Warren and Beratan Recognized by the American Chemical Society National Awards

Warren and Beratan
Beratan (left) and Warren were recognized for their contributions to the fields of Chemical Physics and Spectroscopy, respectively. (University Communications)

Warren Warren, James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Physics, Radiology and Biomedical Engineering, and David Beratan, R.J. Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, and Physics, have been recognized with 2024 American Chemical Society National Awards for their outstanding contributions to their fields of research.

Beratan’s contributions to the field of Chemical Physics were recognized with the Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics, sponsored by the Journal of Chemical Physics and the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry.

Warren’s research in Spectroscopy was recognized with the E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy, supported by an endowed fund established by the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry and friends and colleagues of E. Bright Wilson.

“This award is particularly meaningful to me,” says Warren, “as I was Wilson’s last undergraduate student at Harvard, where I was a Chemistry and Physics major.”

The ACS National Awards of the encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, support research endeavors and promote the careers of chemists. Recipients will be honored at the award ceremony Tuesday, March 19, 2024, in conjunction with ACS Spring 2024 in New Orleans. 

For more information, visit the ACS’ website.