Physics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Steffen A. Bass

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2479

bass@phy.duke.edu

Associate Chair

Kate Scholberg

Arts & Sciences Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2962

schol@phy.duke.edu

Business Manager

Patty Hight

Administrative Mgr, Dept of Physics

+1 919 660 2960

patty.hight@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ayana T. Arce

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 684-1723

atarce@phy.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

John M. Mercer

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Biology

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Timothy Fields Jr

Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 660 2492

timothy.fields2@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

John M. Mercer

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Biology

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Katherine Siler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 2502

katherine.siler@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Aghil Abed Zadeh

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 8684

aghil.abed.zadeh@duke.edu

Octavio Albarran Arriagada

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

octavio.albarran.arriagada@duke.edu

Ayana T. Arce

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 684-1723

atarce@phy.duke.edu

Paul Stephen Aspinwall

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2874

psa@cgtp.duke.edu

Rabin Bag

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

rabindranath.bag@duke.edu

Paul Baker, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Physics

+1 919 660 2500

paul.m.baker@duke.edu

Harold U. Baranger

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2598

harold.baranger@duke.edu

Phillip S. Barbeau

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2629

psbarbeau@phy.duke.edu

Thomas Barthel

Charles H. Townes Assistant Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2965

barthel@phy.duke.edu

Steffen A. Bass

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2479

bass@phy.duke.edu

James Beacham

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

james.beacham@duke.edu

David N. Beratan

R.J. Reynolds Professor of Chemistry

(919) 660-1526

david.beratan@duke.edu

Jonah Bernhard

Affiliate

jonah.bernhard@duke.edu

Rita Boggs

Senior Grants & Contracts Administrator

+1 919 681 2691

rita.boggs@duke.edu

Yuriy Bomze

Lab Administrator

+1 919 660 2500

bomze456@phy.duke.edu

Hubert Bray

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 757-8428

hubert.bray@duke.edu

Kenneth R Brown

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1376

kenneth.r.brown@duke.edu

Robert Brown

Lecturer of Physics

(919) 660-2567

rgb@phy.duke.edu

Nicolas Brunel

Professor of Physics

(919) 684-8684

nicolas.brunel@duke.edu

Luiz Bugatti Guessi

Affiliate

luiz.bugatti.guessi@duke.edu

Matthew Busch

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2694

matthew.busch@duke.edu

Robert Calderbank

Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science

(919) 613-7874

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Tom Calisto

Research & Dev Engineer II

+1 919 660 2956

thomas.calisto@tunl.duke.edu

Bret Carlin

Manager, Computing/elec Fac

+1 919 660 2544

carlin@duke.edu

Arthur Champagne III, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Physics

+1 919 660 2607

aec29@tunl.duke.edu

Shailesh Chandrasekharan

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2462

Albert M. Chang

Professor of Physics

albert.chang@duke.edu

Thomas Chappelow

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 0010

thomas.chappelow@duke.edu

Patrick Charbonneau

Associate Professor of Chemistry

(919) 613-6261

patrick.charbonneau@duke.edu

Yuxuan Cheng

Affiliate

yuxuan.cheng@duke.edu

Connie Cox

International Exchange Coordinator

+1 919 660 2575

ycc@phy.duke.edu

Alexander Crowell

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2639

alexander.crowell@duke.edu

Stefano Curtarolo

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-5506

Scott Danielsen

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 5310

scott.danielsen@duke.edu

Olivier Delaire

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

(919) 660-5606

olivier.delaire@duke.edu

Shaun D Diehl

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2681

shaun.diehl@duke.edu

Christopher Dilks

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

christopher.dilks@duke.edu

Sachith Dissanayake

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2491

sachith.dissanayake@duke.edu

James T. Dobbins

Professor in Radiology

(919) 684-4859

james.dobbins@duke.edu

Jimmy Dorff

IT Senior Manager

+1 919 660 2565

jdorff@duke.edu

Anne Draelos

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 613 1505

amw73@duke.edu

Bastiaan Driehuys

Professor of Radiology

(919) 684-7786

bastiaan.driehuys@duke.edu

John Dunham

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2542

john.dunham@duke.edu

Glenn S. Edwards

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2674

gedwards@phy.duke.edu

Mark Emamian

Research & Dev Engineer III

+1 919 660 2649

marke@fel.duke.edu

Lawrence E. Evans

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2576

lee@phy.duke.edu

Henry Everitt

Adjunct Professor of Physics

(256) 876-1623

heveritt@duke.edu

Joseph Faircloth

Coordinator, Projects/Bldg Maint

+1 919 660 2651

joseph.faircloth@duke.edu

Yao-Lung Fang

Affiliate

yao.lung.fang@duke.edu

Timothy Fields Jr

Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant

+1 919 660 2492

timothy.fields2@duke.edu

Sean Finch

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2623

sean.finch@duke.edu

Gleb Finkelstein

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2523

Martin Fischer

Associate Research Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1523

Kim Fogg

Grants and Contracts Manager

+1 919 660 1307

kim.fogg@duke.edu

Jack Fowler

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2562

fowler@phy.duke.edu

Forrest Friesen

Postdoctoral Associate

forrest.friesen@duke.edu

Haiyan Gao

Henry Newson Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2622

gao@phy.duke.edu

Renata Garces Perez

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

renata.garces@duke.edu

Angela Garner

Fiscal Specialist

+1 919 660 2503

agarner@phy.duke.edu

Behzad Golshaei

Visiting Grad Student

+1 919 660 2500

behzad.golshaei@duke.edu

Alfred T. Goshaw

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2584

goshaw@phy.duke.edu

Henry Greenside

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2548

hsg@phy.duke.edu

Harald Griesshammer

Affiliate

harald.griesshammer@duke.edu

Daniel Haertter

Visiting Grad Student

+1 919 660 2500

daniel.haertter@duke.edu

Hao Hao

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2500

haohao@fel.duke.edu

Sara Haravifard

William M. Fairbank Assistant Professor of Physics

(919) 613-6821

haravifard@phy.duke.edu

Abdulkarim Hariri

Affiliate

abdulkarim.hariri@duke.edu

Patty Hight

Administrative Mgr, Dept of Physics

+1 919 660 2960

patty.hight@duke.edu

Calvin R. Howell

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2632

howell@tunl.duke.edu

Emilie Huffman

Affiliate

emilie.huffman@duke.edu

Bernard Jelinek

Instrument Shop Manager

+1 919 660 2587

jelinek@phy.duke.edu

Douglas Johnson

Senior Vacuum Technician

+1 919 660 2664

douglas.m.johnson@duke.edu

G. Allan Johnson

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 684-7754

gjohnson@duke.edu

Anuj J Kapadia

Associate Professor in Radiology

(919) 684-1442

Sargis Karapetyan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 7372

sargis.karapetyan@duke.edu

Chung Ting Ke

Affiliate

chung.ting.ke@duke.edu

Vlad Khachatryan

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

vladimir.khachatryan@duke.edu

Jungsang Kim

Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5258

jungsang@ee.duke.edu

John Kolena, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

kolena@gmail.com

Ashutosh V. Kotwal

Fritz London Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2563

ashutosh.kotwal@duke.edu

Fnu Krishichayan

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2600

krishichayan@gmail.com

Mark C. Kruse

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-2564

mkruse@phy.duke.edu

Kyle Lafata

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2180

kyle.lafata@duke.edu

Amber Lauer

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2600

amber.lauer@duke.edu

Dewey Lawson, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

dtl@phy.duke.edu

Derek Leadbetter

Laboratory Administrator

+1 919 681 9283

derek.leadbetter@duke.edu

Gale Lewis Jr

Senior Instrument Maker

+1 919 660 2531

lewis@phy.duke.edu

Todd Lewis

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 8764

todd.lewis@duke.edu

Lihui Li

Affiliate

lihui.li@duke.edu

Shu Li

Affiliate

shuli@phy.duke.edu

Zepeng Li

Affiliate

zl56@duke.edu

Natalia Litchinitser

Professor of Physics

natalia.litchinitser@duke.edu

Jian-Guo Liu

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2500

jian-guo.liu@duke.edu

Jianfeng Lu

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Iman Marvian

Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-2903

iman.marvian@duke.edu

Travis Maxfield

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 5252

travis.maxfield@duke.edu

Kenneth McKenzie

Laboratory Administrator

+1 919 668 2659

kam39@phy.duke.edu

Thomas C. Mehen

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2555

mehen@phy.duke.edu

John M. Mercer

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Biology

(919) 660-7354

jmercer@duke.edu

Eli Meyerhoff

Program Coord

+1 919 684 6469

eli.meyerhoff@duke.edu

Stepan Mikhailov

Research Scientist, Senior

+1 919 660 2647

smikhail@fel.duke.edu

Abhishek Mohapatra

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

abhishek.mohapatra@duke.edu

John Moreland

Affiliate

john.moreland@duke.edu

Berndt Mueller

James B. Duke Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2570

muller@phy.duke.edu

Richard Nappi

Manager, Physics Instructional Shop

+1 919 660 2531

rnappi@phy.duke.edu

Kengo Nishi

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

kengo.nishi@duke.edu

Seog Oh

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2579

seog@phy.duke.edu

Oliver Orasch

Affiliate

oliver.orasch@uni-graz.at

Katherine Pachal

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

katherine.pachal@duke.edu

Richard G. Palmer

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2559

palmer@phy.duke.edu

Jean-Francois Paquet

Research Scientist

+1 919 613 6966

jeanfrancois.paquet@duke.edu

Cristin Paul

Staff Specialist, Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 660 2491

cmryman@duke.edu

Maurice Pentico Jr

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2657

maurice.pentico@duke.edu

Daniel Pershey

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

daniel.pershey@duke.edu

Arlie O. Petters

Benjamin Powell Professor of Mathematics

(919) 684-3465

arlie.petters@duke.edu

An Pham

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

an.t.pham@duke.edu

Thomas Phillips, Ph.D.

Staff

phillips@phy.duke.edu

M. Ronen Plesser

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-9668

plesser@cgtp.duke.edu

Victor Popov

Staff

+1 919 660 2501

vpopov@fel.duke.edu

Sufi Oasim Raja

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

sufi.raja@duke.edu

Vernon Rathbone

Accelerator Technician

+1 919 660 2500

vernon.rathbone@duke.edu

Nathan Roberson, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Physics

+1 919 660 2600

russell-roberson@nc.rr.com

Hugh Robinson

Professor Emeritus

hrbrok4@gmail.com

Aj Roeth

Nonduke Student/Intern

+1 919 660 2500

ajroeth110@gmail.com

Arya Roy

Lecturing Fellow of Physics

(919) 660-2800

arya.roy@duke.edu

Michael Rubinstein

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5365

michael.rubinstein@duke.edu

Ehsan Samei

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 684-7852

Bruno Sanchez

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

bruno.sanchez@duke.edu

Christoph F. Schmidt

Hertha Sponer Professor of Physics

cfschmidt@phy.duke.edu

Kate Scholberg

Arts & Sciences Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2962

schol@phy.duke.edu

Daniel M. Scolnic

Assistant Professor of Physics

daniel.scolnic@duke.edu

Chih-Wan Sheu

Project Coordinator

+1 919 660 2698

gsheu@tunl.duke.edu

Zhenzhong Shi

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2500

zhenzhong.shi@duke.edu

Wenda Si

Affiliate

wenda.si@duke.edu

Mark Sikora

Affiliate

msikora@tunl.duke.edu

Katherine Siler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 2502

katherine.siler@duke.edu

David R. Smith

James B. Duke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5376

drsmith@duke.edu

Joshua Socolar

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2557

socolar@phy.duke.edu

Jennifer Solis

HEP Administrative Assistant

+1 919 660 2500

jw190@duke.edu

Roxanne P. Springer

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2676

Gary Swift

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2668

gary.swift@duke.edu

Aaron Swindell

Affiliate

as182@duke.edu

Stephen W. Teitsworth

Associate Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2560

teitso@phy.duke.edu

Brogan Thomas

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2500

bthoma35@tunl.duke.edu

John E. Thomas

Fritz London Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2508

jet@phy.duke.edu

June Tirpak

Advanced Grants & Contracts Administrator

+1 919 660 2600

june.tirpak@tunl.duke.edu

Werner Tornow

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2637

tornow@tunl.duke.edu

Andrew Traverso

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 5252

travaj@gmail.com

Michael A. Troxel

Assistant Professor of Physics

michael.troxel@duke.edu

Jared Vanasse

Affiliate

uberjvanasse@gmail.com

Miriam Vines

Grants and Contracts Administrator

+1 919 660 2510

mcr7@duke.edu

Anselm G. Vossen

Assistant Professor of Physics

anselm.vossen@duke.edu

Constance Walker, Ph.D.

Staff

cwalker@tunl.duke.edu

Patrick Wallace, Ph.D.

Research & Devel Engineer III

+1 919 660 2661

patwalla@fel.duke.edu

Christopher Walter

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2535

chris.walter@duke.edu

Chiho Wang, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

chiho@phy.duke.edu

Meimei Wang

Affiliate

mmwang0302@hotmail.com

Xiaolei Wang

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 1523

xiaolei.wang@duke.edu

Warren S. Warren

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-1604

warren.warren@duke.edu

Adam P. Wax

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-5143

a.wax@duke.edu

Henry R. Weller

Professor Emeritus of Physics

(919) 660-2633

weller@tunl.duke.edu

Chris Westerfeldt, Ph.D.

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2545

cwest@tunl.duke.edu

Barry Wilson

IT Analyst

+1 919 660 2963

barryj@phy.duke.edu

Jessa Witzel

Staff

+1 919 660 2492

jessica.witzel@duke.edu

Ying Wu

Professor of Physics

(919) 660-2654

wu@phy.duke.edu

Jun Yan

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2667

jun.yan@duke.edu

Weitao Yang

Professor in the Department of Physics

(919) 660-1562

weitao.yang@duke.edu

Stephen Yates

Affiliate

stephen.yates@duke.edu

Gu Zhang

Affiliate

gu.zhang@duke.edu

Zhiwen Zhao

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2574

zhiwen.zhao@duke.edu

Hu Zheng

Research Scientist

+1 919 660 2500

hz64@phy.duke.edu