History Directory

Department Officers

Chair

John Jeffries Martin

Professor of History

(919) 681-5499

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Associate Chair

Margaret Ellen Humphreys

Josiah Charles Trent Professor of the History of Medicine, in the School of Medicine

(919) 684-2285

meh@duke.edu

Business Manager

Cynthia Hoglen

Business Manager

+1 919 684 3626

cmhoglen@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ruebe Holmes

Staff Assistant, Undergraduate Studies

+1 919 668 7842

ruebe.holmes@duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Philip J. Stern

Gilhuly Family Professor

(919) 668-1695

philip.stern@duke.edu

Assistant to the Director of Graduate Studies

Robin Pridgen

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

+1 919 681 5746

rmennis@duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Jeffrey Paul Baker

Research Professor in the Department of History

(919) 620-5374

jeffrey.baker@duke.edu

Edward J. Balleisen

Professor of History

(919) 684-1964

eballeis@duke.edu

Nicole Elizabeth Barnes

Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor

(919) 684-8102

nicole.barnes@duke.edu

Juliana Barr

Associate Professor in the Department of History

juliana.barr@duke.edu

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

William H. Chafe

Alice Mary Baldwin Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-5436

william.chafe@duke.edu

James Gregory Chappel

Assistant Professor of History

james.chappel@duke.edu

Joshua Clough

Graduate Assistant

joshua.clough@duke.edu

Jeannine Cole

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 681 5746

danielle.cole@duke.edu

Sarah Jane Deutsch

Professor of History

(919) 684-2602

sarah.deutsch@duke.edu

Prasenjit Duara

Oscar L. Tang Family Professor of East Asian Studies

prasenjit.duara@duke.edu

Katharine Dubois

Lecturing Fellow of History

(919) 684-2307

Laurent Dubois

Professor of History

(919) 660-3112

laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Eve Duffy, Ph.D.

Adjunct Associate Professor

+1 919 684 3272

eve.duffy@duke.edu

Laura F. Edwards

Peabody Family Professor of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 668-1435

ledwards@duke.edu

Peter C. English

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-8206

penglish@duke.edu

Janet J. Ewald

Associate Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-4280

Jonathon Free

Administrative Manager

+1 919 681 5024

jonathon.free@duke.edu

John Freeman

Visiting Assistant Professor of History

(919) 684-5078

rich.freeman@duke.edu

John D. French

Professor of History

(919) 684-2536

jdfrench@duke.edu

Barry Gaspar

Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-2109

dgaspar@duke.edu

Thavolia Glymph

Professor in History

(919) 668-1625

thavolia@duke.edu

Malachi H. Hacohen

Professor of History

(919) 684-6819

mhacohen@duke.edu

Jamie Hardy

Staff Assistant, Accounting & Payroll

+1 919 684 2409

jamie.hardy@duke.edu

Mona Hassan

Associate Professor of History

(919) 660-3531

mona.hassan@duke.edu

Frances Susan Hasso

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5097

frances.hasso@duke.edu

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Adjunct Professor

(919) 660-3511

hjh@duke.edu

Alisha Hines

Graduate Assistant

alisha.hines@duke.edu

Wesley Hogan

Research Professor in the Franklin Humanities Institute

wesley.hogan@duke.edu

Cynthia Hoglen

Business Manager

+1 919 684 3626

cmhoglen@duke.edu

Ruebe Holmes

Staff Assistant, Undergraduate Studies

+1 919 668 7842

ruebe.holmes@duke.edu

Margaret Ellen Humphreys

Josiah Charles Trent Professor of the History of Medicine, in the School of Medicine

(919) 684-2285

meh@duke.edu

Reeve Huston

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-2271

reeve.huston@duke.edu

Carla Ivey

Assistant to the Chair

+1 919 684 2343

carla.ivey@duke.edu

Deborah Jakubs

Adjunct Associate Professor of History

(919) 660-5800

deborah.jakubs@duke.edu

Vasant Kaiwar

Visiting Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5439

vkaiwar@duke.edu

Timothy Arthur Kircher

Adjunct Professor of History

tkircher@guilford.edu

Claudia Koonz

Peabody Family Professor Emeritus of History in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-3941

ckoonz@duke.edu

Anna Krylova

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3871

anna.krylova@duke.edu

Bruce R. Kuniholm

Professor

(919) 613-7341

bruce.kuniholm@duke.edu

Adriane D. Lentz-Smith

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-2837

adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu

Nancy MacLean

William H. Chafe Professor of History and Public Policy

nancy.maclean@duke.edu

Jehangir Malegam

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-7842

jehangir.malegam@duke.edu

John Jeffries Martin

Professor of History

(919) 681-5499

john.j.martin@duke.edu

Seymour Mauskopf

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2581

shmaus@duke.edu

Sucheta Mazumdar

Associate Professor of History

(919) 684-5490

skmmaz@duke.edu

Adam Mestyan

Assistant Professor of History

(919) 684-2343

adam.mestyan@duke.edu

Martin A. Miller

Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-3575

mmiller@duke.edu

Ylana Miller

Visiting Assoc Professor

+1 919 668 1611

ymiller@duke.edu

Mary J Morrow

Adjunct Assistant Professor of History

(919) 684-3363

oscar@duke.edu

Sydney Nathans, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

snathans@duke.edu

Kristen Neuschel

Associate Professor with Tenure

(919) 684-2437

kneusche@duke.edu

Jocelyn Olcott

Professor of History

(919) 668-5298

olcott@duke.edu

Simon Partner

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-5464

spartner@duke.edu

Gunther W. Peck

Associate Professor of History

(919) 668-5297

peckgw@duke.edu

Henry Petroski

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 660-5203

petroski@duke.edu

Robin Pridgen

Staff Assistant, Graduate Studies

+1 919 681 5746

rmennis@duke.edu

Sumathi Ramaswamy

James B. Duke Professor of History

(919) 684-5764

sr76@duke.edu

William M. Reddy

William T. Laprade Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2497

wmr@duke.edu

James S. Roberts

Adjunct Professor

+1 919 684 3501

james.roberts@duke.edu

Thomas Robisheaux

Professor of History

(919) 684-5979

trobish@duke.edu

Rochelle Rojas

Research Associate

rochelle.rojas@duke.edu

Alex Roland

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2434

alex.roland@duke.edu

David Romine

Postdoctoral Associate

david.romine@duke.edu

Gabriel Nathan Rosenberg

Assistant Professor History

gabriel.rosenberg@duke.edu

Tricia Ross

Graduate Assistant

+1 919 681 5746

tricia.ross@duke.edu

Andrew Ruoss

Graduate Assistant

andrew.ruoss@duke.edu

Stephanie Rytilahti

Graduate Assistant

stephanie.rytilahti@duke.edu

Anne F. Scott

William K. Boyd Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-2103

annefiror@gmail.com

Joseph Shatzmiller

Smart Family Professor Emeritus in Judaic Studies in Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

(919) 684-2225

joseph.shatzmiller@duke.edu

Peter Sigal

Professor in the Department of History

(919) 684-3551

peter.sigal@duke.edu

Irene Silverblatt

Professor of History

(919) 641-0319

irene.silverblatt@duke.edu

Joshua D. Sosin

Associate Professor in the Department of History

(919) 681-2992

joshua.sosin@duke.edu

Orin Starn

Professor of History

(919) 684-3221

ostarn@duke.edu

Philip J. Stern

Gilhuly Family Professor

(919) 668-1695

philip.stern@duke.edu

John H. Thompson

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-8102

jthompso@duke.edu

Susan Thorne

Associate Professor of History

(919) 593-2810

sthorne@duke.edu

Gerald Wilson, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

+1 919 684 2865

gerald.wilson@duke.edu

Peter H. Wood

Professor Emeritus of History

(919) 684-3694

pwood@duke.edu

Charles Young

Affiliate

must_pray@bellsouth.net

Giovanni Zanalda

Associate Research Professor in the Department of History

(919) 681-8376

giovanni.zanalda@duke.edu