edu

Prof Judith Ruderman, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor

judith.ruderman@duke.edu

Cathy Shuman

Lecturing Fellow of English

(919) 684-5767

cathy.shuman@duke.edu

Ellen Song

Graduate Assistant

ellen.song@duke.edu

Corina M Stan

Assistant Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

corina.stan@duke.edu

Victor H. Strandberg

Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-3976

vhs@duke.edu

Charlotte S. Sussman

Associate Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

charlotte.sussman@duke.edu

Leonard Tennenhouse

Professor of English

(919) 684-1884

l.tennenhouse@duke.edu

Julie A. Tetel

Professor in the Department of English

(919) 681-7610

jtetel@duke.edu

Marianna Torgovnick

Professor of English

(919) 684-2110

tor@duke.edu

Aarthi Vadde

Associate Professor of English

aarthi.vadde@duke.edu

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu

Julianne Werlin

Bacca Foundation Assistant Professor of Rhetoric, Culture and Society

jw476@duke.edu

George W. Williams

Professor Emeritus

(919) 684-5827

hpgw@duke.edu

Susan Willis

Associate Professor Emeritus of English

(919) 668-6204

susan.willis@duke.edu

Joseph Richard Winters

Assistant Professor of English

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu