Sociology Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Martin Ruef

Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

(919) 660-5792

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Business Contact

Brenetta Tate

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 5618

brenetta.tate@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Angel Luis Harris

Professor in the Department of Sociology

angel.harris@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Undergraduate Studies

Alfreda Marshall

Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 660 5614

am350@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Stephen Vaisey

Professor of Sociology

stephen.vaisey@duke.edu

Assistant to Director of Graduate Studies

Jessica Ellington

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 0780

jessicae@soc.duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Felicia Arriaga

Teaching Assistant

felicia.arriaga@duke.edu

Rebecca L. Bach

Associate Professor of the Practice Emerita of Sociology

(919) 660-5606

rbach@soc.duke.edu

Chris Andrew Bail

Douglas and Ellen Lowey Associate Professor

christopher.bail@duke.edu

Lee D. Baker

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Professor of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 681-3263

ldbaker@duke.edu

Tony Bardo

Postdoctoral Associate

anthony.bardo@duke.edu

Bryce Bartlett

Graduate Assistant

bryce.bartlett@duke.edu

Eduardo Bonilla-Silva

James B. Duke Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5607

eb48@duke.edu

Tyson Brown

Assistant Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5680

tyson.brown@duke.edu

Linda Burton

James B. Duke Professor of Sociology

(919) 613-9258

lburton@soc.duke.edu

Mark Chaves

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5783

mac58@soc.duke.edu

Philip J. Cook

ITT/Terry Sanford Professor Emeritus of Public Policy Studies

(919) 613-7360

pcook@duke.edu

Michaeline A. Crichlow

Professor in the Department of African and African American Studies

(919) 681-6947

michaeline.crichlow@duke.edu

Jonathon Cummings

Professor of Business Adminstration

(919) 660-7756

Valerie Duke

Staff Assistant

+1 919 684 1808

duke0007@duke.edu

Matthew E. Dupre

Associate Professor in Population Health Sciences

(919) 681-6811

matthew.dupre@duke.edu

Jessica Ellington

Staff Asst

+1 919 660 0780

jessicae@soc.duke.edu

Maria Febbo

Instructor

+1 919 660 5618

maria.febbo@duke.edu

Lesleigh D A Ford

Teaching Assistant

lesleigh.ford@duke.edu

Bai Gao

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5620

bagao@soc.duke.edu

Linda K. George

Arts and Sciences Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5605

linda.george@duke.edu

Gary Gereffi

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5611

ggere@soc.duke.edu

Deborah T. Gold

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

(919) 660-7530

deborah.gold@duke.edu

George Grody

Lecturing Fellow of Markets & Management

(919) 257-7818

george.grody@duke.edu

Jenifer Hamil Luker

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Sociology

(919) 660-5729

jenifer.hamil@duke.edu

Angel Luis Harris

Professor in the Department of Sociology

angel.harris@duke.edu

Frances Susan Hasso

Associate Professor of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies

(919) 684-5097

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Mary Hawkins

Research Analyst II

+1 919 660 5761

mrh59@duke.edu

Kieran Healy

Associate Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5614

kieran.healy@duke.edu

Steve A. Hicks

Instructor of Markets and Management Studies

steve.hicks@duke.edu

Trish Homan

Graduate Assistant

patricia.homan@duke.edu

Mary Hovsepian

Lecturing Fellow of Sociology

(919) 660-5612

mary.hovsepian@duke.edu

Robert Jackson

IT Manager

+1 919 660 5601

robert.jackson@duke.edu

Evan Jones

Visiting Professor

+1 919 668 7498

ejones@dumac.duke.edu

Lisa A. Keister

Bass Fellow

(919) 660-5624

lkeister@soc.duke.edu

Kenneth C. Land

John Franklin Crowell Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5615

kland@soc.duke.edu

Arie Y. Lewin

Professor Emeritus

(919) 660-7832

ayl3@duke.edu

Nan Lin

Oscar L. Tang Family Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5610

nanlin@duke.edu

Scott Michael Lynch

Professor in the Department of Sociology

scott.lynch@duke.edu

Alfreda Marshall

Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 660 5614

am350@duke.edu

J. Miller McPherson

Professor Emeritus in the Department of Sociology

joseph.mcpherson@duke.edu

Gilbert Wilson Merkx

Professor of the Practice of Sociology

(919) 684-5830

gilbert.merkx@duke.edu

M. Giovanna Merli

Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy

(919) 613-9305

giovanna.merli@duke.edu

James Moody

Bass Fellow

(919) 660-5650

james.moody@duke.edu

Jonathan Morgan

Research Associate

+1 919 660 5618

jonathan.h.morgan@duke.edu

Philip Philip Morgan

Norb F. Schaefer Professor Emeritus of International Studies

(919) 660-5747

pmorgan@soc.duke.edu

Collin Mueller

Postdoctoral Scholar

+1 919 660 7502

collin.mueller@duke.edu

William M. O'Barr

Professor Emeritus of Cultural Anthropology

(919) 684-8863

william.obarr@duke.edu

Angela M. O'Rand

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5629

aorand@soc.duke.edu

Jack Preiss, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

new.directions@juno.com

Craig Michael Rawlings

Assistant Professor of Sociology

craig.rawlings@duke.edu

Jen'nan Read

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5768

jennan.read@duke.edu

Martha Reeves

Professor of the Practice of Sociology

(919) 660-5696

mreeves@duke.edu

Jesse Riggan

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 5602

jriggan@soc.duke.edu

Ashleigh Shelby Rosette

Associate Professor of Business Administration

(919) 660-8010

ashleighshelby.rosette@duke.edu

Martin Ruef

Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Entrepreneurship

(919) 660-5792

martin.ruef@duke.edu

Leigh Shamblin

Visiting Professor Of The Practice of Sociology

leigh.shamblin@duke.edu

Suzanne Shanahan Shanahan

Associate Research Professor in the Department of Sociology

(919) 660-3033

shanahan@soc.duke.edu

Ida H. Simpson

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5619

isimp@soc.duke.edu

Lynn Smith-Lovin

Robert L. Wilson Professor of Sociology in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-5786

smithlov@duke.edu

Joel Smith

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5628

djssoc@soc.duke.edu

Kenneth I. Spenner

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5625

kspen@soc.duke.edu

Bonnie Stevenson

Program Coordinator, Markets and Management Studies

+1 919 660 5763

bwilson@soc.duke.edu

Jessi Streib

Assistant Professor of Sociology

jessi.streib@duke.edu

Brenetta Tate

Departmental Business Mgr II

+1 919 660 5618

brenetta.tate@duke.edu

Carlos Tavares

Duke Temporary Service

+1 717 779 9245

carlos.tavares@duke.edu

Amy Thierry, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar

+1 919 660 7502

amy.thierry@duke.edu

Ed Lee Timberlake

Instructor of Markets and Management Studies

ed.timberlake@duke.edu

Ed Ashod Tiryakian

Lecturing Fellow of Markets & Management

ed.tiryakian@duke.edu

Edward A. Tiryakian

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5632

durkhm@soc.duke.edu

William Tobin

Visiting Associate Prof in Sociology

(919) 660-5671

william.tobin@duke.edu

Stephen Vaisey

Professor of Sociology

stephen.vaisey@duke.edu

Samuel A Veraldi

Instructor of Markets & Management

(919) 353-6571

sam.veraldi@duke.edu

Haley Warren

Communications Specialist

+1 919 660 5759

haley.warren@duke.edu

John Wilson

Professor Emeritus of Sociology

(919) 660-5622

john.wilson@duke.edu

Tiantian Yang

Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology

ty41@duke.edu

douglas paul green

Lecturing Fellow of Markets & Management

douglas.green@duke.edu