Germanic Languages & Literature Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Stefani Engelstein

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3173

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Business Manager

Margaret Swanson

Departmental Business Mgr I

+1 919 660 3104

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ingeborg C. Walther

Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3163

waltheri@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Henry Pickford

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3089

henry.pickford@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Arthur T. Alt

Professor Emeritus

(919) 660-3160

ata@duke.edu

Helga W. Bessent

Assistant Professor Emeritus

(919) 660-3172

hwb@duke.edu

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Corinne Petra Crane

Associate Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages

cpc32@duke.edu

Kristen Dolan

Instructor of German

+1 919 660 3076

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Stefani Engelstein

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3173

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Susanne Freytag

Lecturing Fellow of German

(919) 660-3065

susanne.freytag@duke.edu

Kata Gellen

Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3168

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Bryan Gilliam

Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3321

bgilliam@duke.edu

April Henry

Instructor

+1 919 660 3171

april.henry@duke.edu

Christa T. Johns

Lecturer Emeritus

(919) 660-3160

ctjohns@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Language and Literature

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

(919) 660-5984

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Michael M. Morton

Research Professor Emeritus in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3169

mmorton@duke.edu

Jakob Norberg

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3161

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

Thomas Pfau

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 681-3098

pfau@duke.edu

Henry Pickford

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3089

henry.pickford@duke.edu

Ann Marie Rasmussen

Professor Emerita of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3160

annmarie.rasmussen@duke.edu

James L. Rolleston

Professor Emeritus

(919) 660-3162

jroll@duke.edu

Margaret Swanson

Departmental Business Mgr I

+1 919 660 3104

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Dorothy Thorpe-Turner

Staff Assistant DUSA/DGSA

+1 919 660 3076

d.turner@duke.edu

Ingeborg C. Walther

Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages and Literature

(919) 660-3163

waltheri@duke.edu

Jochen Wohlfeil

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin

jochen.wohlfeil@duke.edu