History Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Sumathi Ramaswamy

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of History

(919) 684-5764

sr76@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Adriane D. Lentz-Smith

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-2837

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

Business Manager

Jill Wuenschel

Departmental Business Manager II

+1 919 684 3626

jill.wuenschel@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Lauren Hodrick

Staff Asst

+1 919 668 7842

lauren.hodrick@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Robin Pridgen

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

+1 919 681 5746

rmennis@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Jeffrey Paul Baker

Professor of the Practice of History

(919) 620-5374

jeffrey.baker@duke.edu

Edward J. Balleisen

Professor of History

(919) 684-5783

eballeis@duke.edu

Nicole Elizabeth Barnes

Assistant Professor of History

(919) 684-8102

nicole.barnes@duke.edu

Juliana Barr

Associate Professor of History

juliana.barr@duke.edu

Mary T. Boatwright

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3189

tboat@duke.edu

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Prof Dean Bruno, Ph.D.

Visiting Instructor

+1 919 684 3626

louis.bruno@duke.edu

William H. Chafe

Alice Mary Baldwin Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-5436

william.chafe@duke.edu

James Gregory Chappel

Assistant Professor of History

james.chappel@duke.edu

Samuel Fury Childs Daly

Assistant Professor in History

samuel.furychilds.daly@duke.edu

Sarah Jane Deutsch

Professor of History

(919) 684-2602

sarah.deutsch@duke.edu

Prasenjit Duara

Oscar L. Tang Family Distinguished Professor of East Asian Studies

prasenjit.duara@duke.edu

Katharine Brophy Dubois

Lecturing Fellow of History

(919) 684-2307

Laurent Dubois

Professor of History

(919) 660-3112

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Eve Duffy, Ph.D.

Assoc Vice Provost for Global Affairs

+1 919 684 3272

eve.duffy@duke.edu

Laura F. Edwards

Peabody Family Distinguished Professor of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 668-1435

ledwards@duke.edu

Peter C. English

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-8206

penglish@duke.edu

Janet J. Ewald

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-4280

Prof John Freeman, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of History

+1 919 684 5078

rich.freeman@duke.edu

John D. French

Professor of History

(919) 684-2536

jdfrench@duke.edu

Barry Gaspar

Professor of History

(919) 684-2109

dgaspar@duke.edu

Peter Gengler

Instructor of History

peter.gengler@duke.edu

Thavolia Glymph

Professor of History

(919) 668-1625

thavolia@duke.edu

Gabriela Goldin Marcovich

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 684 3626

gabriela.goldin.marcovich@duke.edu

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Jamie Hardy

Staff Assistant, Accounting & Payroll

+1 919 684 2409

jamie.hardy@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Frances Susan Hasso

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5097

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Evan Hepler-Smith

Assistant Professor of History

evan.heplersmith@duke.edu

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

(919) 660-3511

hjh@duke.edu

Lauren Hodrick

Staff Asst

+1 919 668 7842

lauren.hodrick@duke.edu

Wesley Hogan

Research Professor in the Department of History

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Margaret Ellen Humphreys

Josiah Charles Trent Professor of the History of Medicine, in the School of Medicine

(919) 684-2285

meh@duke.edu

Reeve Huston

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-2271

reeve.huston@duke.edu

Carla Ivey

Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 684 2343

carla.ivey@duke.edu

Deborah Jakubs

Adjunct Associate Professor of History

(919) 660-5800

deborah.jakubs@duke.edu

Vasant Kaiwar, Ph.D.

Visiting Associate Professor of History

+1 919 684 5439

vkaiwar@duke.edu

Timothy Arthur Kircher

Adjunct Professor of History

tkircher@guilford.edu

Claudia Koonz

Peabody Family Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-3941

ckoonz@duke.edu

Anna Krylova

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-3871

anna.krylova@duke.edu

Bruce R. Kuniholm

Professor

(919) 613-7341

bruce.kuniholm@duke.edu

Adriane D. Lentz-Smith

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-2837

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

Matthew Lubin, Ph.D.

Instructor of History

+1 919 684 2343

matthew.lubin@duke.edu

Nancy MacLean

William H. Chafe Distinguished Professor of History and Public Policy

nancy.maclean@duke.edu

Jehangir Malegam

Associate Professor of History

jehangir.malegam@duke.edu

Cecilia Marquez

Assistant Professor of History

cecilia.marquez@duke.edu

John Jeffries Martin

Professor of History

(919) 681-5499

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Seymour Mauskopf

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2581

shmaus@duke.edu

Sucheta Mazumdar

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5490

skmmaz@duke.edu

Adam Mestyan

Assistant Professor of History

(919) 684-2343

adam.mestyan@duke.edu

Simon Miles

Assistant Professor of History

(919) 613-9560

simon.miles@duke.edu

Martin A. Miller

Professor of History

(919) 684-3575

mmiller@duke.edu

Jessica Namakkal

Assistant Professor of the Practice in the Department of History

(919) 660-4353

jessica.namakkal@duke.edu

Sydney Nathans, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

snathans@duke.edu

Kristen Neuschel

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-2437

kneusche@duke.edu

Jocelyn Olcott

Professor of History

(919) 668-5298

olcott@duke.edu

Simon Partner

Professor of History

(919) 684-5464

spartner@duke.edu

Gunther W. Peck

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-5297

peckgw@duke.edu

Henry Petroski

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 660-5203

petroski@duke.edu

Dirk Philipsen

Associate Research Professor in the Department of History

(919) 613-7342

dirk.philipsen@duke.edu

Robin Pridgen

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

+1 919 681 5746

rmennis@duke.edu

Sumathi Ramaswamy

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of History

(919) 684-5764

sr76@duke.edu

William M. Reddy

William T. Laprade Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2497

wmr@duke.edu

James S. Roberts

Adjunct Professor

+1 919 684 3501

james.roberts@duke.edu

Thomas Robisheaux

Professor of History

(919) 684-5979

trobish@duke.edu

Alex Roland

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2434

alex.roland@duke.edu

Gabriel Nathan Rosenberg

Associate Professor of Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies

gabriel.rosenberg@duke.edu

Tamar Rozett

Instructor of History

tamar.rozett@duke.edu

Karin Shapiro

Associate Professor of the Practice in the Department of History

(919) 684-2961

kshapiro@duke.edu

Joseph Shatzmiller

Smart Family Distinguished Professor Emeritus in Judaic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-2225

joseph.shatzmiller@duke.edu

Peter Sigal

Professor of History

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Joshua D. Sosin

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 681-2992

joshua.sosin@duke.edu

Orin Starn

Professor of History

(919) 717-7090

ostarn@duke.edu

Philip J. Stern

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 668-1695

philip.stern@duke.edu

Susan Thorne

Associate Professor of History

(919) 593-2810

sthorne@duke.edu

Mustafa Ozgur Tuna

Assistant Professor in the Department of History

(919) 660-3154

mustafa.tuna@duke.edu

Kena Wani

Affiliate

kena.wani@duke.edu

John Wertheimer, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor of History

+1 919 668 0377

john.wertheimer@duke.edu

Gerald L Wilson

Adjunct Professor of History

(919) 684-2865

gerald.wilson@duke.edu

Peter H. Wood

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-3694

pwood@duke.edu

Jill Wuenschel

Departmental Business Manager II

+1 919 684 3626

jill.wuenschel@duke.edu

Giovanni Zanalda

Associate Research Professor in the Department of History

(919) 681-8376

giovanni.zanalda@duke.edu