Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Gabriel Nathan Rosenberg

Assistant Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

gabriel.rosenberg@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Jeremy Boomhower

Staff Assistant

+1 919 684 3770

jeremy.boomhower@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Ara Wilson

Associate Professor of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

(919) 684-9179

ara.wilson@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Julie Wynmor

Program Coordinator

+1 919 684 3770

julie.wynmor@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Stanley Abe

Associate Professor of Art and Art History

(919) 684-2487

stanley.abe@duke.edu

Susan C. Alberts

Robert F. Durden Professor of Biology

(919) 660-7272

alberts@duke.edu

Anne Allison

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-6257

anne.allison@duke.edu

Mark Antliff

Anne Murnick Cogan Professor of Art and Art History

(919) 684-5286

antliff@duke.edu

Nancy Armstrong

Gilbert, Louis, and Edward Lehrman Professor of English in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 668-0314

n.b.armstrong@duke.edu

Rebecca L. Bach

Associate Professor of the Practice Emerita of Sociology

(919) 660-5606

rbach@soc.duke.edu

Nicole Elizabeth Barnes

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

(919) 684-8102

nicole.barnes@duke.edu

Katharine T. Bartlett

A. Kenneth Pye Professor of Law

(919) 613-8515

bartlett@law.duke.edu

Mary T. Boatwright

Professor of Classical Studies

(919) 684-3189

tboat@duke.edu

Jeremy Boomhower

Staff Assistant

+1 919 684 3770

jeremy.boomhower@duke.edu

Sherryl A. Broverman

Associate Professor of the Practice of Biology

(919) 668-0228

sbrover@duke.edu

Kim Carlisle

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 684 3770

kim.carlisle@duke.edu

Brenna M Casey

Instructor* of English

brenna.casey@duke.edu

William H. Chafe

Alice Mary Baldwin Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-5436

william.chafe@duke.edu

Rey Chow

Anne Firor Scott Professor of Literature in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3045

rey.chow@duke.edu

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3505

lizclark@duke.edu

Leslie H. Damasceno

Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Portuguese

(212) 513-8699

ljhd@duke.edu

Thomas DeFrantz

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 668-1929

t.defrantz@duke.edu

Sarah Jane Deutsch

Professor of History

(919) 684-2602

sarah.deutsch@duke.edu

Barbara Dickinson

Professor of the Practice Emerita of Dance

(919) 660-3354

bhdic@duke.edu

Patrice D. Douglass

Assistant Professor of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

patrice.douglass@duke.edu

Laura F. Edwards

Peabody Family Professor of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 668-1435

ledwards@duke.edu

Valeria Finucci

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3119

vfinucci@duke.edu

John D. French

Professor of History

(919) 684-2536

jdfrench@duke.edu

Mary Fulkerson

Professor of Theology

(919) 660-3458

mfulk@duke.edu

Esther Leah Gabara

E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3100

egabara@duke.edu

Jehanne Gheith

Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3147

gheith@duke.edu

Thavolia Glymph

Professor in History

(919) 668-1625

thavolia@duke.edu

Deborah T. Gold

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

(919) 660-7530

deborah.gold@duke.edu

Margaret Rich Greer

Professor Emeritus of Romance Studies

(415) 913-7171

mgreer@duke.edu

Elizabeth Grosz

Jean Fox O'Barr Women's Studies Professor in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-4052

elizabeth.grosz@duke.edu

Amy Laura Hall

Associate Professor of Christian Ethics

(919) 660-3403

alhall@div.duke.edu

Michael Hardt

Professor of Literature

(919) 684-3408

hardt@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religion

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Frances Susan Hasso

Associate Professor of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

(919) 684-5097

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Beth Holmgren

Professor with Tenure

(919) 660-3140

beth.holmgren@duke.edu

Guo-Juin Hong

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 660-4396

gjhong@duke.edu

Mary Hovsepian

Lecturing Fellow of Sociology

(919) 660-5612

mary.hovsepian@duke.edu

Andrew Janiak

Professor in the Department of Philosophy

(919) 660-3057

janiak@duke.edu

Deborah Jenson

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3122

deborah.jenson@duke.edu

Ranjana Khanna

Professor of English

(919) 668-2548

rkhanna@duke.edu

Robin Kirk

Lecturer in the Department of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0635

rights@duke.edu

Anna Krylova

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3871

anna.krylova@duke.edu

Timur Kuran

The Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-1800

t.kuran@duke.edu

Nayoung Aimee Kwon

Associate Professor in the Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 684-4086

na.kwon@duke.edu

Kimberly Kay Lamm

Associate Professor in the Program of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

(919) 684-9661

kkl9@duke.edu

Carolyn Laubender

Instructor

carolyn.laubender@duke.edu

Ralph A. Litzinger

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-6250

rlitz@duke.edu

Janie Long, Ph.D.

Assoicate Dean, Undergraduate Education

+1 919 668 3420

janie.long@duke.edu

Michele Longino

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3121

michele.longino@duke.edu

Wahneema H. Lubiano

Associate Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-2843

Anne-Maria B. Makhulu

Associate Professor in the Department of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 668-5251

amakhulu@duke.edu

Sucheta Mazumdar

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5490

skmmaz@duke.edu

Marjorie B. McElroy

Professor of Economics

(919) 660-1840

mcelroy@econ.duke.edu

Ellen McLarney

Associate Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

(919) 668-3849

ellenmc@duke.edu

Louise Meintjes

Associate Professor of Music

(919) 660-3339

meintjes@duke.edu

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3514

carol@duke.edu

Laura Micham

Director. Sallie Bingham Ctr, WMN'S History & Culture

+1 919 660 5828

laura.m@duke.edu

Walter Mignolo

William Hane Wannamaker Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 668-1949

walter1654@gmail.com

Ylana Miller

Visiting Assoc Professor

+1 919 668 1611

ymiller@duke.edu

Robert Edward Mitchell

Marcello Lotti Professor of English

(919) 668-2547

rmitch@duke.edu

Toril Moi

James B. Duke Professor of Literature

(919) 668-6407

toril@duke.edu

Jane Moss, M.D.

Visiting Professor in IS - North American Studies

jane.moss@duke.edu

Negar Mottahedeh

Associate Professor of Literature

(919) 681-3461

negar@duke.edu

Jessica Namakkal

Assistant Professor of the Practice in the International Comparative Studies Progra

(919) 660-4353

jessica.namakkal@duke.edu

Mark Anthony Neal

James B. Duke Professor of African and African American Studies

(919) 684-3987

man9@duke.edu

Diane Michele Nelson

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-2069

dmnelson@duke.edu

Logan O'Laughlin

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 3770

logan.olaughlin@duke.edu

Jocelyn Olcott

Professor of History

(919) 668-5298

olcott@duke.edu

David L. Paletz

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4329

paletz@duke.edu

Charles D. Piot

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3264

charles.piot@duke.edu

Richard J. Powell

John Spencer Bassett Professor of Art and Art History, in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-2473

richard.powell@duke.edu

Leela Prasad

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3533

leela@duke.edu

Maureen Quilligan

R. Florence Brinkley Professor Emerita of English

(919) 681-2149

mquillig@duke.edu

Ann Marie Rasmussen

Professor Emerita of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3160

annmarie.rasmussen@duke.edu

Martha Reeves

Professor of the Practice of Sociology

(919) 660-5696

mreeves@duke.edu

Bradley Rogers

Assistant Professor of Theater Studies

b.rogers@duke.edu

Carlos Rojas

Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

c.rojas@duke.edu

Gabriel Nathan Rosenberg

Assistant Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

gabriel.rosenberg@duke.edu

Susan Roth

Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Neuroscience

(919) 684-1964

src@duke.edu

Mary K. Rudy

Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

(919) 949-5338

krudy@duke.edu

Stephanie Rytilahti

Graduate Assistant

stephanie.rytilahti@duke.edu

Anne F. Scott

William K. Boyd Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2103

annefiror@gmail.com

Stephanie Sieburth

Professor of Romance Studies

(919) 660-3125

sieburth@duke.edu

Peter Sigal

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3551

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 641-0319

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Lynn Smith-Lovin

Robert L. Wilson Professor of Sociology in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-5786

smithlov@duke.edu

Orin Starn

Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-3221

ostarn@duke.edu

Rebecca L. Stein

Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-4663

rlstein@duke.edu

Kristine Stiles

France Family Professor of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies

(919) 684-2467

awe@duke.edu

Leonard Tennenhouse

Professor of English

(919) 684-1884

l.tennenhouse@duke.edu

Marianna Torgovnick

Professor of English

(919) 684-2110

tor@duke.edu

Antonio Viego

Associate Professor of Literature

(919) 668-2687

antonioviego@yahoo.com

Priscilla Wald

R. Florence Brinkley Professor of English

(919) 684-6869

pwald@duke.edu

Kathi Weeks

Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

(919) 684-5840

kweeks@duke.edu

Robyn Wiegman

Professor of Literature

(919) 684-4127

rwiegman@duke.edu

Ara Wilson

Associate Professor of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

(919) 684-9179

ara.wilson@duke.edu

David B. Wong

Susan Fox Beischer and George D. Beischer Trinity College Arts and Sciences Professor of Philosophy

(919) 660-3046

d.wong@duke.edu

Julie Wynmor

Program Coordinator

+1 919 684 3770

julie.wynmor@duke.edu

miriam cooke

Braxton Craven Professor Emerita of Arab Cultures

(919) 684-2312

mcw@duke.edu