Religious Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

David Morgan

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Mark S. Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

(919) 660-3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Holly Rich

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 3510

holly.larson@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies M.A.

David Morgan

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Carol G. Rush

Program Coordinator and Assistant to the Director of the Graduate Studies

+1 919 660 3512

carol.rush@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

David Aers

James B. Duke Professor of English

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Sarah Beckwith

Katherine Everett Gilbert Professor of English

(919) 684-2741

ott@duke.edu

Marc Zvi Brettler

Bernice and Morton Lerner Professor in Judaic Studies

marc.brettler@duke.edu

Mark Chaves

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5783

mac58@soc.duke.edu

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3505

lizclark@duke.edu

Mark S. Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

(919) 660-3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religion

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3511

hjh@duke.edu

Richard Jaffe

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3502

Mari Joerstad

Research Associate

+1 919 660 3033

mari.jorstad@duke.edu

Mohsen Kadivar

Research Professor in the Department of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3521

mohsen.kadivar@duke.edu

Wesley A. Kort

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3519

wkort@duke.edu

Marissa Lane

Departmental Business Manager II

+1 919 660 3500

mlane@duke.edu

Bruce B. Lawrence

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Humanities Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3506

bbl@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

J. Lorand Matory

Lawrence Richardson Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-9923

jm217@duke.edu

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3514

carol@duke.edu

Eric M. Meyers

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

(919) 660-3517

emc@duke.edu

David Morgan

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

David Need

Lecturing Fellow of Religion

(919) 668-6575

dneed@duke.edu

Melvin K. H. Peters

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3508

melopete@duke.edu

Leela Prasad

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3533

leela@duke.edu

Holly Rich

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 3510

holly.larson@duke.edu

Carol G. Rush

Program Coordinator and Assistant to the Director of the Graduate Studies

+1 919 660 3512

carol.rush@duke.edu

Lucas Van Rompay

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3523

rompay@duke.edu

Joseph Richard Winters

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu