Religious Studies Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Dr Mark Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

+1 919 660 3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Mark Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

+1 919 660 3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Holly Rich

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 3510

holly.larson@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies M.A.

Joseph Richard Winters

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Associate Professor

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Carol G. Rush

Program Coordinator and Assistant to the Director of the Graduate Studies

+1 919 660 3512

carol.rush@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

David Aers

Professor of Religion

(919) 684-5065

aers@duke.edu

Sarah Beckwith

Professor in the Department of Religion

(919) 684-2741

ott@duke.edu

Christopher Beeley, Ph.D.

Professor of Theology

+1 919 660 3432

christopher.beeley@duke.edu

Arpan Bhandari

Student

+1 919 668 1920

arpan.bhandari@duke.edu

Marc Brettler, Ph.D.

Bernice and Morton Lerner Professor in Judaic Studies

+1 919 660 3510

marc.brettler@duke.edu

Larissa Carneiro, Ph.D.

Instructor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3510

larissa.carneiro@duke.edu

Mark Chaves, Ph.D.

Professor of Religion

+1 919 660 5783

mac58@soc.duke.edu

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3505

lizclark@duke.edu

Ashley Ekmay

Research Technician II

+1 919 660 5618

ashley.ekmay@duke.edu

Dr Mark Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

+1 919 660 3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Malachi H. Hacohen

Associate Professor of Religion

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Hans Hillerbrand, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3511

hjh@duke.edu

Richard Jaffe, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3502

richard.jaffe@duke.edu

Mari Joerstad

Research Associate

+1 919 660 3033

mari.jorstad@duke.edu

Dr Mohsen Kadivar, Ph.D.

Research Professor in the Department of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3521

mohsen.kadivar@duke.edu

Jenny Knust, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3523

jennifer.knust@duke.edu

Wesley Kort, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3519

wkort@duke.edu

Marissa Lane

Departmental Business Manager II

+1 919 660 3500

mlane@duke.edu

Bruce Lawrence, Ph.D.

Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Humanities Professor Emeritus of Religion

+1 919 660 3506

bbl@duke.edu

Laura Lieber, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3504

laura.lieber@duke.edu

J. Lorand Matory, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 684 9923

jm217@duke.edu

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3514

carol@duke.edu

Eric Meyers, Ph.D.

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

+1 919 660 3517

emc@duke.edu

David Morgan, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

Prof David Need, Ph.D.

Lecturing Fellow of Religion

+1 919 668 6575

dneed@duke.edu

Melvin Peters, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3508

melopete@duke.edu

Leela Prasad

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3533

leela@duke.edu

Holly Rich

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 3510

holly.larson@duke.edu

Carol G. Rush

Program Coordinator and Assistant to the Director of the Graduate Studies

+1 919 660 3512

carol.rush@duke.edu

Lucas Van Rompay, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

+1 919 660 3523

rompay@duke.edu

Joseph Richard Winters

Alexander F. Hehmeyer Associate Professor

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu