Computer Science Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Pankaj K. Agarwal

RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

Assistant to the Chair

Jennifer Schmidt

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 6548

jennifer.schmidt@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Susan H. Rodger

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6595

rodger@cs.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Camelia Pierson Eaves, Mdiv

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6534

revp@cs.duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Kamesh Munagala

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6598

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Marilyn Butler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6538

marilyn.butler@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Pankaj K. Agarwal

RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

Owen L. Astrachan

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6522

ola@cs.duke.edu

Salman Azhar, Ph.D.

Visiting Associate Professor

+1 919 660 7818

salman.azhar@duke.edu

Ilya Baldin

Director, Network Research & Infrastructure, UNC-CH

ibaldin@renci.org

Alberto Bartesaghi

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6579

alberto.bartesaghi@duke.edu

Alan Biermann

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

(919) 660-6532

awb@cs.duke.edu

John A. Board

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5272

jab@ee.duke.edu

Marilyn Butler

Graduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6538

marilyn.butler@duke.edu

Robert Calderbank

Charles S. Sydnor Professor of Computer Science

(919) 613-7874

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Qiang Cao

Affiliate

qiang.cao@duke.edu

Lawrence Carin

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 681-6436

lcarin@ee.duke.edu

David Carlson

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5421

david.carlson@duke.edu

Krishnendu Chakrabarty

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5270

krish@ee.duke.edu

Jeffrey S. Chase

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6559

chase@cs.duke.edu

Yiran Chen

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-1372

yiran.chen@duke.edu

Vincent Conitzer

Kimberly J. Jenkins University Professor of New Technologies

(919) 660-6503

Mary "Missy" Cummings

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5306

m.cummings@duke.edu

Shaundra Daily

Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(202) 922-7339

shani.b@duke.edu

Bruce Randall Donald

James B. Duke Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6583

Robert C. Duvall

Senior Lecturer of Computer Science

(919) 660-6567

rcd@cs.duke.edu

Melanie S Eberhart

Grants & Contracts Administrative Coordinator

+1 919 660 6531

melanie@cs.duke.edu

Carla Ellis, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

carla@cs.duke.edu

Brandon Fain

Assistant Research Professor of Computer Science

brandon.fain@duke.edu

Sina Farsiu

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 684-6642

Jeffrey R.N. Forbes

Associate Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6550

jforbes@duke.edu

Elaine Fulton

Oipm Exec Director

+1 919 684 8872

elaine.fulton@duke.edu

Rong Ge

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

rongge@cs.duke.edu

Raluca Mihaela Gordan

Associate Professor in Biostatistics & Bioinformatics

(919) 684-9881

raluca.gordan@duke.edu

Maria Gorlatova

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

maria.gorlatova@duke.edu

Jennifer M. Groh

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 681-6536

Alexander J. Hartemink

Professor in the Department of Computer Science

(919) 660-6514

amink@cs.duke.edu

Katherine Heller

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

katherine.heller@duke.edu

Andrew Douglas Hilton

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(660) 517-7

adhilton@ee.duke.edu

Celeste Hodges

Duke Temporary Service

+1 919 660 6511

hodges@cs.duke.edu

Erich L Kaltofen

Adjunct Professor of Computer Science

erich.kaltofen@duke.edu

Jungsang Kim

Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5258

jungsang@ee.duke.edu

George Dimitri Konidaris

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(413) 335-1968

gdk@cs.duke.edu

Regis Kopper

Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Sci

(919) 660-5570

regis.kopper@duke.edu

Alvin R. Lebeck

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6551

alvy@cs.duke.edu

Benjamin C Lee

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5043

benjamin.c.lee@duke.edu

Hai "Helen" Li

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-1373

hai.li@duke.edu

Donald Loveland, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

dwl@cs.duke.edu

Richard A. Lucic

Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Computer Science

(919) 660-6524

lucic@cs.duke.edu

Ashwinkumar Venkatanaga Machanavajjhala

Associate Professor of Computer Science

ashwin@cs.duke.edu

Bruce Maggs

Pelham Wilder Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6523

bmm@cs.duke.edu

Peter N. Marinos

Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(919) 660-5252

pnm@ee.duke.edu

Sayan Mukherjee

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 684-4608

sayan@stat.duke.edu

Kamesh Munagala

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6598

Kartik Nayak

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6576

kartik@cs.duke.edu

Kate O'Hanlon

Program Coord

+1 919 660 6500

kate.o.hanlon@duke.edu

Miroslav Pajic

Nortel Networks Assistant Professor in the Pratt School of Engineering

mp275@duke.edu

Debmalya Panigrahi

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6545

Ronald Parr

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6537

Ajay Patel

Instructional Staff

+1 919 244 5777

ajay.patel@duke.edu

Camelia Pierson Eaves, Mdiv

Undergraduate Program Coordinator

+1 919 660 6534

revp@cs.duke.edu

Nikos Pitsianis

Adjunct Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6542

nikos.p.pitsianis@duke.edu

Dennis Quan

Executive in Residence in the Department of Computer Science

dennis.quan@duke.edu

Dietolf Ramm, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 6500

DeeRamm@gmail.com

Amanda Randles

Alfred Winborne and Victoria Stover Mordecai Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences

(919) 660-5425

amanda.randles@duke.edu

John H. Reif

A. Hollis Edens Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6568

reif@cs.duke.edu

Susan H. Rodger

Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6595

rodger@cs.duke.edu

Sudeepa Roy

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6596

sudeepa@cs.duke.edu

Cynthia D. Rudin

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6555

Guillermo Sapiro

James B. Duke Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

guillermo.sapiro@duke.edu

Scott C. Schmidler

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 684-8064

scott.schmidler@duke.edu

Jennifer Schmidt

Staff Specialist

+1 919 660 6548

jennifer.schmidt@duke.edu

William Shamblin

Senior Manager, IT

+1 919 660 6582

wjs@cs.duke.edu

Daniel J. Sorin

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5439

sorin@ee.duke.edu

Pamela Spencer

Events, House and Program Assistant

+1 919 660 6500

pspencer@cs.duke.edu

Charles Franklin Starmer

Professor Emeritus of Computer Science

(919) 684-0753

frank.starmer@duke.edu

Rebecca Carter Steorts

Assistant Professor of Statistical Science

beka@stat.duke.edu

Kristin V Stephens-Martinez

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Computer Science

(919) 660-6581

kristin.stephensmartinez@duke.edu

Xiaobai Sun

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6500

xiaobai.sun@duke.edu

Vahid Tarokh

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-7594

vahid.tarokh@duke.edu

Carlo Tomasi

Iris Einheuser Professor

(919) 660-6539

tomasi@cs.duke.edu

Kishor S. Trivedi

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5269

kst@ee.duke.edu

Robert Wagner, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

+1 919 660 6536

raw@cs.duke.edu

Cheryl Wallace

Business Office and Human Resources Manager

+1 919 660 6517

wallace@cs.duke.edu

Lisa Wills

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

lisa.wills@duke.edu

Jeffrey Wright

Computing Facilities Spec

+1 919 660 6575

jwright@cs.duke.edu

Jun Yang

Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6587

Xiaowei Yang

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-6536

xiaowei.yang@duke.edu

Michail Zavlanos

Associate Professor of Computer Science

(919) 660-5528

michael.zavlanos@duke.edu