Political Science Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Georg Vanberg

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4311

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Associate Chair and M.A. Director of Graduate Studies

Bahar Leventoglu

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4314

bahar.leventoglu@duke.edu

Business Manager

Susan Emery

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 4305

susan.emery@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Michael C. Munger

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4301

munger@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Alfreda Marshall

Program Coord

+1 919 660 4325

am350@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies, Ph.D.

Kyle Beardsley

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4318

kyle.beardsley@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Kathy Ivanov

Program Coord

+1 919 660 4327

kathy.ivanov@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Peter Joachim Ahrensdorf

Visiting Professor of PoliticalScience

peter.ahrensdorf@duke.edu

John Aldrich

Pfizer, Inc./Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. University Distinguished Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4346

Jed W. Atkins

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 684-2695

jed.atkins@duke.edu

Gloria Ayee

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 4327

gloria.ayee@duke.edu

Carolyn Yvette Barnes

Assistant Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9290

carolyn.barnes@duke.edu

Kyle Beardsley

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4318

kyle.beardsley@duke.edu

Pablo Beramendi

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4336

pablo.beramendi@duke.edu

Sarah Blodgett Bermeo

Associate Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-7349

sarah.bermeo@duke.edu

H. Geoffrey Brennan

Research Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-5951

geoffrey.brennan@duke.edu

James Brock

Medical Assistant, Certified 1

+1 919 238 2053

james.brock1@duke.edu

Margaret Brown

Visiting Assistant Professor in Political Science

(919) 660-3058

margaret.brown2@duke.edu

Nicholas W. Carnes

Assistant Professor of Political Science

nicholas.carnes@duke.edu

Doris C. Cross

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 4328

dcross@duke.edu

Betsy Dessauer

Project Coord

+1 919 668 2748

dessauer@duke.edu

Victoria Dounoucos

Associate In Research

+1 919 681 3257

victoria.dounoucos@duke.edu

David Dow

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 4347

david.dow@duke.edu

Mark Dudley

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 684 0166

mark.dudley@duke.edu

Susan Emery

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 4305

susan.emery@duke.edu

Peter D. Feaver

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4331

pfeaver@duke.edu

Peter G. Fish

Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Law

(919) 660-4329

pfish@duke.edu

Adriane Stewart Fresh

Assistant Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4354

adriane.fresh@duke.edu

Michael A. Gillespie

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4308

mgillesp@duke.edu

Kristin Anne Goss

Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-7331

kgoss@duke.edu

Ruth W. Grant

Professor Emerita of Political Science

(919) 660-4300

grant@duke.edu

Joseph Grieco

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4315

grieco@duke.edu

Nora Hanagan

Lecturing Fellow of Political Science

(919) 660-4338

Kerry L. Haynie

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4366

klhaynie@duke.edu

Amber Hendley

Research Assistant, Master's Student

amber.hendley@duke.edu

D. Sunshine Hillygus

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4341

hillygus@duke.edu

Ole R. Holsti

George V. Allen Distinguished Professor Emeritus of International Relations

(919) 660-7051

holsti@duke.edu

Jerry F. Hough

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4347

jhough@duke.edu

Kathy Ivanov

Program Coord

+1 919 660 4327

kathy.ivanov@duke.edu

Ashley E Jardina

Assistant Professor of Political Science

ashley.jardina@duke.edu

Bruce W. Jentleson

Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-9208

bwj7@duke.edu

Sheridan W. Johns

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-7051

johns@duke.edu

Tana L. Johnson

Associate Professor of Political Science

tana.johnson@duke.edu

Christopher Johnston

Associate Professor of Political Science

christopher.johnston@duke.edu

David Kearney

Teaching Assistant

+1 919 613 9214

david.kearney@duke.edu

William Keech

Research Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4354

bill.keech@duke.edu

Judith Kelley

Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-7309

judith.kelley@duke.edu

Shaun King

Communications Specialist

+1 919 660 4344

shaun.king@duke.edu

Alexander Kirshner

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4312

alexander.kirshner@duke.edu

Herbert P. Kitschelt

George V. Allen Distinguished Professor of International Relations

(919) 660-4343

h3738@duke.edu

Jack Knight

Frederic Cleaveland Distinguished Professor of Law and Political Science

(919) 613-8551

knight@law.duke.edu

Anirudh Krishna

Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-7337

ak30@duke.edu

Timur Kuran

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-1800

t.kuran@duke.edu

Peter Lange

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 684-2631

peter.lange@duke.edu

Bahar Leventoglu

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4314

bahar.leventoglu@duke.edu

Antong Liu

Student

antong.liu@duke.edu

Hao Liu

Teaching Assistant

howard.hao.liu@duke.edu

Ian R MacMullen

Associate Professor of the Practice in Political Science

(919) 660-1737

ian.macmullen@duke.edu

Abdeslam E. M. Maghraoui

Associate Professor of the Practice of Political Science

(919) 660-4320

abdeslam.maghraoui@duke.edu

Edmund Malesky

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4340

eddy.malesky@duke.edu

Melanie Manion

Vor Broker Family Distinguished Professor

melanie.manion@duke.edu

Alfreda Marshall

Program Coord

+1 919 660 4325

am350@duke.edu

Paula D. McClain

Professor of Political Science

(919) 681-1560

pmcclain@duke.edu

Rita McCoy

Grants & Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 4304

rita.mccoy@duke.edu

Mathew D. McCubbins

Ruth F. DeVarney Distinguished Professor of Political Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 613-7006

mathew.mccubbins@duke.edu

Margaret A. McKean

Professor Emerita of Political Science

(919) 660-7051

mamckean@duke.edu

Ellen Mickiewicz

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 933-3978

ellen.mickiewicz@duke.edu

Megan Mullin

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 684-1174

megan.mullin@duke.edu

Michael C. Munger

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4301

munger@duke.edu

Emerson S. Niou

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4307

niou@duke.edu

David L. Paletz

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4300

paletz@duke.edu

Suzanne Pierce

Student Services Coord

+1 919 613 7320

suzanne.pierce@duke.edu

David E. Price

Professor with Tenure

(919) 660-4300

dprice@duke.edu

Vincent E. Price

Professor of Political Science

president@duke.edu

Karen L. Remmer

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4309

karen.remmer@duke.edu

David W. Rohde

Ernestine Friedl Distinguished Professor of Political Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-7053

rohde@duke.edu

Deondra Rose

Assistant Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-7395

deondra.rose@duke.edu

Genevieve Rousseliere

Assistant Professor of Political Science

genevieve.rousseliere@duke.edu

Bryce Safrit

Research Assistant, Master's Student

+1 919 660 4327

bryce.safrit@duke.edu

Richard Salsman

Lecturing Fellow of Political Science

(617) 412-8303

richard.salsman@duke.edu

Livia Isabella Schubiger

Douglas and Ellen Lowey Assistant Professor

livia.schubiger@duke.edu

Nura Sediqe

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

nura.sediqe@duke.edu

Steffani Shouse

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 4300

steffani.shouse@duke.edu

David Siegel

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4306

david.siegel@duke.edu

Neil S. Siegel

Professor of Political Science

(919) 613-7157

siegel@law.duke.edu

David Soskice

Research Professor Emeritus of the Department of Political Science

(919) 660-4300

soskice@duke.edu

Thomas Skerik Sowers

Adjunct Assistant Professor in Duke Innovation & Entrepreneurship

(919) 613-7329

t.s@duke.edu

Thomas A. Spragens

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4313

thomas.spragens@duke.edu

Elijah Stanley

Graduate Assistant

elijah.stanley@duke.edu

Daniel Stegmueller

Associate Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4321

daniel.stegmueller@duke.edu

Clara Suong

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 4300

clara.suong@duke.edu

Stephen Vaisey

Professor of Political Science

stephen.vaisey@duke.edu

Georg Vanberg

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4311

georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Taylor Vincent

Research Assistant, Master's Student

taylor.vincent@duke.edu

Jan Vogler

Graduate Assistant

jan.vogler@duke.edu

Jim Wallace

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 4323

james.wallace@duke.edu

Michael Ward

Professor Emeritus of Political Science

(919) 660-4373

michael.d.ward@duke.edu

Ismail K White

Associate Professor of Political Science

ismail.white@duke.edu

Erik Wibbels

Robert O. Keohane Distinguished Professor

(919) 660-4322

e.wibbels@duke.edu

Scott de Marchi

Professor of Political Science

(919) 660-4342

scott.demarchi@duke.edu