Duke Rhodes Scholars - Jay Ruckelshaus and Laura Roberts

Two Duke Seniors were awarded American Rhodes Scholarships for the Class of 2016: Jay Ruckelshaus, a Political Science major, and Laura Roberts, a Political Science minor.

Roberts is a Global Human Rights Scholar and Lowell Aptman Prize finalist. Ruckelshaus is a Harry S. Truman Scholar and Angier B. Duke Scholar. They were chosen from among 869 applicants at 316 colleges and universities throughout the country, and are the 44th and 45th students in Duke's history to receive a Rhodes Scholarship. The scholarships provide all expenses for two or three years of study at the University of Oxford in England.

"For decades, the Rhodes Scholarship has been the highest honor awarded to undergraduates – a recognition of extraordinary accomplishment and outstanding promise for the future," said Duke President Richard H. Brodhead. "I am delighted that two Duke students have been chosen as Rhodes Scholars this year. Laura Roberts and Jay Ruckelshaus have immersed themselves in everything Duke has to offer and have made great contributions to this university. I know they will be exemplary Rhodes Scholars.” Read more at Duke Today.