Graduate Program in Religion Directory

Department Officers

Director of Graduate Studies

Stephen B. Chapman

Associate Professor of Old Testament

(919) 660-3408

schapman@div.duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Kate Bowler

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity in North America

kbowler@div.duke.edu

Luke Bretherton

Professor of Theological Ethics

(919) 660-3497

luke.bretherton@duke.edu

Marc Zvi Brettler

Bernice and Morton Lerner Professor in Judaic Studies

marc.brettler@duke.edu

Douglas Campbell

Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3465

dcampbell@div.duke.edu

Stephen B. Chapman

Associate Professor of Old Testament

(919) 660-3408

schapman@div.duke.edu

Mark Chaves

Professor of Sociology

(919) 660-5783

mac58@soc.duke.edu

Elizabeth A. Clark

John Carlisle Kilgo Professor Emeritus of Religion

(919) 660-3505

lizclark@duke.edu

Edgardo A. Colon-Emeric

Associate Professor of Reconciliation and Theology

edgardo.colonemeric@duke.edu

Valerie Cooper

Associate Professor of Religion and Society and Black Church Studies

(919) 660-3438

valerie.cooper@duke.edu

Ellen F. Davis

Amos Ragan Kearns Professor of Bible and Practical Theology in the Divinity School

(919) 660-3561

edavis@div.duke.edu

Susan Eastman

Associate Research Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3534

seastman@div.duke.edu

Curtis W. Freeman

Research Professor of Theology and Baptist Studies

(919) 660-3401

Mary Fulkerson

Professor of Theology

(919) 660-3458

mfulk@duke.edu

Mark S. Goodacre

Frances Hill Fox Professor

(919) 660-3503

goodacre@duke.edu

Stanley M. Hauerwas

Gilbert T. Rowe Professor Emeritus of the Divinity School

(919) 660-3420

stanley.hauerwas@duke.edu

Richard B. Hays

George Washington Ivey Professor Emeritus of New Testament

(919) 660-3411

rhays@div.duke.edu

Richard Jaffe

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3502

Mohsen Kadivar

Research Professor in the Department of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3521

mohsen.kadivar@duke.edu

Xi Lian

Professor of World Christianity

(919) 660-3410

xlian@div.duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Randy L. Maddox

William Kellon Quick Professor of Theology and Methodist Studies

(919) 660-3589

rmaddox@div.duke.edu

Joel Marcus

Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3562

jmarcus@div.duke.edu

Carol L. Meyers

Mary Grace Wilson Professor of Religion in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 660-3514

carol@duke.edu

Eric M. Meyers

Bernice and Morton Lerner Emeritus Professor in Judaic Studies

(919) 660-3517

emc@duke.edu

David Morgan

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3555

david.morgan@duke.edu

G. Sujin Pak

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity

(919) 660-3431

spak@div.duke.edu

Melvin K. H. Peters

Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3508

melopete@duke.edu

Anathea Portier-Young

Associate Professor of Old Testament

(919) 660-3404

apyoung@div.duke.edu

Leela Prasad

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3533

leela@duke.edu

Meredith Leigh Dear Riedel

Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity

mriedel@div.duke.edu

Kavin Rowe

Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3587

kavin.rowe@duke.edu

Carol G. Rush

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies (DGSA)

+1 919 660 3512

carol.rush@duke.edu

J. Warren Smith

Associate Professor of Historical Theology

(919) 660-3415

warren.smith@duke.edu

Lucas Van Rompay

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3523

rompay@duke.edu

Grant A. Wacker

Gilbert T. Rowe Professor Emeritus of the Divinity School

(919) 660-3462

gwacker@div.duke.edu

J. Ross Wagner

Associate Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3480

ross.wagner@duke.edu

Brittany Wilson

Assistant Professor of New Testament

(919) 660-3559

bwilson@div.duke.edu

Joseph Richard Winters

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 423-1911

joseph.winters@duke.edu

Norman Wirzba

Gilbert T. Rowe Professor of Christian Theology

(919) 660-3496

norman.wirzba@duke.edu