Mathematics Directory

Department Officers

Chair

Jonathan Christopher Mattingly

James B. Duke Professor

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

Business Manager

Shawn MacDuff

Business Manager

+1 919 660 2806

sm218@duke.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Hubert Bray

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 757-8428

hubert.bray@duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Sarah Schott

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

(919) 660-2858

schott@math.duke.edu

Director of Graduate Studies

Colleen M Robles

Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics

robles@math.duke.edu

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Sarah Schott

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

(919) 660-2858

schott@math.duke.edu

Faculty & Staff

Pankaj K. Agarwal

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-6548

pankaj@cs.duke.edu

Andrea Agazzi

Assisant Research Professor of Mathematics

andrea.agazzi@duke.edu

Victoria S Akin

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

victoria.akin@duke.edu

William K. Allard

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2802

wka@math.duke.edu

Alessandro Arlotto

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-7780

alessandro.arlotto@duke.edu

Paul Stephen Aspinwall

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2874

psa@cgtp.duke.edu

Eric Arthur Autry

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

eric.autry@duke.edu

Rann Bar-On

Lecturer of Mathematics

(919) 660-2872

J. Thomas Beale

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2814

beale@math.duke.edu

Erin Beckman

Associate In Research

+1 919 660 2800

erin.beckman@duke.edu

Michael Bell

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

michael.m.bell@duke.edu

Paul L Bendich

Associate Research Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2811

paul.bendich@duke.edu

Lewis D. Blake

Associate Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

blake@math.duke.edu

Melissa Blakey

Grants and Contracts Administrator, Senior

+1 919 660 6975

mblakey@math.duke.edu

Jack Bookman

Professor of the Practice Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2831

bookman@math.duke.edu

Clark Bray

Associate Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

(919) 660-2822

cbray@math.duke.edu

Hubert Bray

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 757-8428

hubert.bray@duke.edu

Robert Bryant

Phillip Griffiths Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2817

bryant@math.duke.edu

Dorothy Elizabeth Buck

Research Professor of Mathematics

dbuck@math.duke.edu

Robert Calderbank

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 613-7874

robert.calderbank@duke.edu

Jonathan A Campbell

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

jonathan.a.campbell@duke.edu

Cheng Cheng

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2800

cheng87@math.duke.edu

Xiuyuan Cheng

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

xiuyuan.cheng@duke.edu

Samit Dasgupta

Professor of Mathematics

samit.dasgupta@duke.edu

Ingrid Daubechies

James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering

ingrid.daubechies@duke.edu

Xiucai Ding

Postdoctoral Associate

+1 919 660 2800

xiucai.ding@duke.edu

John Everett Dolbow

Professor in the Department of Mathematics

(919) 660-5202

john.dolbow@duke.edu

David B. Dunson

Professor in the Department of Mathematics

(919) 684-8025

dunson@duke.edu

Richard Timothy Durrett

James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-6970

rtd@math.duke.edu

Nadav Dym

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

nadav.dym@duke.edu

Chris Farrell

Research Administration Specialist

+1 919 660 2804

farrell@math.duke.edu

Brian Fitzpatrick

Lecturer of Mathematics

brian.d.fitzpatrick@duke.edu

Yuan Gao

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

yg86@duke.edu

Kristen Gerondelis

Program Coord

+1 919 660 2801

kristen.gerondelis@duke.edu

Jayce Robert Getz

Associate Professor of Mathematics

jgetz@math.duke.edu

Heekyoung Hahn

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2850

hahn@math.duke.edu

Richard Hain

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2819

hain@math.duke.edu

Shalla Hanson

Teaching Assistant

shalla.hanson@duke.edu

John Harer

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2845

Mark Haskins

Professor of Mathematics

mhaskins@math.duke.edu

Siming He

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

simhe@math.duke.edu

Pratima Hebbar

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

pratima.hebbar@duke.edu

Gregory Joseph Herschlag

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

gjh@math.duke.edu

Richard E. Hodel

Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2846

hodel@math.duke.edu

Ta'Shara Jackson

Housekeeper Specialist*

+1 919 681 3132

tashara.jackson@duke.edu

Gwendolyn Kimble

Housekeeper Specialist

+1 919 382 4515

gwendolyn.kimble@duke.edu

Alexander A. Kiselev

William T. Laprade Professor of Mathematics

kiselev@math.duke.edu

Joseph W. Kitchen

Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

kitchen@math.duke.edu

Shahar Kovalsky

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

shaharko@math.duke.edu

David P. Kraines

Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2849

dkrain@math.duke.edu

Jeffrey Lacomb

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

jeffrey.lacomb@duke.edu

Anita T. Layton

Research Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-6971

anita.layton@duke.edu

Spencer Leslie

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

(919) 660-2878

lesliew@math.duke.edu

Adam S. Levine

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2802

alevine@math.duke.edu

Yingzhou Li

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

yingzhou.li@duke.edu

Tau Shean Lim

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

tau.lim@duke.edu

Jian-Guo Liu

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2500

jian-guo.liu@duke.edu

Jianfeng Lu

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2875

jianfeng@math.duke.edu

Yulong Lu

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

yulonglu@math.duke.edu

Shawn MacDuff

Business Manager

+1 919 660 2806

sm218@duke.edu

Greg Malen

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

gmalen@math.duke.edu

Jonathan Christopher Mattingly

James B. Duke Professor

jonathan.mattingly@duke.edu

Xavier Mela

Lecturing Fellow of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

xavier.mela@duke.edu

Marisa Meredith

Duke Math Journal Assistant

+1 919 613 5872

marisa@math.duke.edu

Ezra Miller

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2846

Donna K Molinek

Visiting Professor of Mathematics

donna.molinek@duke.edu

Lawrence C. Moore

Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2822

lawrence.moore@duke.edu

Sayan Mukherjee

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 684-4608

sayan@stat.duke.edu

Ziva K. Myer

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

(919) 660-6979

zmyer@math.duke.edu

Akos Nagy

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

akos.nagy@duke.edu

Lenhard Lee Ng

Eads Family Professor

(919) 660-6972

ng@math.duke.edu

James H. Nolen

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2862

nolen@math.duke.edu

Saulo Orizaga

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

saulo.orizaga@duke.edu

Gregory Padmore

Utility Worker

+1 919 382 4515

gregory.padmore@duke.edu

William L. Pardon

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2838

Sarah Elizabeth Ritche Patterson

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

sarah.ritchey@duke.edu

Sabrina Pauli

Affiliate

sabrina.pauli@duke.edu

Luis Alexandre Pereira

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

luis.pereira@duke.edu

Arlie O. Petters

Benjamin Powell Professor of Mathematics

(919) 684-3465

arlie.petters@duke.edu

Henry Pfister

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-5288

henry.pfister@duke.edu

Lillian Beatrix Pierce

Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Associate Professor

pierce@math.duke.edu

M. Ronen Plesser

Professor in the Department of Mathematics

(919) 660-9668

plesser@cgtp.duke.edu

Aaron Pollack

Assistant Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-6971

aaron.pollack@duke.edu

Joseph D Rabinoff

Associate Professor of Mathematics

joseph.rabinoff@duke.edu

Amanda Randles

Alfred Winborne and Victoria Stover Mordecai Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences

(919) 660-5425

amanda.randles@duke.edu

Michael C. Reed

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2808

reed@math.duke.edu

Colleen M Robles

Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics

robles@math.duke.edu

Cynthia D. Rudin

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-6555

Marc Daniel Ryser

Instructor in the Department of Mathematics

(919) 684-8294

marc.ryser@duke.edu

Leslie Saper

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2843

saper@math.duke.edu

Guillermo Sapiro

Professor of Mathematics

guillermo.sapiro@duke.edu

David G. Schaeffer

James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2814

dgs@math.duke.edu

Chadmark L. Schoen

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2813

schoen@math.duke.edu

Sarah Schott

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

(919) 660-2858

schott@math.duke.edu

Andrew Schretter

Analyst, IT

+1 919 660 2866

schrett@math.duke.edu

Shan Shan

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

shan.shan@duke.edu

Jesse K Silliman

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

jesse.silliman@duke.edu

David A. Smith

Associate Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

das@math.duke.edu

Barak Sober

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

barakino@math.duke.edu

Yitzchak Elchanan Solomon

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

yitzchak.solomon@duke.edu

Inmaculada C Sorribes Rodriguez

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

inmaculada.sorribes@duke.edu

Mark A. Stern

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2840

stern@math.duke.edu

Corcelia Taborn

Housekeeper Specialist*

+1 919 660 3934

corcelia.taborn@duke.edu

Vahid Tarokh

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-7594

vahid.tarokh@duke.edu

James B Tomberg

Lecturer Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

tomberg@math.duke.edu

John A. Trangenstein

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2824

johnt@math.duke.edu

Laurie Triggiano

DUSA/DGSA/Payroll and Visa Rep

+1 919 660 2835

laurie.triggiano@duke.edu

Faramarz Vafaee

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

(919) 660-2873

vafaee@math.duke.edu

Stephanos Venakides

Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2815

ven@math.duke.edu

Shira Viel

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Mathematics

(919) 660-2857

viel@math.duke.edu

Jiuya Wang

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

wangjiuy@math.duke.edu

Min Wang

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

wangmin@math.duke.edu

Alexander Watson

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

abwatson@math.duke.edu

Kirsten Graham Wickelgren

Professor of Mathematics

kirsten.wickelgren@duke.edu

Thomas P. Witelski

Professor in the Department of Mathematics

(919) 660-2841

witelski@math.duke.edu

Jeffrey T Wong

Phillip Griffiths Assistant Research Professor

jtwong@math.duke.edu

Hau-Tieng Wu

Associate Professor of Mathematics

(919) 660-2861

hau.tieng.wu@duke.edu

Nan Wu

William W. Elliott Assistant Research Professor

nan.wu@duke.edu

Yunliang Yu, Ph.D.

IT Senior Manager

+1 919 660 2803

yu@math.duke.edu

Xin Zhou

Professor Emeritus of Mathematics

(919) 660-2800

xin.zhou@duke.edu

Wei Zhu

Assistant Research Professor of Mathematics

zhu@math.duke.edu