Physics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Warren S. Warren

Chair of Physics

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Steffen A. Bass

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2479

bass@phy.duke.edu

Business Manager

Patty Hight Davis

Administrative Mgr, Dept of Physics

+1 919 660 2960

patty.hight.davis@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Kate Scholberg

Arts & Sciences Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2962

schol@phy.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

John M. Mercer

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies of Physics

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Jessa Witzel

Staff

+1 919 660 2492

jessica.witzel@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Stephen W. Teitsworth

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2560

teitso@phy.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

John M. Mercer

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies of Physics

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Paul Stephen Aspinwall

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2874

psa@cgtp.duke.edu

Ted Avraham

Affiliate

ted.avraham@duke.edu

Venkitesh Ayyar

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

venkitesh.ayyar@duke.edu

Jörn Bach

Affiliate

jorn.bach@duke.edu

Paul Monroe Baker

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physics

paul.m.baker@duke.edu

Harold U. Baranger

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2598

harold.baranger@duke.edu

Phillip S. Barbeau

Assistant Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2629

psbarbeau@phy.duke.edu

Thomas Barthel

Charles H. Townes Assistant Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2965

barthel@phy.duke.edu

Steffen A. Bass

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2479

bass@phy.duke.edu

Robert P. Behringer

James B. Duke Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2550

bob@phy.duke.edu

Doug Benjamin, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Douglas.Benjamin@duke.edu

David N. Beratan

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1526

david.beratan@duke.edu

Jonah Bernhard

Research Associate

jonah.bernhard@duke.edu

Cacey Bester, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

cacey.stevens@phy.duke.edu

Rita Boggs

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

+1 919 681 2691

rita.boggs@duke.edu

Yuriy Bomze

Lab Administrator

+1 919 660 2500

bomze456@phy.duke.edu

Hubert Bray

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 757-8428

hubert.bray@duke.edu

Kenneth R Brown

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1376

kenneth.r.brown@duke.edu

Robert Brown

Lecturer of Physics

(919) 660-2567

rgb@phy.duke.edu

Nicolas Brunel

Professor of Physics

(919) 684-8684

nicolas.brunel@duke.edu

Luiz Bugatti Guessi

Affiliate

luiz.bugatti.guessi@duke.edu

Matthew Busch

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2694

matthew.busch@duke.edu

Robert Calderbank

Professor of Physics

(919) 613-7874

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Tom Calisto

Research & Dev Engineer II

+1 919 660 2956

thomas.calisto@tunl.duke.edu

Bret Carlin

Manager, Computing/elec Fac

+1 919 660 2544

carlin@tunl.duke.edu

Mayra Cervantes, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

mdc61@phy.duke.edu

Arthur Ernest Champagne

Adjunct Professor of Physics

aec29@tunl.duke.edu

Shailesh Chandrasekharan

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2462

Albert M. Chang

Professor of Physics

albert.chang@duke.edu

Patrick Charbonneau

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 613-6261

patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu

David Chen, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

dzc@duke.edu

Yuxuan Cheng

Affiliate

yuxuan.cheng@duke.edu

Connie Cox

International Exchange Coordinator

+1 919 660 2575

ycc@phy.duke.edu

Alexander Crowell

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2639

alexander.crowell@duke.edu

Stefano Curtarolo

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-5506

Lin Dai

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

lin.dai@duke.edu

Patty Hight Davis

Administrative Mgr, Dept of Physics

+1 919 660 2960

patty.hight.davis@duke.edu

Olivier Delaire

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5606

olivier.delaire@duke.edu

Shaun D Diehl

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2681

shaun.diehl@duke.edu

Sachith Dissanayake

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2491

sachith.dissanayake@duke.edu

James T. Dobbins

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 684-4859

james.dobbins@duke.edu

Jimmy Dorff

IT Senior Manager

+1 919 660 2565

jdorff@phy.duke.edu

Anne Draelos

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 757 327 2834

amw73@duke.edu

Bastiaan Driehuys

Professor of Physics

(919) 684-7786

bastiaan.driehuys@duke.edu

John Dunham

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2542

john.dunham@duke.edu

Glenn S. Edwards

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2674

gedwards@phy.duke.edu

Mark Emamian

Research & Dev Engineer III

+1 919 660 2649

marke@fel.duke.edu

Lawrence E. Evans

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2576

lee@phy.duke.edu

Henry Everitt

Adjunct Professor of Physics

(256) 876-1623

heveritt@duke.edu

Joseph Faircloth

Coordinator, Projects/Bldg Maint

+1 919 660 2651

joseph.faircloth@duke.edu

Yao-Lung Fang

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

yao.lung.fang@duke.edu

Timothy Fields Jr

Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 681 5427

timothy.fields2@duke.edu

Sean Finch

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2500

sean.finch@duke.edu

Gleb Finkelstein

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2523

Martin Fischer

Associate Research Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1523

Jack Fowler

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2562

fowler@phy.duke.edu

Jernej Frank

Associate In Research

jernej.frank@duke.edu

Haiyan Gao

Henry Newson Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2622

haiyan.gao@dku.edu.cn

Angela Garner

Fiscal Specialist

+1 919 660 2503

agarner@phy.duke.edu

Daniel J. Gauthier

Research Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2511

Henry Greenside

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2548

hsg@phy.duke.edu

Chao Gu

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

cg225@duke.edu

Hao Hao

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2500

haohao@fel.duke.edu

Sara Haravifard

William M. Fairbank Assistant Professor of Physics

(919) 613-6821

haravifard@phy.duke.edu

Calvin R. Howell

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2632

howell@tunl.duke.edu

Emilie Huffman

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 660 2500

emilie.huffman@duke.edu

Arunkumar Jagannathan

Postdoctoral Associate

arunkumar.jagannathan@duke.edu

Payman Jalali

Affiliate

payman.jalali@duke.edu

Bernard Jelinek

Instrument Shop Manager

+1 919 660 2587

jelinek@phy.duke.edu

Douglas Johnson

Senior Vacuum Technician

+1 919 660 2664

douglas.m.johnson@duke.edu

G. Allan Johnson

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 684-7754

gjohnson@duke.edu

Anuj J Kapadia

Assistant Research Professor in Physics

(919) 684-1442

Sargis Karapetyan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 7372

sargis.karapetyan@duke.edu

Chung Ting Ke

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

chung.ting.ke@duke.edu

Jungsang Kim

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5258

jungsang@ee.duke.edu

Dieter Klopfenstein

Affiliate

dieter.klopfenstein@duke.edu

Lucas Kluge

Affiliate

lucas.kluge@duke.edu

John Kolena, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

kolena@gmail.com

Fnu Krishichayan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

krishichayan@gmail.com

Stephen Kuhn, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate

stephen.kuhn@duke.edu

Tianbo LIU

Staff

+1 919 660 2500

tianbo.liu@duke.edu

Kyle Lafata

Postdoctoral Associate

kyle.lafata@duke.edu

Amber Lauer

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2600

amber.lauer@duke.edu

Dewey Lawson, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

dtl@phy.duke.edu

Derek Leadbetter

Laboratory Administrator

+1 919 681 9283

derek.leadbetter@duke.edu

Gale Lewis Jr

Senior Instrument Maker

+1 919 660 2531

lewis@phy.duke.edu

Todd Lewis

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 2500

todd.lewis@duke.edu

Lihui Li

Affiliate

lihui.li@duke.edu

Shu Li

Postdoctoral Associate

shuli@phy.duke.edu

Zepeng Li

Graduate Assistant

zl56@duke.edu

Natalia Litchinitser

Professor of Physics

natalia.litchinitser@duke.edu

Jian-Guo Liu

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2500

jian-guo.liu@duke.edu

Hongcheng Lu

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

hongcheng.lu@duke.edu

Jianfeng Lu

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Iman Marvian

Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-2903

iman.marvian@duke.edu

Travis Maxfield

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

travis.maxfield@duke.edu

Kenneth McKenzie

Laboratory Administrator

+1 919 668 2659

kam39@phy.duke.edu

Matthew Meers

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

+1 919 660 2500

matthew.meers@duke.edu

Thomas C. Mehen

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2555

mehen@phy.duke.edu

John M. Mercer

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies of Physics

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Eli Meyerhoff

Instructor

+1 919 660 4351

eli.meyerhoff@duke.edu

Stepan Mikhailov

Research Scientist, Senior

+1 919 660 2647

smikhail@fel.duke.edu

Maiken Mikkelsen

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-0185

m.mikkelsen@duke.edu

Abhishek Mohapatra

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

abhishek.mohapatra@duke.edu

Ana Mosquera Gomez

Affiliate

ana.mosquera.gomez@duke.edu

Berndt Mueller

James B. Duke Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2570

muller@phy.duke.edu

Richard Nappi

Manager, Physics Instructional Shop

+1 919 660 2531

rnappi@phy.duke.edu

Richard O'Quinn

Accelerator Maintenance Supervisor

+1 919 660 2957

oquinn@tunl.duke.edu

Richard G. Palmer

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2559

palmer@phy.duke.edu

Jean-Francois Paquet

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 613 6966

jeanfrancois.paquet@duke.edu

Cristin Paul

Staff Specialist, Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 660 2491

cmryman@duke.edu

Maurice Pentico Jr

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2646

pentico@phy.duke.edu

Daniel Pershey

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

daniel.pershey@duke.edu

Arlie O. Petters

Professor of Physics

(919) 684-3465

arlie.petters@duke.edu

An Pham

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

an.t.pham@duke.edu

Thomas Phillips, Ph.D.

Staff

phillips@phy.duke.edu

M. Ronen Plesser

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-9668

plesser@cgtp.duke.edu

Victor Popov

Staff

+1 919 660 2501

vpopov@fel.duke.edu

Vernon Rathbone

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2500

vernon.rathbone@duke.edu

Nathan Roberson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Physics

+1 919 660 2600

russell-roberson@nc.rr.com

Hugh Robinson

Professor Emeritus

hrbrok4@gmail.com

Aj Roeth

Nonduke Student/Intern

+1 919 660 2500

ajroeth110@gmail.com

Arya Roy

Lecturing Fellow of Physics

(919) 660-2800

arya.roy@duke.edu

Michael Rubinstein

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5365

michael.rubinstein@duke.edu

Ehsan Samei

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 684-7852

Christoph F. Schmidt

Hertha Sponer Professor of Physics

christoph.schmidt@duke.edu

Kate Scholberg

Arts & Sciences Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2962

schol@phy.duke.edu

Daniel Scolnic

Affiliate

daniel.scolnic@duke.edu

Margaret Shea

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

margaret.shea@duke.edu

Chih-Wan Sheu

Project Coordinator

+1 919 660 2698

gsheu@tunl.duke.edu

Zhenzhong Shi

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

zhenzhong.shi@duke.edu

Mark Sikora

Postdoctoral Associate

msikora@tunl.duke.edu

Katherine Siler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 2502

katherine.siler@duke.edu

David R. Smith

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5376

drsmith@duke.edu

Joshua Socolar

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2557

socolar@phy.duke.edu

Jennifer Solis

HEP Administrative Assistant

+1 919 660 2583

jw190@duke.edu

Roxanne P. Springer

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2676

Gary Swift

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2668

gary.swift@duke.edu

Stephen W. Teitsworth

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2560

teitso@phy.duke.edu

Brogan Thomas

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2500

bthoma35@tunl.duke.edu

John E. Thomas

Fritz London Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2508

jet@phy.duke.edu

June Tirpak

Advanced Grants & Contracts Administrator

+1 919 660 2600

june.tirpak@tunl.duke.edu

Werner Tornow

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2637

tornow@tunl.duke.edu

Andrew Traverso

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

travaj@gmail.com

Michael Troxel

Affiliate

michael.troxel@duke.edu

Jared Vanasse

Postdoctoral Associate

uberjvanasse@gmail.com

Miriam Vines

Specialist, Grants and Contracts

+1 919 660 2510

mcr7@duke.edu

Anselm G. Vossen

Assistant Professor of Physics

anselm.vossen@duke.edu

Constance Walker, Ph.D.

Staff

cwalker@tunl.duke.edu

Patrick Wallace, Ph.D.

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2661

patwalla@fel.duke.edu

Christopher Walter

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2535

chris.walter@duke.edu

Chiho Wang, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2527

chiho@phy.duke.edu

Dong Wang

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2500

dong.wang@duke.edu

Meimei Wang

Affiliate

mmwang0302@hotmail.com

Warren S. Warren

Chair of Physics

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Adam P. Wax

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5143

a.wax@duke.edu

Henry R. Weller

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2633

weller@tunl.duke.edu

Chris Westerfeldt, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2545

cwest@tunl.duke.edu

Barry Wilson

IT Analyst

+1 919 660 2963

barryj@phy.duke.edu

Jessa Witzel

Staff

+1 919 660 2492

jessica.witzel@duke.edu

Ying Wu

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2654

wu@fel.duke.edu

Jun Yan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2681

jun.yan@duke.edu

Shen Yan

Teaching Assistant

shen.yan@duke.edu

Weitao Yang

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-1562

weitao.yang@duke.edu

Stephen Yates

Associate In Research

stephen.yates@duke.edu

Gu Zhang

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

gu.zhang@duke.edu

Zhiwen Zhao

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2574

zhiwen.zhao@duke.edu

Hu Zheng

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2500

hz64@phy.duke.edu

Pil-Neyo seo

Postdoctoral Associate

pil-neyo.seo@duke.edu